OUYA - Android/Kodi ONLY PLEASE!

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
RustyTheCat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: north of Toronto
Post: #1
I have an OUYA. I want to update to the latest Kodi release.
Is there a way, since I do not play the OUYA games, to install/update to Android ONLY platform and install the latest Kodi release based on that platform?
Thanks Russ
find quote
cd2022 Offline
Fan
Posts: 429
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #2
HOW-TO:Install_Kodi_on_OUYA (wiki)
find quote
RustyTheCat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: north of Toronto
Post: #3
no, I don't mean that. Only Android is installed, not OUYA for Android, and Kodi on top of Android. NO OUYA based android.
Thanks
find quote
cd2022 Offline
Fan
Posts: 429
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #4
Same link.
find quote
RustyTheCat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: north of Toronto
Post: #5
don't think your getting it. Just want a boot up of Kodi.
(This post was last modified: 2016-06-29 23:57 by RustyTheCat.)
find quote
cd2022 Offline
Fan
Posts: 429
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #6
You want to upgrade to a newer Android OS so you can install Kodi v15 or higher?
find quote
RustyTheCat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: north of Toronto
Post: #7
no. I want to put the latest copy of Android, as an operating system and then add Kodi only, and if possible boot just to Kodi.
find quote
cd2022 Offline
Fan
Posts: 429
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #8
Same different, link provided.
find quote
Vidman Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Perth, Australia
Post: #9
(2016-06-29 23:54)RustyTheCat Wrote:  don't think your getting it. Just want a boot up of Kodi.
don't think you are getting it
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Banned
Posts: 31,461
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #10
HOW-TO:Install_CyanogenMod_on_OUYA (wiki)

There's some better guides out there that have since been made. Google "OUYA CyanogenMod". That will let you run Kodi v16.1. Kodi v17 will need an even newer Android OS than the current CM for OUYA, though. Unless a newer one was done that I didn't notice (which is very likely).
(This post was last modified: 2016-06-30 09:09 by Ned Scott.)
find quote
RustyTheCat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: north of Toronto
Post: #11
ok, guess there's no one out there who can answer this, especially the smart ass Aussie. To you, cheers! I'll put up with the OUYA Android OS then. Thanks to all who "didn't get it".
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 1,244
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 32
Post: #12
(2016-06-30 22:12)RustyTheCat Wrote:  ok, guess there's no one out there who can answer this, especially the smart ass Aussie. To you, cheers! I'll put up with the OUYA Android OS then. Thanks to all who "didn't get it".
You're not getting the fact that we all got it. Multiple people gave you the answer you're looking for. But you didn't get that either.

The wiki post tells you how to update the android os on your device (not ouya for android, but cyanogen, which is a fork of android and your only chance). Then you can install kodi (only kodi if you want). Then you can install another app that makes your ouya launch kodi on startup (various apps available).
find quote
RustyTheCat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: north of Toronto
Post: #13
there's nothing to put just an android platform on there, like ARM (on a previous device I had) and then just have KODI boot up?
(This post was last modified: 2016-06-30 23:14 by RustyTheCat.)
find quote
Vidman Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Perth, Australia
Post: #14
FFS man that's exactly what the link allows you to do!! You have been pointed to the exact answer you are looking for 3 times already.
Cyanmod is vanilla android os (or android "platform" since you seem to have trouble understanding)
(This post was last modified: 2016-06-30 23:37 by Vidman.)
find quote
cd2022 Offline
Fan
Posts: 429
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #15
If OP don't get it by now, he's gonna have a very hard time doing the mod.
find quote
Post Reply