Windows - Intel HTPC/NUC's w/reliable Kodi-native 3D MVC Playback

  Thread Rating:
  • 8 Vote(s) - 4.13 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Jamey Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #2821
I have the Beebox-S 7200U
Liking it with KODI Build 21-March-2017 Windows MVC build.


However, I am experiencing 2 VERY annoying problems.

Every time I turn off the TV and leave the Beebox running, KODI goes into a windowed mode when I turn the TV back on. The problem is there is no way to maximize the window. I essentially have to force close KODI and restart to get things back to normal.

Also, My Amp is only 5.1 capable via digital cable. So, if a movie is 7.1, I cannot hear sound. My other playback device (HI MEDIA) down mixes 7.1 to 5.1. However, this build doesn't seem to be able to do that. I can figure out how to playback stereo, but I'd much prefer a down mix to 5.1

Any help to fix the above? Huh
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-10 19:21 by Jamey.)
find quote
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,177
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #2822
(2017-07-10 19:20)Jamey Wrote:  I have the Beebox-S 7200U
Liking it with KODI Build 21-March-2017 Windows MVC build.


However, I am experiencing 2 VERY annoying problems.

Every time I turn off the TV and leave the Beebox running, KODI goes into a windowed mode when I turn the TV back on. The problem is there is no way to maximize the window. I essentially have to force close KODI and restart to get things back to normal.

Also, My Amp is only 5.1 capable via digital cable. So, if a movie is 7.1, I cannot hear the sound. My other playback device (HIMEDIA) downmixes 7.1 to 5.1. However, this build doesn't seem to be able to do that. I can figure out how to playback stereo, but I'd much prefer a downmix to 5.1

Any help to fix the above? : huh:

I have the same issue and it's pretty annoying, but this is what I do, just play any movie and the windowed problem will change.
I hope one the Windows dev can look into this issue.

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
Jamey Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #2823
Found a solution that works... don't know of any side problems...yet. Probably not the best route... but, works
REGEDIT: Make a backup of the configuration entry before continuing though:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\GraphicsDrivers\Configuratio​n
Only under the "SIMULATED" keys, change the keys decimals to:

PrimSurfSize.cx = 1920
PrimSurfSize.cy = 1080
Under "00":

ActiveSize.cx = 1920
ActiveSize.cy = 1080
find quote
Jamey Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #2824
So after getting a proper receiver, I can now here 7.1 sound. However, when watching a 3D movie, I always have to change the audio offset to 0.150s. If I watch 2D, the sync is fine. Is there a way to automatically change sync to 0.150s when 3D is activated and change sync back to 0.0s when not activated??
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-12 19:15 by Jamey.)
find quote
Kilonga Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #2825
Hi,

I have the Beebox-S 7200U and using KODI 21-March-2017 build with MVC. Latest drivers installed using Intel' Driver Update Utility. I followed all the instructions but in KODI I cannot select "hardware based" 3D as the preferred mode.
I see other people have had the same problem but cannot find the solution. I also see other members with the exact same setup I have but no complaints!

Any ideas how to solve this problem?

Thanks!
find quote
haxel666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 0
Location: Uk
Post: #2826
Anyone have tried different settings to the recommended settings intel guide on this forum.

I have Intel nuc and the graphics driver supports all the options in the guide but on my gigabyte brix with Intel
Graphics also does not have all the same options skin tone and colour correction not present.

Using both with Good quality hdmi cables only difference being nuc uses a mini hdmi to hdmi cable.

What I am noticing when comparing the 2 is the brix close ups of people's faces look more detailed and cleaner.


Nuc can look more grainy and not as clear.

Also brix more brighter. Overall quality looks better on brix have tried pausing same scene and comparing as both running through receiver.

I am thinking it's either mini hdmi to hdmi or an Intel setting.

