Beta - Spotify for Kodi

  Thread Rating:
  • 15 Vote(s) - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
marcelveldt Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 8,232
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 339
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #1366
(2017-09-09 16:24)BastiB Wrote:  However, it doesn't work for me by now. As soon as i install/activate it via your repository (v1.142) a windows error message pops up and tells me there is an error in spotty_x64.exe "unknown software exception (0xc00001d) at position 0x00617712" and kodi crashes.

I have never tested it with Windows 8 but I guess it should work.
Anyways there were reported a few more issues with the x64 version of spotty so I've decided to switch to the x86 version by default.
A new version of the add-on will be on my repo later today. Please have a test with that and let mw know.
find quote
marcelveldt Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 8,232
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 339
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #1367
(2017-09-11 16:58)vanmanda Wrote:  I do have one question about the multiple accounts feature.
I have added three accounts, but it seems the add-on only used the first account.
On the first page of the add-on I see an item showing the current account but I do not know how the switch accounts.
When I select that item I expected a pop-up which would allow me to switch accounts, but nothing happens.
Can you explain me how to switch accounts?

If you enter the add-on/plugin at the main level you should see an entry at the bottom with your current user account.
If you just press that there will be a popup with your user accounts, just select another account and it's all set.
If that popup does not appear in your case, there might be an error I missed. Please share your kodi logfile after trying to open that user switch menu.
find quote
marcelveldt Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 8,232
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 339
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #1368
(2017-09-12 22:07)Didko Wrote:  Same here!
So, I wasn't active for awhile, but now I upgraded my Pi and I've hit the same problem - a song longer than 8:30 min got muted. Was there any workaround for this?

Please test with next version 1.1.43 which will be available later today. I might have fixed it just now.
find quote
marcelveldt Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 8,232
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 339
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #1369
(2017-09-13 11:51)ratimes3 Wrote:  The quality of sound via SfK is clearly less than when I play through your spotify app and use the local playback device. Adjusting the Lame-quality level in the LMS has no audible effect.
If playback is handled by LMS, squeezelite will be outputting audio to your sound card and not Kodi or this add-on.
You will have to refer to the squeezelite and/or LMS settings to tweak that. I had best results by just using the default settings where PCM is sent to squeezelite.
BTW: You're using a pretty old version of LMS-server, maybe consider switching to the more recent 7.9 version ?

(2017-09-13 11:51)ratimes3 Wrote:  Spotify's made playlists like Discovery weekly and Release Radar, but also the radios do not work if I indicate SfK as playback device.

When i switch from SfK playback device to local playback device ( or the other way around) the music i played before keeps on interfering with new music. only a reboot helps.

Well, the current LMS support in this Spotify add-on is kind of experimental and I just implemented the basics. Once I have some additional spare time I'll do my best to also fix the missing features like Spotify radio and such. I've added it to my todo list.
find quote
awiouy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #1370
(2017-09-03 21:11)marcelveldt Wrote:  
(2017-08-27 23:33)zilexa Wrote:  Would it be an idea to create a "Light" version of your add-on that only adds Spotify Connect feature, purely receiving audio, perhaps only showing the title or that playback is happening?

I used this solution and it was fantastic. I didn't even turn my TV on. The Raspberry is always on and connected to my received via HDMI so I could always play music any time. Unfortunately this solution requires a Spotify Dev key and Spotify stopped providing them.

I'm not interested in creating that, that would require me to maintain another add-on while the browse features do not require any overhead if you don't use it. I believe there already is such an add-on for libreelec if you only seek a spotify connect player.

The Librespot addon for LibreELEC behaves like a Spotify Connect device.
It is available from the LibreELEC Add-ons repository and discussed here.
Spotify for Kodi and Librespot for LibreELEC are complementary:
Use Spotify for Kodi to control Spotify from Kodi.
Use LibreSpot for LibreELEC to control Spotify from a Spotify app.
Enjoy!
find quote
Didko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1371
(2017-09-13 20:54)marcelveldt Wrote:  Please test with next version 1.1.43 which will be available later today. I might have fixed it just now.

Marcel, thanks for the update. Is the new version published?
find quote
a1rwulf Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 9
Post: #1372
(2017-09-03 21:27)marcelveldt Wrote:  
(2017-08-18 15:16)a1rwulf Wrote:  @marcelveldt now that the addon does not rely on libspotify anymore and is fully opensource (unless I missed something), have you considered submitting it to the official repo?

Yes I have but as far as I know it's not okay to include binaries in an add-on for the official repo.
Unless you're willing to accept that ;-)

That's indeed right and still the case afaik.
But does the addon still depend on a closed source binary?

