[T3] 2.4GHz and IR Air Mouse Remote Control

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
dasco Offline
Donor
Posts: 140
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 13
Location: Toowoomba, QLD Australia
Post: #211
(2017-07-18 09:14)Jeffers24 Wrote:  @Dasco

This thread has been running for a while now, full of good information, keep it going

However, I need to buy a remote for my son, have you come across anything better that may be worth a look?

Hi Jeffers24,

I am always on the look out for the perfect remote, i have a drawer full of them. However every remote i try falls short in some area. Obviously this is dependant on your needs.
My needs is air mouse for Netflix. Keyboard functionality for quick text entry for searching movies etc, dedicated programmable keys to launch Big Box, Netflix, Google etc and a dedicated remote side for play, stop, skip, volume etc. Also i like to be able to change the remote to Infra Red to control my TV. Unfortunately the T3 remote is not perfect but does tick the majority of boxes for me and i keep comming back to it.
In saying that i realy like the flirc as it works flawlessly with most infra red remotes and is easy to program and has great response. But you cannot seem to buy an infra red remote with a dedicated keyboard. If you do not mind entering text via the old sms style text entry Flirc is perfect.
If only Logitech made a small form factor air mouse remote based on its fantastic K400 keyboard than the search would be over.
At this stage i am still using the T3 but never stop looking for the perfect remote for me. Would like to hear other peoples views on remotes they like and why.
find quote
Jeffers24 Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 19
Location: England
Post: #212
(2017-07-19 13:13)dasco Wrote:  
(2017-07-18 09:14)Jeffers24 Wrote:  @Dasco

This thread has been running for a while now, full of good information, keep it going

However, I need to buy a remote for my son, have you come across anything better that may be worth a look?

Hi Jeffers24,

I am always on the look out for the perfect remote, i have a drawer full of them. However every remote i try falls short in some area. Obviously this is dependant on your needs.
My needs is air mouse for Netflix. Keyboard functionality for quick text entry for searching movies etc, dedicated programmable keys to launch Big Box, Netflix, Google etc and a dedicated remote side for play, stop, skip, volume etc. Also i like to be able to change the remote to Infra Red to control my TV. Unfortunately the T3 remote is not perfect but does tick the majority of boxes for me and i keep comming back to it.
In saying that i realy like the flirc as it works flawlessly with most infra red remotes and is easy to program and has great response. But you cannot seem to buy an infra red remote with a dedicated keyboard. If you do not mind entering text via the old sms style text entry Flirc is perfect.
If only Logitech made a small form factor air mouse remote based on its fantastic K400 keyboard than the search would be over.
At this stage i am still using the T3 but never stop looking for the perfect remote for me. Would like to hear other peoples views on remotes they like and why.


Hi Dasco,

Thanks for quick response.

I have not found a better alternative, thought you may have collected a better one Wink

I initially bought my T3 from Amazon, Amazon stopped selling it so I bought off Lisuntech on ebay now they have stopped selling the T3.

Do you know a reliable supplier of this specific T3, I ask because I was bitten by a number of similar 'T3' suppliers that were selling similar remotes that did not work correctly, the main problem being the mouse cursor kept switching itself back on.
find quote
Jeffers24 Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 19
Location: England
Post: #213
(2017-07-19 18:25)Jeffers24 Wrote:  
(2017-07-19 13:13)dasco Wrote:  
(2017-07-18 09:14)Jeffers24 Wrote:  @Dasco

This thread has been running for a while now, full of good information, keep it going

However, I need to buy a remote for my son, have you come across anything better that may be worth a look?