But happy enough with new nuc

Msi 3205u cubi
Himedia Q5
Yamaha RX-V777
BenQ w1070

(This post was last modified: 2017-07-13 10:37 by haxel666.)
find quote
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,177
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #2827
(2017-07-13 03:19)Kilonga Wrote:  Hi,

I have the Beebox-S 7200U and using KODI 21-March-2017 build with MVC. Latest drivers installed using Intel' Driver Update Utility. I followed all the instructions but in KODI I cannot select "hardware based" 3D as the preferred mode.
I see other people have had the same problem but cannot find the solution. I also see other members with the exact same setup I have but no complaints!

Any ideas how to solve this problem?

Thanks!

Are you using the HDMI 1.4 port?

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
Kilonga Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #2828
(2017-07-13 14:32)movie78 Wrote:  
(2017-07-13 03:19)Kilonga Wrote:  Hi,

I have the Beebox-S 7200U and using KODI 21-March-2017 build with MVC. Latest drivers installed using Intel' Driver Update Utility. I followed all the instructions but in KODI I cannot select "hardware based" 3D as the preferred mode.
I see other people have had the same problem but cannot find the solution. I also see other members with the exact same setup I have but no complaints!

Any ideas how to solve this problem?

Thanks!

Are you using the HDMI 1.4 port?

Yes I am using HDMI 1.4 (the port on top of the displayport). Could it be that it's not "detecting" the TV as being 3D capable? I don't understand why I don't get the hardware based 3D option to choose from.
find quote
twinpeaks Offline
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #2829
I returned my Beebox. I couldn't get 3D & PowerDVD 17 to work with 3D at all. It'll be interesting to see if MVC works. I'm skeptical. I think there's a problem with the chipset low level drivers.
find quote
dexter98 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #2830
Yesterday I very much enjoyed 3d mvc playback on my Apollo Lake. Incredible PQ!

Hdmi 1.4 setup though. Seems that hdmi2.0 also gives lots of headaches. Wouldn't be surprised if it was copy protection...

Sent from my HTC One_M8 (typie typie)
find quote
noggin Offline
Super Moderator
Posts: 4,714
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 125
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #2831
(2017-07-15 09:54)dexter98 Wrote:  Yesterday I very much enjoyed 3d mvc playback on my Apollo Lake. Incredible PQ!

Hdmi 1.4 setup though. Seems that hdmi2.0 also gives lots of headaches. Wouldn't be surprised if it was copy protection...

Sent from my HTC One_M8 (typie typie)

Main issue is that Apollo Lake doesn't have native HDMI 2.0 support. The CPU/GPU Combo itself is HDMI 1.4 and DP1.2.

Apollo Lake motherboards with HDMI 2.0 outputs are using an on-board Displayport 1.2->HDMI 2.0 conversion chip, and AIUI different manufacturers are using different chips, and have differing qualities of firmware. Most will support the basic 2D video + PCM stereo audio, but as you move to HD Audio, 3D Frame Packing etc. things get a bit more complex. (As may 4:2:0 vs 4:2:2 colour space at 2160/50p and 59.94/60p)
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-15 13:38 by noggin.)
find quote
Jamey Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #2832
(2017-07-13 14:32)movie78 Wrote:  
(2017-07-13 03:19)Kilonga Wrote:  Hi,

I have the Beebox-S 7200U and using KODI 21-March-2017 build with MVC. Latest drivers installed using Intel' Driver Update Utility. I followed all the instructions but in KODI I cannot select "hardware based" 3D as the preferred mode.
I see other people have had the same problem but cannot find the solution. I also see other members with the exact same setup I have but no complaints!

Any ideas how to solve this problem?

Thanks!

Are you using the HDMI 1.4 port?

Same problem until I made sure windows was set to 60htz and 1920 x 1080 and 3D Enabled (Within windows display properties). Also, you have to make sure to get the MVC version. Trust me, it WORKS! love it
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-17 22:10 by Jamey.)
find quote
Post Reply