Android - Best box to buy?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
xbmcdoc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #16
MyGica ATV585B is also available. Not much cheaper though. $69 at
https://www.mygicausa.com/amlogic-mxq-s8...-bulk-pack

Let me know if anyone finds a cheaper place to get this from.
find quote
Matt PT Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
I`ve had the Minix neo 8 for about a month now, it is superb, simply can`t fault it. Fast & reliable, certainly worth that few quid extra !
find quote
xbmcdoc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #18
(2015-03-06 21:00)Matt PT Wrote:  I`ve had the Minix neo 8 for about a month now, it is superb, simply can`t fault it. Fast & reliable, certainly worth that few quid extra !

Is that Minix Neo X8? Can't seem to find a model without the "X".
find quote
silvanet Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Nice thread. I've tried a number of them and am trying either to get away totally from an Android box or take one and install a custom ROM. I hate all the bloatware from Android. The best experience I've had running xbmc and Kodi is on a Linux computer. I've had disasters with the Amlogic boxes crashing and giving me black screens of death. I've read a bit and there are suggestions of upgrading the firmware. As far as boxes go, I have a plain banana pi board without box that has never given me any problem at all. I've heard the raspberry pis are also like that. In fact I've heard that only the raspberrys have all the high def codecs - dunno if maybe some of the graphics & screen problems I've seen with the Amlogic boxes is due to lack of support. I'd like to find one that works smoothly with nothing but Kodi installed (OpenElec). Any thoughts on that are appreciated. Oh, also, I have had great experience with sideloading Kodi on Amazon fire boxes. Ah, yes, I'm trying out the Minix neo 8, too.
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-20 02:55 by silvanet.)
find quote
aLittletank Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
I've had the G-Box-Q for about a week now. It has run KODI just as nice as my Openelec Chrome Box. It also comes with KODI pre loaded.


$109
http://www.amazon.com/Matricom-G-Box-Qua...B00QHLSKOE
find quote
xbmcdoc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #21
I highly recommend the G-Box-Q too. Matricom has been in the settop box game for a while and they tune android well and have their own Kodi app. At $109 with their customer support it is a great buy.
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Banned
Posts: 31,461
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #22
The box might be fine, but I believe the reason they have their own version of Kodi was to cover up bugs in their firmware temporarily ;)

I might be wrong about that, but that seems to be the case for the boxes based on AMLogic chips.
find quote
narcbob Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
i have 2 mygica 1800 boxes. updated firmware an on kodi 15.2... lovin them big time and lovin 15.2..
find quote
techespaces Offline
Banned
Posts: 39
Joined: Feb 2015
Post: #24
WeTek Play with DVB tuner at great price and top class support.

WeTek_Play (wiki)

Dual boot, Android and OpenELEC and many android roms including Android TV
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-20 19:55 by techespaces.)
find quote
xbmcdoc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #25
(2015-04-20 19:54)techespaces Wrote:  WeTek Play with DVB tuner at great price and top class support.

WeTek_Play (wiki)

Dual boot, Android and OpenELEC and many android roms including Android TV

That box still rocking the dual core?
find quote
xbmcdoc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #26
(2015-04-20 06:56)Ned Scott Wrote:  The box might be fine, but I believe the reason they have their own version of Kodi was to cover up bugs in their firmware temporarily Wink

I might be wrong about that, but that seems to be the case for the boxes based on AMLogic chips.

I do agree that Kodi works best in a non-Android environment. If android has to be use, G-Box-Q has been the best box I tested over the years. I haven't tested all the boxes, only about 20 different manufactures.

Comparing AMLogic chips to Intel i5 of course the i5 will eat it for breakfast and still be hungry. If anyone really wants to see the true glory of Kodi build a HTPC with a real processor and GPU and you will never go back to Settop boxes but expect to invest some $.
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-20 22:50 by xbmcdoc.)
find quote
techespaces Offline
Banned
Posts: 39
Joined: Feb 2015
Post: #27
(2015-04-20 20:30)xbmcdoc Wrote:  
(2015-04-20 19:54)techespaces Wrote:  WeTek Play with DVB tuner at great price and top class support.

WeTek_Play (wiki)

Dual boot, Android and OpenELEC and many android roms including Android TV

That box still rocking the dual core?

It is dual core amlogic mx but anyway is higly optimized android and super flying openelec, with air mouse and twin dvb-s2 tuner it is very cheap and comparing to my rpi2 and odroid c1 it is really nice as it have bluetooth so i am able to use my ps3 rcu as well
find quote
xbmcdoc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #28
(2015-04-20 20:44)techespaces Wrote:  
(2015-04-20 20:30)xbmcdoc Wrote:  
(2015-04-20 19:54)techespaces Wrote:  WeTek Play with DVB tuner at great price and top class support.

WeTek_Play (wiki)

Dual boot, Android and OpenELEC and many android roms including Android TV

That box still rocking the dual core?

It is dual core amlogic mx but anyway is higly optimized android and super flying openelec, with air mouse and twin dvb-s2 tuner it is very cheap and comparing to my rpi2 and odroid c1 it is really nice as it have bluetooth so i am able to use my ps3 rcu as well

Yeah but now you can put openelec on quad core and have the same effect but with the newer GPU. The Mali450 on the newer processor are 2x the speed than the MX Mali400 and have much better contrast. See:
http://www.cnx-software.com/2012/06/12/a...i-450-gpu/

One thing I always wonder was the tuner, can I get more channels compared to the one that is already build-in to my TV?
find quote
techespaces Offline
Banned
Posts: 39
Joined: Feb 2015
Post: #29
Well same if i ask you, if your tv can run kodi so you can have one device for all needs Smile anyway, big plus for wetek as it is Diamond sponsor of Kodi and OpenELEC Project, and huge contribution they give to maintain AMLogic support for OpenELEC, so you can say you enjoy OpenELEC at M8 box. As far I know codesnake who first ported OE to AML devices is working at WeTek, so with that all is known

For me Matricom will always stay GPL violator, while others will keep making HW with almost no support, or support given by some developers which fork the work of wetek and OE/Kodi guys about AML with small or no refference of work at all
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-20 22:46 by techespaces.)
find quote
xbmcdoc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #30
(2015-04-20 22:45)techespaces Wrote:  Well same if i ask you, if your tv can run kodi so you can have one device for all needs Smile anyway, big plus for wetek as it is Diamond sponsor of Kodi and OpenELEC Project, and huge contribution they give to maintain AMLogic support for OpenELEC, so you can say you enjoy OpenELEC at M8 box. As far I know codesnake who first ported OE to AML devices is working at WeTek, so with that all is known

For me Matricom will always stay GPL violator, while others will keep making HW with almost no support, or support given by some developers which fork the work of wetek and OE/Kodi guys about AML with small or no refference of work at all

Was hoping for more channels. Nice thing is WeTek does have a version without a tuner for a few dollars less. Takes me 2 seconds to click Antenna button on my remote, been doing that years.

Any indication when WeTek will release their M8. All that money invested they have to release their own soon. With $25 quad core from Sun-Tek and $40 Dongle coming out I just don't see myself buying a dual core.
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-20 23:24 by xbmcdoc.)
find quote
Post Reply