Kodi DSPlayer – DirectShow Player for Windows

  Thread Rating:
  • 35 Vote(s) - 4.49 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ashlar Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,787
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 49
Post: #4891
madVR HDR passthrough current situation is explained here:
https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?p=1...ount=44259

For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
stoolzo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 289
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 3
Post: #4892
(2017-07-25 18:08)brazen1 Wrote:  
(2017-07-25 17:05)stoolzo Wrote:  I've never got MADVR to play nice with HDR movies full stop, totally hammers my i5 2400, I now play these using XPLAY through plex on my TV, scrapped the idea of getting HDR working for movies, too much of a faff having to turn on HDR first in windows, they really need sort that out properly so the HDR tag is switched on by the software and not a switch in windows.


Nvidia + madVR + LAV + MPC = UHD HDR BT2020 10bit Full Screen auto HDR mode on and off.

cheers but I find ATI cards more stable for HTPC use and MVC 3D works spot on every time, always have problems with NVIDIA 3D. While there isnt much HDR content i'll stick with my ATI card and just play what HDR stuff I have though my TV/PLEX.
find quote
vicmanpergar Offline
Fan
Posts: 706
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #4893
Guys, two days ago, I finally let Windows update, so I got Creators Update up and running.
Anybody else got their levels messed up?
I had my TV already calibrated, now it's a mess.
My TV is a Panasonic Plasma, is not HDR.
Anybody else?

HTPC
Silverstone Grandia GD05 - Intel i5 3570k -Asus H61M-G Micro-ATX - Unidad Blu-ray
MSI GTX970 4GB GDDR5 - 8 GB RAM DDR3 - AVR Yamaha RX-V473 5.1 - Panasonic Plasma 50'' Viera P50-V20


(This post was last modified: 2017-07-26 20:05 by vicmanpergar.)
find quote
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,694
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 92
Location: Canada
Post: #4894
(2017-07-26 20:04)vicmanpergar Wrote:  Guys, two days ago, I finally let Windows update, so I got Creators Update up and running.
Anybody else got their levels messed up?
I had my TV already calibrated, now it's a mess.
My TV is a Panasonic Plasma, is not HDR.
Anybody else?

Go back to the GPU configuration screens. They have to be reprogrammed.
find quote
brazen1 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,106
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 56
Post: #4895
(2017-07-26 00:14)stoolzo Wrote:  
(2017-07-25 18:08)brazen1 Wrote:  
(2017-07-25 17:05)stoolzo Wrote:  I've never got MADVR to play nice with HDR movies full stop, totally hammers my i5 2400, I now play these using XPLAY through plex on my TV, scrapped the idea of getting HDR working for movies, too much of a faff having to turn on HDR first in windows, they really need sort that out properly so the HDR tag is switched on by the software and not a switch in windows.


Nvidia + madVR + LAV + MPC = UHD HDR BT2020 10bit Full Screen auto HDR mode on and off.

cheers but I find ATI cards more stable for HTPC use and MVC 3D works spot on every time, always have problems with NVIDIA 3D. While there isnt much HDR content i'll stick with my ATI card and just play what HDR stuff I have though my TV/PLEX.

Sorry you have problems others don't. It's a shame all the "faff" you have to go through just to simply play a movie based on content. Just thought I'd share the recent state of the art solution correcting your outdated knowledge as if it's still fact. That isn't to say your solutions aren't the best methods for you directly dependent on your limited GPU capabilities and the necessary inconvenient resourceful workarounds you are obliged to. Pretty happy just pressing play on any title in the Kodi library and having it do exactly that whether it's 3D, HDR, HEVC, SDR, iso, mkv, what ever. I'd hate to "faff" around myself.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
Basic Server & Client Setup WOL
If I have been of help, please add to my reputation as a way of saying thanks, it's free.
find quote
vicmanpergar Offline
Fan
Posts: 706
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #4896
(2017-07-26 20:43)Warner306 Wrote:  
(2017-07-26 20:04)vicmanpergar Wrote:  Guys, two days ago, I finally let Windows update, so I got Creators Update up and running.
Anybody else got their levels messed up?
I had my TV already calibrated, now it's a mess.
My TV is a Panasonic Plasma, is not HDR.
Anybody else?

Go back to the GPU configuration screens. They have to be reprogrammed.

Yeah,that's slightly different too. Now I have two choices, default color configuration, and nvidia color configuration (resolutions tab), this last is the only one where I can select space pixel color and "Complete" dinamic space, but, it still remains the same bright. Every other tab is the same I had it set up before.
Grrr.. they're going to make me calibrate my TV once more.

HTPC
Silverstone Grandia GD05 - Intel i5 3570k -Asus H61M-G Micro-ATX - Unidad Blu-ray
MSI GTX970 4GB GDDR5 - 8 GB RAM DDR3 - AVR Yamaha RX-V473 5.1 - Panasonic Plasma 50'' Viera P50-V20


find quote
stoolzo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 289
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 3
Post: #4897
(Yesterday 00:11)brazen1 Wrote:  
(2017-07-26 00:14)stoolzo Wrote:  
(2017-07-25 18:08)brazen1 Wrote:  Nvidia + madVR + LAV + MPC = UHD HDR BT2020 10bit Full Screen auto HDR mode on and off.

cheers but I find ATI cards more stable for HTPC use and MVC 3D works spot on every time, always have problems with NVIDIA 3D. While there isnt much HDR content i'll stick with my ATI card and just play what HDR stuff I have though my TV/PLEX.

Sorry you have problems others don't. It's a shame all the "faff" you have to go through just to simply play a movie based on content. Just thought I'd share the recent state of the art solution correcting your outdated knowledge as if it's still fact. That isn't to say your solutions aren't the best methods for you directly dependent on your limited GPU capabilities and the necessary inconvenient resourceful workarounds you are obliged to. Pretty happy just pressing play on any title in the Kodi library and having it do exactly that whether it's 3D, HDR, HEVC, SDR, iso, mkv, what ever. I'd hate to "faff" around myself.

Yeah, thanks for posting that, very useful. I've spent the last 18 months trying to get KODI stable with the least faff as possible, its pretty clear that most things arent geared up for 4k yet, drivers, apps and windows.

With my current solution I can play all my 1080p content without issue including 3D stuff all out of KODI DS which is great. I've tried everything to get KODI DS stable with 4k but it just doesnt work properly and I've explained why a few times on here.

Now XPLAY plex is stable on my LG OLED this is actually a perfect solution for my 4K content as it turns HDR on and off on the TV, i havent found anything this cant play well yet so i'm happy with my current solution.

I did try NVIDA, I had a 1060 but I had all sorts of issues with it, KODI and otherwise, that last a 2 weeks before I sacked it off and got an RX480 which wouldnt hardware decode properly for months.

I've now been stable with ATI/MADVR/LAV FILTERS/KODI DS for nearly a year and i'm super happy with it, the only thing I hate is how long MADVR takes to start a movies, you get a black screen, then hear a bit of audio, then it stops and then the movie starts after a few seconds, you always miss a few seconds. If anyone has a fixed for this let me know.
find quote
Post Reply