Quote:The add-on had a major refactor and is now no longer relying on libspotify.
Instead it will now utilize a slightly modified version of librespot (open source spotify sdk) with a big thanks to @plietar for creating this custom spotify SDK.
Also, it's no longer needed to have a webbrowser installed on the pi.

Made me think that it's not depending on closed sources anymore.
find quote
seppi2204 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #1373
Hi,
I want to make this wonderful plugin work again on my Xubuntu system, but just can't get it runnning. Everytime I install the plugin Kodi crashs with following exception. After the crash I can start kodi normally and just a notification comes up that there was an error when initializing this plugin.

From debugging this error message the plugin seems to miss the exceptions file of urllib3. I double checked the path where it's looking for this module, and the module exists on the fs. It seems also not clear to me why there should be an SSLError, which seems to indicate a Certificate mismatch.

I would really appreciate any help to make get this running :-)

Code:
23:08:36.077 T:140260176541440   ERROR: EXCEPTION Thrown (PythonToCppException) : -->Python callback/script returned the following error<--
                                             - NOTE: IGNORING THIS CAN LEAD TO MEMORY LEAKS!
                                            Error Type: <class 'requests.exceptions.SSLError'>
                                            Error Contents: [Errno 2] No such file or directory
                                            Traceback (most recent call last):
                                              File "/home/seppi/.kodi/addons/plugin.audio.spotify/service.py", line 14, in <module>
                                                MainService()
                                              File "/home/seppi/.kodi/addons/plugin.audio.spotify/resources/lib/main_service.py", line 60, in __init__
                                                me = self.sp.me()
                                              File "/home/seppi/.kodi/addons/plugin.audio.spotify/resources/lib/spotipy/client.py", line 570, in me
                                                return self._get('me/')
                                              File "/home/seppi/.kodi/addons/plugin.audio.spotify/resources/lib/spotipy/client.py", line 148, in _get
                                                return self._internal_call('GET', url, payload, kwargs)
                                              File "/home/seppi/.kodi/addons/plugin.audio.spotify/resources/lib/spotipy/client.py", line 110, in _internal_call
                                                r = self._session.request(method, url, headers=headers, proxies=self.proxies, **args)
                                              File "/home/seppi/.kodi/addons/script.module.requests/lib/requests/sessions.py", line 488, in request
                                                resp = self.send(prep, **send_kwargs)
                                              File "/home/seppi/.kodi/addons/script.module.requests/lib/requests/sessions.py", line 609, in send
                                                r = adapter.send(request, **kwargs)
                                              File "/home/seppi/.kodi/addons/script.module.requests/lib/requests/adapters.py", line 497, in send
                                                raise SSLError(e, request=request)
                                            SSLError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory
                                            -->End of Python script error report<--
find quote
vanmanda Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Belgium
Smile  RE: Spotify for Kodi
Post: #1374
(2017-09-13 20:53)marcelveldt Wrote:  
(2017-09-11 16:58)vanmanda Wrote:  I do have one question about the multiple accounts feature.
I have added three accounts, but it seems the add-on only used the first account.
On the first page of the add-on I see an item showing the current account but I do not know how the switch accounts.
When I select that item I expected a pop-up which would allow me to switch accounts, but nothing happens.
Can you explain me how to switch accounts?

If you enter the add-on/plugin at the main level you should see an entry at the bottom with your current user account.
If you just press that there will be a popup with your user accounts, just select another account and it's all set.
If that popup does not appear in your case, there might be an error I missed. Please share your kodi logfile after trying to open that user switch menu.

Hi, I found the cause of the problem. If you make a mistake in one of the usernames or passwords, the Spotify add-on will not show you the pop-up. I entered the e-mail address of one of the users instead of the username and found this in kodi.log:
Code:
SpotifyException: http status: 400, code:-1 - https://api.spotify.com/v1/users/[email protected]:
                                             Invalid username

Thanks for pointing me in the right directionWink
find quote
Klattsy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1375
(2017-09-03 16:25)LuzZz Wrote:  
(2017-09-02 06:42)Klattsy Wrote:  Edit - all good, nuked it all and started fresh Kodi install, all good now. Having issues with connect though. Do you need to be on same wifi or just same network? Raspberry Pi is hard wired, phone is on router wifi. The TV screen
Shows what is playing on phone but audio still comes through phone.

Hello!

