Should I configure Kodi with 2160p (4K) or 1080p resolution (upscaling)?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Koying Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 5,693
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 178
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #16
An app cannot change the resolution under android.
find quote
Sunflux Offline
Fan
Posts: 300
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 5
Post: #17
(2015-12-06 00:01)fritsch Wrote:  No.

Edit: Our gui scaler is probably the worst that is possible ... if 1080 upscaled by your TV looks worse than I would return my TV ... and same for "native resolution". The native resolution of your TV is 4k ... watching 1080 movies at 1080 will have the same shitty effect as the GUI that you don't like.

I think the one part of the GUI that looks markedly better at 4K are the artwork thumbnails - they look exceptionally detailed compared to 1080p. Of course, the rest of the GUI is a shame. ;-)
find quote
gamble Offline
Donor
Posts: 209
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 5
Post: #18
Hmm, after having a hard time getting 4K to work (thx fritsch) i do have to say the whole GUI in
UHD looks awesome and i see no downside running AEON MQ..?

Like someone else here i can only do 2160p30 and the Thumbnails look just great,
I also compared all 3 Scalers i have (Marantz AV8801, Sony X9005B, Kodi) just SHORTLY and have
to say i see no big difference and even like Kodi best (Movie was the new ROBOCOP)

hmm?
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,904
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 553
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #19
Gui Scaler != Movie Scaler

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote
dsurinx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
(2015-10-06 12:03)fritsch Wrote:  Use Kodi @ 1080 - cause our gui scaler is just not good at all.

Then "Adjust Refreshrate to match video on start / stop" with a recent Jarvis Nightly Build. Then it will automatically switch up the resolution to 2160p whenever you watch something > 1080p.
Does this solution also work for the Nvidia Shield?
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,904
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 553
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #21
No, see: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2181629

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote
The Coolest Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
I have a 4K TV as well and I'm wondering what will happen if I keep the GUI at 4K and play a 1080p video with the nightly builds?
Will it keep the TV at 4K and use the PC for upscaling or will it drop the resolution to 1080p?
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,904
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 553
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #23
Vorwärts immer, rückwärts nimmer <- Always up but never down, that's how it is implemented.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote
opengl1971 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
(2015-12-24 14:45)fritsch Wrote:  No, see: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2181629

I have a 4k LG TV and Nvidia shield TV and I can see that kodi always renders at 1080p resolution same as all other video apps like mxplayer
Although the HDMI resolution is set to 2160p60
Even when i use Mediacodec surface which is to my understanding renders to HDMI resolution buffer or surface (in my case 2160p or 4k)
when i play 4k video then use scaling option "original size" i can see only 1/4 of the image which means that even by using mediacodec surface
The video is still rendered in 1080p resolution

So (Please correct me if i am wrong) does this mean that the Shield TV is not a true 4k video player as it always renders at 1080p then upscale to 2160p ?
find quote
zymurgist Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
I'm running a Sharp 4k 2160 and using Minix neo x8h with resolution set at 2160p30. The UI looks great, but when I play any content, out runs in 1/4 of my screen at 1080p in Kodi 15.1. Seems to be an issue with Kodi.
find quote
sakos Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Hi,

I got a 4K Sony TV yesterday connected to my HTPC running Openelec 6.0.1 (Kodi 15.2).
My basic issue is that I cannot watch movies in 3D anymore. As I read somewhere the TV does not handle SBS/OU 3D in 2160p.

I would need the HTPC plays 1080p videos in 1080p resolution and uses 2160p only if the source has higher resolution than 1080p.

My finding is that currently the resolution and refresh rate in KODI system settings is applicable for GUI only.Regardles what is set there the HTPC plays all media content in 3840*2160 resolution according to TV info display. (No refresh rate info) Even Live TV is played in this mode despite it is originally 50Hz interlaced and the TV does not support more than 30Hz in 2160p mode and refreshrate is set to match video.
Are my findings right?

If I install latest Openelec develeopment build then will it work as expected above?
find quote
redlikemethodz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
(2015-10-06 12:03)fritsch Wrote:  Use Kodi @ 1080 - cause our gui scaler is just not good at all.

Then "Adjust Refreshrate to match video on start / stop" with a recent Jarvis Nightly Build. Then it will automatically switch up the resolution to 2160p whenever you watch something > 1080p.

I tried this option on Kodi running on a FTV2 but it still only outputs sample 4K videos at 1080p...
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,904
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 553
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #28
(2016-04-18 03:19)redlikemethodz Wrote:  
(2015-10-06 12:03)fritsch Wrote:  Use Kodi @ 1080 - cause our gui scaler is just not good at all.

Then "Adjust Refreshrate to match video on start / stop" with a recent Jarvis Nightly Build. Then it will automatically switch up the resolution to 2160p whenever you watch something > 1080p.

I tried this option on Kodi running on a FTV2 but it still only outputs sample 4K videos at 1080p...
See above. Not supported by Android. By Android not not by kodi.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
(This post was last modified: 2016-04-18 06:54 by fritsch.)
find quote
Koying Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 5,693
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 178
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #29
(2016-04-18 03:19)redlikemethodz Wrote:  
(2015-10-06 12:03)fritsch Wrote:  Use Kodi @ 1080 - cause our gui scaler is just not good at all.

Then "Adjust Refreshrate to match video on start / stop" with a recent Jarvis Nightly Build. Then it will automatically switch up the resolution to 2160p whenever you watch something > 1080p.

I tried this option on Kodi running on a FTV2 but it still only outputs sample 4K videos at 1080p...

Anyway, Amazon restricts 4k on AFTV 2 to some apps (Netflix?), I heard, and Kodi is not one of them.
find quote
qp9013625 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 2
Post: #30
(2015-10-06 12:03)fritsch Wrote:  our gui scaler is just not good at all.

What kind of scaler are you using for the GUI? What scaling/interpolation filter does it utilize?

Have you thought about scaling 1080p up to 2160p via nearest neighbor scaling (1 pixel becomes 4 pixels)?

That would provide native 1080p on a 2160p display with no blurriness.

There's also a patch for xrandr now which allows to use nearest neighbor scaling for such cases, see:

https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=94816
https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/79564/

Regards
(This post was last modified: 2016-04-19 01:24 by qp9013625.)
find quote
Post Reply