Switching from WMC to KODI...WILL THIS WORK?
Hello All,

I am new to KODI, and would like to know if KODI will solve my problem. I have a new build, where I am running a media center box and a file server. I wanted to have WMC record directly to the file server. This cannot be done, due to limitations in WMC. Then I made WMC dump its daily recordings onto the file server, which WMC reads off of (in addition to it's own drive). Problem is, the recording limits (ex. 5 recordings per show) and the duplicate prevention only count the shows on the main drive (NOT THE FILE SERVER). So I get tons of duplicates, and it will record as many of each show as possible. That is why I am switching! Will KODI solve this problem?

Thank you in advance for your help. I plan on being a very active member in this forum.
Kodi relies on back-end software to make recordings. The interface between Kodi and the back-end is a PVR add-in. Your issue is not - as far as I know - a Kodi one, but relates to: the back-end; the PVR add-in; and your EPG source. Kodi allows you to specify that you do no want duplicate recordings, but that's all.

FWIW, in my experience DVBLink, the DVBLink PVR add-in and UK over-the-air EPG make a good PVR solution in general, but are not good at detecting duplicate recordings. DVBLink can, however, put your recording anywhere you like. You can also have KODI and the recording software run on one machine using the tuners on another.

So, you'll have to look more closely at the various back-end solutions to see what's possible. Sorry.

Andy
Is there anything other than DVBLink that would be better? Something that is good at not duplicating the recordings and would count episodes on all drives towards the maximum episode count? Also I am in the USA, so I need a EPG for here.