Intel NUC - HTPC (Haswell Late 2013 edition) audio issues
I'll preface by saying that I'm an OpenELEC and XBMC rookie. The NUC is my first HTPC. If you're only interested in the outcome rather than the story of how I got there skip down to the TL;DR.

I recently decided to buy an Intel NUC i5 Haswell thanks to all the great community involvement on the huge Intel NUC - HTPC (Haswell Late 2013 edition) thread. Trying to be thorough I went through probably the first 50 and the last 20 or so pages of posts looking for any specific issues and seeing most of them resolved I considered it a pretty safe purchase. Even to try OpenELEC stable.

Since I'm about two days into troubleshooting sound issues in particular I thought I'd summarise my experiences here so that hopefully no one else will have to go to all the trouble. I've searched up and down this forum for pieces of information that might help so I'll try and link to as many of those as I can.

For reference the NUC and components:
  • Intel Next Unit of Computing Kit D54250WYK
  • Kingston ValueRAM KVR16LS11/4
  • Kingston SSDNow SMS200S3/60G
  • Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6235AN

...monitor, TV and components:
  • Dell U2711
  • Panasonic Viera TX-32LZD80
  • Logitech Harmony One
  • StarTech.com High Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet - HDMI to HDMI Mini

Firstly, perhaps foolishly, I started out with OpenELEC 3.2.4 stable. I went through the USB stick install process using HDMI on my Dell U2711, fiddled with a few test videos I had kicking around and everything seemed pretty reasonable. No video stuttering, keyboard and mouse worked fine, gigabit, wireless, etc.