Hi Jeffers24,

I am always on the look out for the perfect remote, i have a drawer full of them. However every remote i try falls short in some area. Obviously this is dependant on your needs.
My needs is air mouse for Netflix. Keyboard functionality for quick text entry for searching movies etc, dedicated programmable keys to launch Big Box, Netflix, Google etc and a dedicated remote side for play, stop, skip, volume etc. Also i like to be able to change the remote to Infra Red to control my TV. Unfortunately the T3 remote is not perfect but does tick the majority of boxes for me and i keep comming back to it.
In saying that i realy like the flirc as it works flawlessly with most infra red remotes and is easy to program and has great response. But you cannot seem to buy an infra red remote with a dedicated keyboard. If you do not mind entering text via the old sms style text entry Flirc is perfect.
If only Logitech made a small form factor air mouse remote based on its fantastic K400 keyboard than the search would be over.
At this stage i am still using the T3 but never stop looking for the perfect remote for me. Would like to hear other peoples views on remotes they like and why.


Hi Dasco,

Thanks for quick response.

I have not found a better alternative, thought you may have collected a better one Wink

I initially bought my T3 from Amazon, Amazon stopped selling it so I bought off Lisuntech on ebay now they have stopped selling the T3.

Do you know a reliable supplier of this specific T3, I ask because I was bitten by a number of similar 'T3' suppliers that were selling similar remotes that did not work correctly, the main problem being the mouse cursor kept switching itself back on.

Just to let you know I bought two T3s from http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/222498663103
Both arrived promptly and as advertised, no unruly mice.
I don't use audio control, have not tested it and suspect it doesn't work.
find quote
kiwiwayne Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #214
(2017-01-20 00:25)julianmclean Wrote:  Ok, bit of an update that may possibly help to contribute to getting the unrecognised keys on the T3 remote recognised in Linux.

Firstly, so far this has all been on my Openelec RPi2...

From reading on t'internet, I found I could use a tool called evtest to find out the scancodes for the buttons, but couldn't get this working on Openelec, so I migrated over to Libreelec and installed their system tools addon, which gave me evtest, and found me some more info on the buttons:

Code:
4 rectangles:
Event: time 1484862141.061309, type 4 (EV_MSC), code 4 (MSC_SCAN), value 7008a
Event: time 1484862141.061309, type 1 (EV_KEY), code 92 (KEY_HENKAN), value 1
Internet Explorer
Event: time 1484862204.261669, type 4 (EV_MSC), code 4 (MSC_SCAN), value c008a
Event: time 1484862204.261669, type 1 (EV_KEY), code 150 (KEY_WWW), value 1
Zoom in:
Event: time 1484862205.813901, type 4 (EV_MSC), code 4 (MSC_SCAN), value c022d
Event: time 1484862205.813901, type 1 (EV_KEY), code 418 (KEY_ZOOMIN), value 1
Zoom out:
Event: time 1484862206.245953, type 4 (EV_MSC), code 4 (MSC_SCAN), value c022e
Event: time 1484862206.245953, type 1 (EV_KEY), code 419 (KEY_ZOOMOUT), value 1
Recent/2 rectangles:
Event: time 1484862247.603470, type 4 (EV_MSC), code 4 (MSC_SCAN), value 700bb
Event: time 1484862247.603470, type 1 (EV_KEY), code 240 (KEY_UNKNOWN), value 1

A bit more reading suggested I could drop a customer hwdb file so after finding (I think) the usb kernel modalias for the remote using:

Code:
udevadm info /dev/input/event0

..I created a hwdb file called "99-t3remote.hwdb" in ~/.config/hwdb.d/ directory:

Code:
# T3 Remote
keyboard:usb:v25A7p2402*
KEYBOARD_KEY_07008a=f8                                  # 4 Rectangles
KEYBOARD_KEY_0c008a=f9                                  # Internet Explorer
KEYBOARD_KEY_0c022d=f10                                 # Zoom In
KEYBOARD_KEY_0c022e=f11                                 # Zoom Out
KEYBOARD_KEY_0700bb=f12                                 # Recent

...which was an attempt to map the keys to something that I hoped Kodi would see - i.e. the F8 to F12 keys.

