Linux Installation on Ubuntu Server without Desktop environment / Gui
I have a small Linux server I put together using spare Pc parts to run a video game server on for me and my friends to play.

So the server is just an old desktop Pc I built using spare parts I pulled out of my closet using Ubunutu Server 14.04.1, an Intel Q9300, evga 750i ftw motherboard, 4Gb ddr2, and the GPU is a Nvidia GTX 560ti. You can see by no means is this a powerful server.

So right now the server is using Ubuntu server 14.04.1 so it has no GUI / Desktop environment. Sorry if my terminology is incorrect I'm new to Linux. But basically everything I do on the server atm is done Via command line.

The game server that I keep running 24/7 i run using a .sh script and it keep it running in its own screen session.

I would like to keep the video game server running 24/7 on it still but also have XBMC/KODI installed on it and also use it as a media center for my T.V. Which is why I have the GTX 560ti installed. I have no Cable box hooked to the T.V so I would like to use this server to watch movies.

The reason I don't just install full Ubuntu with a desktop environment is i only have 4gb memory in the machine and the game server uses almost all of it. If I have no other option I guess I will have to install full Ubuntu and see if the Memory is enough.. Unless someone has some 4 x 2gb ddr2 sticks they want to donate Smile hehe.

Can I install XBMC/KODI even though I have no Desktop environment/GUI on the server? When I hook up my T.V will XMBC display its own GUI even though I have no desktop environment.

Hopefully you understand what I'm trying to say like I said I'm very new to Linux.

Thanks!
yes, thats no problem. You will need an X server obviously, but a desktop environment is not necessary.
See the Radeon OSS or Intel howtos on top of this forum. The procedure applies to ubuntu server as well. You just have to install the nvidia binary driver instead of radeon/intel drivers