Newby questions
Hi everyone!

Brand new poster here! Im interested in setting XBMC up on a device i can connect to my TV to stream live TV content. For a total beginner what is the best place to start looking and are there any good guides to follow? Without bordering on illegalities im interesting in streaming live sport....

thanks in advance! Smile
Welcome to forums...

Start by clicking >> General_topics (wiki) <<
thanks had a good luck through but tbh theres a lot of info (not a bad thing)! what i want is a smal box that will run xbmc, preferably remote control, the ability to watch premier league footie in the best res possible. can someone recommend such a box?
Raspberry PI look at wiki for it or forums.
what will you use as backend to serve you the live streams? cos if you want to use add ons i am willing to bet $2 that none will be legal and hence can't be discussed here
I would say start small...maybe a small HTPC (Nettop form factor) w/ a 1TB HDD.

Copy your media directly to that HDD (For sanity sake, create a another partition for it separate from the OS partition) in folders labelled as Movies, TV-Shows, Music, Music-Videos, Pictures.

Install XMBC.

Scan your media and take it for a test drive.

Once you familiarize yourself with XBMC, you can decide how complex or simple you want to keep your experience...
will take a look at the raspberry pi solution then....could be what i need, does it do wifi * hdmi out?
wifi u need a dongle, which is probably bigger than pi itself, but it has HDMI supports 1080p and has cec support, so your remotes around the house will likely do.
(2014-01-23, 15:33)mole81 Wrote: will take a look at the raspberry pi solution then....could be what i need, does it do wifi * hdmi out?