Seeking help with drm_kms_helper
Hello, i have recently built an HTPC/home server based on HP Proliant G8 miniserver and a Nvidia 630 video card. Everything is running fine apart from one problem that i'm facing - sometimes when i switch on my TV i only get a black screen and i have to reboot the server to be able to view something. The TV (Toshiba) is hooked up to a Yamaha receiver via HDMI. The G8 is also hooked to the same receiver by HDMI. I searched the forum and found many times mentioned a solution to use drm_kms_helper. The problem is that i cannot find any further information on what exactly to do with it. I'm relatively new to linux and i think a lot of people facing that issue will appreciate to get some more detailed help on that matter. following the scarce information i updated my kernel to version 4.2.0-23, but i cannot find any further information on what exactly to do to force the output and not to lose HDMI connectivity. Can you please provide me with some details on how to use the drm_kms_helper?

P.S. I forgot to mention that i'm using Ubuntu 14.04 together with the latest Nvidia drivers. My server boots directly into Kodi and no other monitor is attached to it - only the HDMI cable to the receiver.
Here: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2148505

You need a much, much newer kernel! I suggest kernel 4.4 from Ubuntu Mainline http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/ as without the EDID information won't be overwritten.
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.
Thanks a lot for the quick reply, I didn't have time to try it but I definitely will tonight. Only bin one thing bothers me - you say it will work for Intel and radon -how about nvidia?