Some TV Shows not found in the Library

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
sedge Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi

I have a Raspberry PI running Raspmc and XBMC 13.1. Works great BTW.

Created a Library for TV Shows and that all works OK but some programs aren't showin under "TV Shows" item on the menu.
Most notable is "Once Upon a Time". I have Seasons 1, 2 and 3
- but only the programs in Season 1 show under: TV Shows -> Once Upon a Time.
- I can see programs in all three seasons through Video -> Files -> TV Shows -> Once Upon a Time -> Season 3

OK, I can find all the programs, but it is a bit unpredicatble. And how do I explain how to drive XBMC to my wife Sad
- For this program look here and for that program look there. Not a pretty prospect.

Why does XBMC leave some files in the Library's directory structure out of the library?
More importantly, is there a way to fix it?

I saw in tvDB that there was a copyright complaint for Once Upon a Time. Does that explain why XBMC leaves it out of the Library?

Thanks
Steve
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Banned
Posts: 31,460
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #2
Check the tips listed here: Incorrect and missing videos (wiki)
find quote
steelman1991 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,753
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 17
Post: #3
Yeah as per the link - first item - check the TV Show/file name.

In this instance there are several 'Once Upon A Time' shows, choose the right one and name it correctly (if as I suspect the one you are trying to scrape is 'Once Upon A Time (2011)'

http://thetvdb.com/?string=once+upon+a+t...ion=Search

If in doubt always check TVDB and name the TV Show/files EXACTLY as it is shown.
find quote
sedge Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Solved (kind of)
Here's what I found: (which doesn't seem to be written anywhere)
- The top level directory name must match the tvDB (or whatever source you are using).
- Changed the directory "Once Upon a Time" to
- "Once Upon a Time 2011"
- And the next library update found all three Seasons and 65 episodes
- And I was able to fix two other shows the same way.

OK. I can accept that but it still beats me why XBMC doesn't either:
- include folders it can't find in the DB into the Library without artwork, and perhaps a warning or
- include an option to show unmatched directories that were omitted from the library.
and just leaves me to manually reconcile the files missing from the library.


Moving to a different program
This document:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Nam...s/TV_shows
Shows this structure:
TV Shows <<Source folder, Content: TV shows>>
|----TV Show 1
| |----Season #
| |--Files
|----Star Trek Series <<Content:TV shows>>
| |----Star Trek
| | |--Files
| |----Star Trek The Next Generation
| |--Files

I have:
- "Anne of Green Gables 1985" and the sequel
- "Road to Avonlea"
Which I'd like to group under a folder like "The Anne Collection"
How does that work?
- I tried it and the folders weren't in the library.
- This literal "<<Content:TV shows>>" is not allowed in a folder name.

Thanks
Steve
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-15 06:29 by sedge.)
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,216
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 185
Post: #5
If they're not grouped on thetvdb.com then you can't group them within XBMC without writing your own .nfo files.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
steelman1991 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,753
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 17
Post: #6
(2014-06-15 06:29)sedge Wrote:  Solved (kind of)
Here's what I found: (which doesn't seem to be written anywhere)
- The top level directory name must match the tvDB (or whatever source you are using).

Yes it is - in the link you even provided yourself. Check the second sentence of "1.Directories".
find quote
Kib Offline
Team Kodi 🐤 Member
Posts: 5,033
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 87
Location: The Hague
Post: #7
@sedge you don't type that content literally. You go to the context menu and set the content. It will not show this group in XBMC though, it will only enable you to group them together on disk.

To group movies within xbmx you need to use (custom) sets.
Grouping tv shows is not supported at the moment.
find quote
sedge Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Quote:Yes it is - in the link you even provided yourself. Check the second sentence of "1.Directories".
Thanks. that's what I get for being half blind and trying to skim. So much to learn in a hurry.
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-18 04:04 by sedge.)
find quote