Unfortunately this doesn't seem to have worked and Kodi log still reports the same thing:

Code:
DEBUG: CLinuxInputDevice::KeyEvent: TranslateKey returned XBMCK_UNKNOWN from code(92)

Anyone got any more experience/knowledge in this area and can say if I'm getting close?

Here is my hwdb file that worked for me in libreelec. I didn't need to correct the last five keys, but figured since I was in there, why not?

Code:
# T3 Remote
evdev:input:b0003v25A7p2402*
KEYBOARD_KEY_c022d=kpplus      # zoom in
KEYBOARD_KEY_c022e=kpminus     # zoom out
KEYBOARD_KEY_700bb=f4          # two squares
KEYBOARD_KEY_7008a=f5          # Henkan (four squares)
KEYBOARD_KEY_c008a=f6          # Internet Explorer
KEYBOARD_KEY_7003c=zoom
KEYBOARD_KEY_7003d=red
KEYBOARD_KEY_7003e=green
KEYBOARD_KEY_7003f=yellow
KEYBOARD_KEY_70040=blue

There is a space (" ") in front of each "KEYBOARD_KEY", but it doesn't show very well in this forum.

Cheers
Wayne
find quote
CyberJacob Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sep 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #215
Hi All,

I just picked up a T3 remote from Aliexpress, and it's working wonderfully with my Android Kodi install.
Does anyone know if it's possible to change the remote so that the power button will send an IR signal without pressing the TV button first?

At the moment, the power button is sending the Android box to sleep and leaving the TV on. Unfortunately the Android box won't come back on without the IR code from the original remote, so I'm stuck with having to pull the power cable if I forget to press the TV button first.

Thanks
find quote
dickalan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #216
The T3-M is almost the dream remote. However, if I were to actually make a list it would have these features (ordered from most important to least).

IR
IR learning
2.5Ghz
Bluetooth
air mouse
mouse on/off
mini keyboard
gyro
macros
Input indicator
microphone
back-light
rechargeable battery
headphones jack
speaker
display

Surprisingly this remote checks off most of these boxes. But I don't think there is a remote that exists yet that can check all of these boxes is there? Anything close to it?
(This post was last modified: 2017-09-12 22:37 by dickalan.)
find quote
ashrafhumax Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #217
(2017-09-05 15:03)CyberJacob Wrote:  Hi All,

I just picked up a T3 remote from Aliexpress, and it's working wonderfully with my Android Kodi install.
Does anyone know if it's possible to change the remote so that the power button will send an IR signal without pressing the TV button first?

At the moment, the power button is sending the Android box to sleep and leaving the TV on. Unfortunately the Android box won't come back on without the IR code from the original remote, so I'm stuck with having to pull the power cable if I forget to press the TV button first.

Thanks

Just copy the android box power to the upper power button of the remote in the IR mode and copy other tv buttons as in the image bellow

[Image: ltzgrpS.jpg]
find quote
dickalan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #218
(2017-09-13 21:50)ashrafhumax Wrote:  
(2017-09-05 15:03)CyberJacob Wrote:  Hi All,

I just picked up a T3 remote from Aliexpress, and it's working wonderfully with my Android Kodi install.
Does anyone know if it's possible to change the remote so that the power button will send an IR signal without pressing the TV button first?

At the moment, the power button is sending the Android box to sleep and leaving the TV on. Unfortunately the Android box won't come back on without the IR code from the original remote, so I'm stuck with having to pull the power cable if I forget to press the TV button first.

Thanks

Just copy the android box power to the upper power button of the remote in the IR mode and copy other tv buttons as in the image bellow

[Image: ltzgrpS.jpg]

I think what he's saying is that while in RF mode can you change the power button command so it won't turn off the computer. Most are already aware of how to change it in IR mode.
find quote
ashrafhumax Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #219
dickalan Thank you for clearing that
find quote
Post Reply