Win kodi has stopped working
-Hello everyone

I have been running kodi on windows flawlessly for about four months until recently. Now every time I click to start kodi, immediately I get a notification that states that kodi has stopped working and that a problem has caused the program to stop running and that windows will close the program and notify me if there is a solution(it does not notify me of a solution), it then asks me to debug(I have Microsoft visual studios 2013 installed, and the debugger states that, quote "A heap has been corrupted" but does not specify where, what, or why) or close the program. I have also tried uninstalling and reinstalling kodi but that has not worked either.

I have already looked around on the forums and I have not found anything.

thanks
Cohen
debug log (wiki)
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
Something is corrupt, at this point, a registry fubar the only time I've seen something like this. To err with caution, a proper re-install might yet save the day, the issue 'if it's Kodi' will likely reside with the C:\Users\PatK\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\userdata so renaming the roaming folder to Kodi_OLD and re-install should get you operational if it's Kodi that has gone corrupt, but beware there might be something in the o/s that is at the bottom of this.
Could be the guisettings.xml or profiles.xml contained in the userdata has got corrupt.
Thank you everyone

after a few trouble shoots of my own I found the problem. I had installed a driver for a game controller around the same time this error started appearing. the device driver had corrupted a few key aspects of the main source code for kodi for whatever reason. a simple uninstall of the controller and a complete reinstall of kodi fixed the problem.

Thanks again for the help