Create a Buddha Radio Addon?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
lyrical Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
There is an awesome streaming radio called Buddha Radio.
http://www.buddharadio.com.au/

Could someone create a VERY SIMPLE Kodi Add-on that has the Buddha Radio icon, and simply loads one of the 128 bit streams below?


The Streaming URL's can be found here.
http://streamlist.southerncrossaustereo.com.au/

It shows
BUDDHA RADIO
[128 bits]
RTSP: rtsp://stream.scahw.com.au/live/buddha_128.stream
HLS: http://stream.scahw.com.au/live/buddha_1...ylist.m3u8

BUDDHA RADIO
[32 bits]
RTSP: rtsp://stream.scahw.com.au/live/buddha_32.stream
HLS: http://stream.scahw.com.au/live/buddha_3...ylist.m3u8
find quote
DarrenHill Offline
Team-Kodi Minion
Posts: 5,731
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 132
Location: UK, except when I'm not.
Post: #2
Thread moved to add-on requests.

That said you could just use a strm (wiki) file to do the job.

| Banned add-ons (wiki) | Forum rules (wiki) | First time user (wiki) | FAQs (wiki) | Troubleshooting (wiki) | Add-ons (wiki) | Free content (wiki) | Debug Log (wiki) | Free Movies/TV Shows
find quote
MetalChris Online
Fan
Posts: 658
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: U.S.A.
Post: #3
I've created an add-on with access to all the radio streams provided by Southern Cross Austereo, which includes Buddha Radio. It's pretty basic, but all the streams are working.

EDIT: Link remove since the SCA add-on is now broken. Download the Buddha Radio add-on from post #16.

Tested on Linux (Ubuntu 12.04 & Lubuntu 14.04), Mac OS (Lion), Android (Lollipop), running Gotham, Helix, and Isengard, and experienced no issues.

If you have any issues with the add-on, please post a log (wiki).

XBMC Gotham (13.2) on ThinkPad T400 Ubuntu 12.04.5 | Kodi Jarvis (16.1) on HTPC Lubuntu 14.04 | My Add-ons | My Repo
(This post was last modified: 2016-09-17 21:22 by MetalChris.)
find quote
lyrical Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
@MetalChris

Well done! I didn't even see this until now.

However i tried it on Raspberry Pi 1 - OSMC Kodi latest version and it didn't work.

I will try it on my Mac OSX media center at home though!
find quote
MetalChris Online
Fan
Posts: 658
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: U.S.A.
Post: #5
(2016-07-07 08:27)lyrical Wrote:  @MetalChris

Well done! I didn't even see this until now.

However i tried it on Raspberry Pi 1 - OSMC Kodi latest version and it didn't work.

I will try it on my Mac OSX media center at home though!

Well, it was nice while it lasted. Looks like they are now blocking access to the url that had the stream links for all the stations, or maybe they have just geo-blocked it. I'll have a look and see if I can get this working again soon.

XBMC Gotham (13.2) on ThinkPad T400 Ubuntu 12.04.5 | Kodi Jarvis (16.1) on HTPC Lubuntu 14.04 | My Add-ons | My Repo
find quote
lyrical Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I created a .strm file with 1 line of text

rtsp://stream.scahw.com.au/live/buddha_128.stream

it plays and streams nice but Kodi just displays

Now Playing
buddha_128.stream

is there anyway to get it to display Track Name and Artist similar to the web player?
Just using a .strm file?

(i cant really see how but i thought i'd ask)
find quote
MetalChris Online
Fan
Posts: 658
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: U.S.A.
Post: #7
Since I'm unable to currently access the complete list of streams, I've used the links you provided to create an add-on for Buddha Radio only.

EDIT: Download the Buddha Radio add-on from post #16.

I've added options in the add-on settings so you can choose from all 4 of the links provided: 128k or 32k HLS, or 128k or 32k RTSP. By default, the add-on will use the 128k HLS stream, but I figure it's always good to have the option to change in the event one of the streams goes down.

Since the streams contain no information about what is playing, I've added a 'Now Playing' notification. The notification is enabled by default, and will appear for ~7 seconds in the lower right hand corner, a few seconds after the stream starts, and every 60 seconds thereafter. This can be disabled in the add-on settings.

For some reason when I first loaded the add-on on my Macbook, the 'Now Playing' notification was disabled and the RTSP stream was selected. Not sure why this happened, but when I clicked the 'Defaults' button in the settings everything returned to what should have been selected by default. Other than that, the add-on has performed as expected on all my devices.

Tested on Linux (Ubuntu 12.04 & Lubuntu 14.04), Mac OS (Lion), Android (Lollipop), running Gotham, Helix, and Isengard.

If you have any issues with the add-on, please post a log (wiki) to pastebin.com or similar site.

XBMC Gotham (13.2) on ThinkPad T400 Ubuntu 12.04.5 | Kodi Jarvis (16.1) on HTPC Lubuntu 14.04 | My Add-ons | My Repo
(This post was last modified: 2016-09-17 21:24 by MetalChris.)
find quote
lyrical Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
You my friend, are a dead set legend!

I will test today.

How good is Buddha Radio! Smile
find quote
peppe_sr Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,328
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 22
Location: Italia, Sicilia, Siracusa
Post: #9
Really cool radio. iirc it is also available through tunein!
(This post was last modified: 2016-07-16 12:34 by peppe_sr.)
find quote
lyrical Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
installed the addon and it works!

Well done @MetalChris!
find quote
lyrical Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
@peppe_sr the Tunein only streams the 32kbps stream.
find quote
peppe_sr Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,328
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 22
Location: Italia, Sicilia, Siracusa
Post: #12
Ah ok, i will instal the add on.
Peppe
find quote
peppe_sr Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,328
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 22
Location: Italia, Sicilia, Siracusa
Post: #13
is someone experiencing the continuous addon notification even if radio stream has been stopped? (it is shown also during video files reproduction).
if needed i could post a log.
Peppe
find quote
MetalChris Online
Fan
Posts: 658
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: U.S.A.
Post: #14
(2016-09-14 14:12)peppe_sr Wrote:  is someone experiencing the continuous addon notification even if radio stream has been stopped? (it is shown also during video files reproduction).
if needed i could post a log.
Peppe

Hmm, I have not seen continuous notification, but I have seen the notification pop up once after the stream had been stopped. There is a timer running while the stream is playing that activates the notification. As long as the stream is playing, the timer restarts after displaying the notification, so it should be considered 'normal' for the notification to display one time after the stream ends. Continuous display is definitely not normal though. I'll look into adding an abort command and see if that will kill the timer if the stream is stopped.

XBMC Gotham (13.2) on ThinkPad T400 Ubuntu 12.04.5 | Kodi Jarvis (16.1) on HTPC Lubuntu 14.04 | My Add-ons | My Repo
find quote
peppe_sr Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,328
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 22
Location: Italia, Sicilia, Siracusa
Post: #15
thanks, really appreciated.
could i do a "cosmetic" request? during the reproduction of music instead of "playlist" could be displayed the name of the station?
thanks again.
Peppe
find quote
Post Reply