Python -> New Skinning Engine Interface
i've been noticing some pretty sweet things going on in the new skin interface

animations,
control groups,
conditional visibility,
font effects, etc...

lots of stuff that as a python dev i am kinda jealous about. rather than try to port all of this stuff would it be possible to rig an interface between python and the skinning engine in which python can generate the skin xml?

similar to python accessing builtin commands and httpapi.
thanks.

-ast
i suggest the way to do it would be via a guipythonwindow::load() function.

i'm not sure exactly what python will need - one presumes that it would have to create all the python versions of the controls as well as the xbmc versions of the controls.

this imo seems like the best way to handle things - you then get anything added to the skin engine.

perhaps darkie has some ideas of how this could be done?

cheers,
jonathan
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

we could add a load function to load xml files.
however, i thought about this before, but i don't think this is that usefull (except that skinners seem to have a better idea of xml skinning than skinning with the python gui system).
after you load a xml file, you would still have to get references to some controls in that xml file to let the script interact with the gui.

so two options, create the entire gui in python, or create the gui in a xml file, load it with python, and get references from all the controls you want to interact with (python code).
i was always for the first system so never implemented xml loading (the python xbmc and xbmcgui module would also need a cleanup for that), but if there is intrest for it we can always figure something out.