Release - service.subtitles.subscene

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 4.33 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
rpgmaker Offline
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #286
(2017-07-24 20:41)tvl2386 Wrote:  Okay... Did some troubleshooting and I think openelec/kodi is missing some SSL/TLS features:
https://gist.github.com/TvL2386/32bcc6d1...e1-txt-L19

I modded the geturl method in /storage/.kodi/addons/service.subtitles.subscene/resources/lib/SubsceneUtilities.py (line 105) for debugging:
except ValueError as e:
log(__name__, e)
Instead of:
except:

Doing `curl https://subscene.com` works, so I am thinking it has something to do with python and SSL...
To be continued.
Thanks for looking into it! Let us know if you find a solution please... subscene is so much better than opensubtitles.
find quote
tchirou Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #287
Are you all on kodi 17.3 ?
find quote
tvl2386 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #288
I have kodi 15.2...

I've patched SubsceneUtilities.py very ugly so I have search results again... But downloading doesn't work yet.
I thought geturl() was used everywhere but service.py has a download() function that also does https calls.

Maybe I should update openelec/kodi first ^^

EDIT: Gonna reinstall my RPI2 with OSMC and newest kodi I think
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-25 18:56 by tvl2386.)
find quote
tvl2386 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #289
Hey guys,

Just wanted to let you know: I've reinstalled my rpi2 with OSMC just now and it came with Kodi 17.3.
I've installed the subscene plugin (version 1.7.1) and downloading subs works great again.
find quote
tvl2386 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #290
Hi CrowleyAJ,

I read that you are very busy and lacking time to continue development of this plugin. I'm a great fan of it and I was wondering if I could be of assistance.
I already forked your repo but I don't know what the problems/feature requests are at the moment. Maybe it's a good idea to enable the "Issues" on github so it's easy to keep track of them?
find quote
rpgmaker Offline
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #291
(2017-08-13 18:29)tvl2386 Wrote:  Hey guys,

Just wanted to let you know: I've reinstalled my rpi2 with OSMC just now and it came with Kodi 17.3.
I've installed the subscene plugin (version 1.7.1) and downloading subs works great again.
So it just doesn't work on old kodi versions?
find quote
tvl2386 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #292
Hey rpgmaker,

I don't think that is the case. The problem here was that python version 2.7.3 on my OpenElec with kodi 15.2 was not supporting SNI (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Server_Name_Indication).
Since subscene seems to use that (nowadays), this old version of python was unable to succesfully establish an https connection with subscene. Upgrading packages on openelec, or building your own seems to be quite a hassle.

Long story short: It's not kodi, it's python.

The solution is to get a python version that supports SNI (python version >= 2.7.9).
The way I obtained it was by reinstalling my raspberry pi2 with OSMC which has Kodi 17.3.

[email protected]:~$ python --version
Python 2.7.9
find quote
rpgmaker Offline
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #293
(2017-08-14 20:05)tvl2386 Wrote:  Hey rpgmaker,

I don't think that is the case. The problem here was that python version 2.7.3 on my OpenElec with kodi 15.2 was not supporting SNI (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Server_Name_Indication).
Since subscene seems to use that (nowadays), this old version of python was unable to succesfully establish an https connection with subscene. Upgrading packages on openelec, or building your own seems to be quite a hassle.

Long story short: It's not kodi, it's python.

The solution is to get a python version that supports SNI (python version >= 2.7.9).
The way I obtained it was by reinstalling my raspberry pi2 with OSMC which has Kodi 17.3.

[email protected]:~$ python --version
Python 2.7.9

Thanks. I don't think I want to hassle with this android box more than I already have but this is one good reason to do so again in the future so I'll keep that in mind. Thanks!
find quote
Post Reply