How did You manage to log-in? Are You running Kodi in a X environment?
I am running my Raspberry with a CLI + Kodi.
When I run Spotify Addon for the first time it displays an announcement: "default browser will be opened to log-in".
Of course there is no default browser in my case so next window says: "there was an error, enter Your credentials:"
So I type in my login and password but window repeats and repeats Undecided

There was a hint at the beginning of this thread to authenticate on a different device and move /userdata/addon_data/plugin.audio.spotify to RPi but that didn't work either (I installed Kodi on my Windows PC, Spotify Addon, authenticated via web browser successfully).

How do You normally login to Your spotify? Via Facebook? Have You created a "device specific password" in Spotify account settings?

Any advice? Please help!

Best regards,
Lucas

Mate I have no idea what you are talking about.

I'm running latest Kodi version on a Pi3. It just works. That browser thing sounds like something from an older version of the add on. Have you got latest?

I didn't need app specific, that's only if you have two step authentication in google. I normally only login in on android or pc. Never with Facebook.

Edit and I just got connect working. Pi as the target. This is awesome. Thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2017-09-16 03:30 by Klattsy.)
find quote
DickoTheGeordie Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 4
Post: #1376
(2017-09-13 20:54)marcelveldt Wrote:  Please test with next version 1.1.43 which will be available later today. I might have fixed it just now.

Did you manage to get around to releasing this? Repo only showing 1.1.42 and still with the x64 error. Thanks in advance mate.
find quote
zilexa Offline
Fan
Posts: 348
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Amsterdam
Post: #1377
(2017-09-14 17:21)awiouy Wrote:  
(2017-09-03 21:11)marcelveldt Wrote:  
(2017-08-27 23:33)zilexa Wrote:  Would it be an idea to create a "Light" version of your add-on that only adds Spotify Connect feature, purely receiving audio, perhaps only showing the title or that playback is happening?

I used this solution and it was fantastic. I didn't even turn my TV on. The Raspberry is always on and connected to my received via HDMI so I could always play music any time. Unfortunately this solution requires a Spotify Dev key and Spotify stopped providing them.

I'm not interested in creating that, that would require me to maintain another add-on while the browse features do not require any overhead if you don't use it. I believe there already is such an add-on for libreelec if you only seek a spotify connect player.

The Librespot addon for LibreELEC behaves like a Spotify Connect device.
It is available from the LibreELEC Add-ons repository and discussed here.
Spotify for Kodi and Librespot for LibreELEC are complementary:
Use Spotify for Kodi to control Spotify from Kodi.
Use LibreSpot for LibreELEC to control Spotify from a Spotify app.
Enjoy!

Thanks! I don't use LibreELEC, my raspberry does a lot more then just playback, therefore I use OSMC. Not sure if Librespot for LibreELEC will work but I'll test.
find quote
Meschugge Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1378
Hey Marcel,

i have a short question. When i save a spotify-playlist local on libreelec and play the music, kodi doesn't show the artist or the titel of the song...only the last three digits from the http-address....in this example the number "219":

#EXTCPlayListM3U::M3U
#EXTINF:0,03. Applescal - For Lovers
http://localhost:52308/track/79mRxOGzTMmVPOWom8j0S9/219


But in the playlist-edit-mode, kodi shows the correct artist name and song title !?

Hope you know what i mean!?

Cheers
Meschugge
find quote
awiouy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #1379
(2017-09-18 11:21)zilexa Wrote:  
(2017-09-14 17:21)awiouy Wrote:  
(2017-09-03 21:11)marcelveldt Wrote:  I'm not interested in creating that, that would require me to maintain another add-on while the browse features do not require any overhead if you don't use it. I believe there already is such an add-on for libreelec if you only seek a spotify connect player.

The Librespot addon for LibreELEC behaves like a Spotify Connect device.
It is available from the LibreELEC Add-ons repository and discussed here.
Spotify for Kodi and Librespot for LibreELEC are complementary:
Use Spotify for Kodi to control Spotify from Kodi.
Use LibreSpot for LibreELEC to control Spotify from a Spotify app.
Enjoy!

Thanks! I don't use LibreELEC, my raspberry does a lot more then just playback, therefore I use OSMC. Not sure if Librespot for LibreELEC will work but I'll test.
LibreELEC and OSMC are similar, but different enough that Librespot for LibreELEC is unlikely to work on OSMC.
It should however be easy to adapt the addon to OSMC. Ask the OSMC devs or Kodi devs.
And now I stop hijacking this thread Wink
find quote
bebox Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1380
Hi Marcel - thank you so much for this so long awaited Addon! Works really great (togehther with my Kindle App and ALEXA) hihihi For the moment just one Q: what about <Volume control? Did you see any solution to control volume on spotify connected devices from inside Kodi ?

Again! Thanks and all the best to you!

Cheers joerg
find quote
Post Reply