pvr.mythtv add-on

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
flitter2009 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1576
Hi, in Krypton is anyone noticing Kodi UI freezing when hitting stop in a recording being streamed through the mythtv add-on, or flickering of the recordings list when you return to it from playback? (the logs show that it's running GetDeletedRecordings and it's flickering one time for each of the CPVRRecording::CPVRRecording warning entries in the log after that). Channel ID 2010 is a standard channel and doesn't produce the warning message when trying to get the artwork for non-deleted recordings).

08:12:41.179 T:140592597694208 DEBUG: AddOnLog: MythTV PVR Client: GetDeletedRecordings
08:12:41.179 T:140592597694208 DEBUG: AddOnLog: MythTV PVR Client: GetPreviewIconPath: preview: 2010_1497864000_84f
08:12:41.179 T:140592597694208 DEBUG: AddOnLog: MythTV PVR Client: GetArtworkPath: coverart: 2010_1497864000_84f
08:12:41.179 T:140592597694208 DEBUG: AddOnLog: MythTV PVR Client: GetArtworkPath: fanart: 2010_1497864000_84f
08:12:41.179 T:140592597694208 WARNING: CPVRRecording::CPVRRecording - unable to determine channel type. Defaulting to TV.

I'll try to get a clean debug log in the next few days. I'm not sure I can get a stack trace as Kodi isn't actually freezing (Platinum and RunHouseKeeping are continuing to log entries but the UI becomes unresponsive). PVR add-on version is 4.15.0 and the freeze doesn't happen when running off the end of a recording, only when hitting stop.
(This post was last modified: 2017-06-21 00:28 by flitter2009.)
find quote
krbvroc1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1577
Since updating to Kodi 17, I am experiencing either:
1) System notification hung on PVR Manager 'Importing guide from clients' - When it doesn't hang (requiring a reboot), the speed of the guide data downloads will be either really snappy or really slow.
2) Occasionally a notification of 'Timer deleted' that stays on the screen forever. I think I need a reboot to get rid of it - don't remember.
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,703
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 387
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #1578
Would you please update to 17.3 and see if the problems persist?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
krbvroc1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1579
(2017-06-25 03:21)nickr Wrote:  Would you please update to 17.3 and see if the problems persist?

Actually I am already running the latest osmc which is on version 17.3.
find quote
afremont Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #1580
Slow guide loading has been around for a while. If you have local guide caching turned on, there are two loads. The first is collecting the cached data which goes fast. The second is pulling client guide data, and it crawls. If the cached data is current, then the second load is skipped. I see this on raspberry pi and odroid, and I believe on Intel as well. The more days you have set to load, the longer it takes. I usually set mine for one day; the default is three days.

Edit:. I can't be sure if the guide load became slow with Krypton. Too many other things going on, plus I ran a lot of special Milhouse builds before trying to stick with the official releases. I have a giant debug crash log from a different odroid problem that I was trying to resolve. Looking through it tells me nothing about the crash reason, but it seemed like there is a lot of data transfer to the myth box that seems unnecessary. The file is too large to pastebin. My mythbuntu box is a few years old (Ubuntu 14) and maybe that is the root of my problem. I'm afraid to try and bring it current with a dist upgrade and switching to .28 since I have thousands of tv recordings, and haven't had time to experiment with backing up all the myth data, setting up a later mythbuntu release on a different drive and importing the data. Risking breaking the .27 install isn't going to happen.

Sent from my Moto G (4) (typie typie)

Experience: It's what you get when you were expecting something else.
(This post was last modified: 2017-06-25 04:57 by afremont.)
find quote
thezencowsaysmu Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #1581
(2017-06-25 04:39)afremont Wrote:  My mythbuntu box is a few years old (Ubuntu 14) and maybe that is the root of my problem. I'm afraid to try and bring it current with a dist upgrade and switching to .28 since I have thousands of tv recordings, and haven't had time to experiment with backing up all the myth data, setting up a later mythbuntu release on a different drive and importing the data. Risking breaking the .27 install isn't going to happen.

Off-topic, but I found that a dist-upgrade from mythbuntu 14.04 to 16.04 was a complete disaster.

What worked with no problems for me was backing up my myth database, nuking the os drive, installing Lubuntu 16.04 from scratch, installing mythtv using the mythbuntu ppa, and restoring my mythtv database.

disclaimer: While I was running mythbuntu 14.04, I upgraded mythtv to 28 (which also went completely smoothly).
find quote
Smallmountains Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1582
(2017-04-23 16:29)metaron Wrote:  
(2017-04-23 01:20)Smallmountains Wrote:  Yes, I can set a recording from mythweb and it works fine. I've checked and double checked date and time on all my boxes. No problems there. They all use the same NTP source.

Can you post a log file with 'extra debug info' turned on? It might provide just enough information to confirm what's happening.

It's been some time since I was able to get back here but I have discontinued using Kodi on windows. It seems to work properly on my android box. I notice the MythWeb has the original air date listed but I don't see that in the mythtv plugin...other than year only. Not all that useful for determining if something is new or not. Just a thought.

Anyway thanks for the suggestions on my recording issue. It only happens on windows as far as I can see and that doesn't apply to me anymore.
find quote
Post Reply