How to compile vdr + vnsiserver from source

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,246
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 146
Location: Munich
Post: #16
something must have gone wrong with step 9. should look like this: http://pastebin.com/eaTHhDsi
Note that there are no line breaks in the cmd line other those marked with \
find quote
sveni_lee Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 9
Post: #17
yes, it must...
your rundvr looks different to mine, so I will check today evening.
I've insert the cmd line by copy and paste so normaly there should be no problem...

Thanks...

Board: B85M-ITX
CPU: i3 4330
GPU: Geforce GTX 750ti
find quote
Saner Offline
Fan
Posts: 470
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 6
Post: #18
I get that same error, i just hashed out that whole block Tongue
find quote
sveni_lee Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 9
Post: #19
now vdr starts and vnsi-client conects to vnsi-server...
but when I open a channel I get the Info "VDR - VNSI CLIENT Channel no data"
and ther is nothing in the vdr.log

Board: B85M-ITX
CPU: i3 4330
GPU: Geforce GTX 750ti
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,246
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 146
Location: Munich
Post: #20
(2014-10-23 21:17)sveni_lee Wrote:  and ther is nothing in the vdr.log

that doesn't surprise me because vdr logs into syslog
find quote
sveni_lee Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 9
Post: #21
yes know...

I start again annow I got the following sys.log

Code:
Oct 23 21:20:00 mediacenter vdr: [1780] ERROR: can't open DVB device 0/0
Oct 23 21:20:00 mediacenter vdr: [1780] ERROR: can't open DVB device 1/0
Oct 23 21:20:00 mediacenter vdr: [1780] ERROR: no OSD provider available - using dummy OSD!

I've no idea where is the problem...
can there be a right problem?

Board: B85M-ITX
CPU: i3 4330
GPU: Geforce GTX 750ti
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,246
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 146
Location: Munich
Post: #22
the user who starts vdr needs to be in the video group
find quote
sveni_lee Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 9
Post: #23
finaly get it work...
The problem was in the

Code:
sudo cp runvdr.template /usr/local/bin/runvdr
There was some mistakes in the "runvdr.tamplate"

after I compare line by line with yours I changed the following part

Code:
# Detect whether the DVB driver is already loaded
# and return 0 if it *is* loaded, 1 if not:
DriverLoaded()
{
  return 1
}

# Load all DVB driver modules needed for your hardware:
LoadDriver()
{
  return 0
}

# Unload all DVB driver modules loaded in LoadDriver():
UnloadDriver()
{
  return 0
}

Problem was VDR start but don't load any DVB device, after changing it does...
Now it works...
Thanks for helping

Board: B85M-ITX
CPU: i3 4330
GPU: Geforce GTX 750ti
find quote
foxy82 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Hi,

I tried these instruction but instead of the head of VDR I'm trying with VDR 2.0.6...

so I did the clone of vdr git and then did:

Code:
git checkout tags/vdr-2.0.6

I then followed the rest of the instructions.

However I get this error:

Code:
*** Plugin vnsiserver:                                                          
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `/home/neil/src/vdr-git/vdr/include/vdr/positioner.h', needed by `vnsi.o'. Stop.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks!
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,246
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 146
Location: Munich
Post: #25
does it work with 2.1.6?
find quote
foxy82 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Hi, it does seem to work for 2.1.6 I'm just a bit concerned that other plugins might not work with that version as there don't seem to be many ticks in the 2.1.X column on the VDR Plugin wiki:

http://linuxtv.org/vdrwiki/index.php/Plugins
find quote
gurabli Offline
Fan
Posts: 465
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #27
First of all, thank you FernetMenta for your excellent guide! It really helps a lot, especially for Linux n00bs as I am.

I intend to run VDR as a backend on a mini Atom based server, so I need only VDR as server for the client(s).
What would be your choice of distro for this? I would like to stick to Ubuntu as most of the guides cover ubuntu as OS.

Ubuntu Server 14.02.2 LTS 64-bit
Ubuntu Server 14.10 64-bit

or maybe I should go with Lubuntu or Kubuntu (there I will have desktop too).

Many thanks!

HTPC 1: ASRock N3150DC-ITX, 8GB DDR3L, 64GB SSD, Ubuntu Server 16.04 LTS + Kodi v17 EGL
HTPC 2: RPi2 + HiFiBerry DIGI+, LibreElec
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,246
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 146
Location: Munich
Post: #28
I always install Ubuntu minimal and install required packages myself. For systems I want to have a desktop I moved from LXDE to Xfce which is used by XUbuntu.
find quote
gurabli Offline
Fan
Posts: 465
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #29
Thanks! As a beginner, I'm a little afraid to start with Ubuntu minimal. And since it is going to be a headless server, it might be better to go with Ubuntu server then XUbuntu?

Will your guide work as is on Ubuntu server if I follow it step-by-step? After I have done everything in the guide, I add the channels.conf file, and on the client I install vdr-vnsi plugin, point it to the server ip address and configure everything from there? Now I can access the vdr plugins in PVR->Client Specific Settings, but vdr-server is the addon in Kodi.

HTPC 1: ASRock N3150DC-ITX, 8GB DDR3L, 64GB SSD, Ubuntu Server 16.04 LTS + Kodi v17 EGL
HTPC 2: RPi2 + HiFiBerry DIGI+, LibreElec
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,246
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 146
Location: Munich
Post: #30
you use strange expression for the various components, hence it is hard to follow what you mean. we have the VNSI addon which is a addon loaded into Kodi. And we have the vdr-plugin-vnsiserver plugin which is loaded by vdr. can you rephrase your question using these terms.
find quote