Win Really New To XBMC
I'm new to this and can't believe I've missed this for so long

I've got a pc i want to try and turn into a media centre. Its in a tower at the moment and has 6-8gb of ram (waiting on 2x4gb to replace the 2x1gb)
I don't know where to start. I've installed the windows version on it and it seems to run ok but no hdmi socket on motherboard.

heres my motherboard read out

So I need a little help as i dunno what case to buy (cheapest)
If I need a graphics card (cheapest)
If case has no remote control (what one to get)
Anything else I'm missing as new to this.

let me know if you need more details

please if you can help & sorry if this is not in the right place to ask for help
thanks alot
Chris
I think this all depends what you want from your system. My HTPC also does not have HDMI, i run it with VGA from PC to TV, and soundcourd to amp. I am happy with this, but I know alot of people rather prefer HDMI.

Secondly on the remote, with most remotes, you get a I/R receiver with the remote, just plug it in, install it, and setup the remote. If you have an android (or apple?) device, you can use that as your remote control aswell. My old HTC Desire is my dedicated remote for my HTPC's at home, running YATSE remote, and it works very good
(2013-06-20, 10:50)endlesslyonline Wrote: I think this all depends what you want from your system.

Aye, there's the rub!
If you've already installed the windows version, you must know whether you're over the first hurdle - I tried the XBMCbuntu Live on several PCs before I found one which would give me the basic XBMC display, and then installed on that.
Next, get hold of some video files/DVDs, and see how it makes out on that - whether they play smoothly.
Have a look at the XBMC settings, and that will show what resolution you are using - is it enough for you?

If, now, you find lacks, then you can think about graphics cards and better Monitor.
Derek
* moved thread to "hardware for XBMC"