Question Re: Creating my own PVR Addon
Hi everyone.
I know there's a IPTV PVR addon out already, but the IPTV solution I use requires authentication etc to allow streaming. It also has a catchup service, which I'd like to integrate into the EPG also.

So I decided to create my own add-on. I've got some python knowledge, but no C++. So creating my own addon using cmake is out of the question currently.
My question is, since the KODI PVR/EPG layout has already been coded in xml. Could I use that pre-existing layout and just create my add-on using that? If so how would I achieve this?

Ideally, I'd like to import the xml layout's into my python addon and code the logic behind that in python, which would give me all the functionality I need, with the pre-existing PVR/EPG
Someone would first need to write some C++ code 'suff' in Kodi in order to extend APIs inside Kodi that can be used from a Python script in Kodi.

Maybe check if you or anyone from Team Kodi can reach zcsizmadia as he wrote that he had been working on a Python based PVR addon and some of the C++ code 'suff' needed in Kodi, see:

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=263952

zcsizmadia (Zoltan Csizmadia) is on GitHub but looks like no recent public activity, checkout: https://github.com/zcsizmadia

Having someone extending Kodi's PVR API so that it can also support Python scripts as PVR client addons is something many are be interested in.
Yeah I'll look in to that and see if it's a possibility! That'd be the easiest and more streamlined approach.
Currently the decision is to take FTV Guide and modify it to my needs. Since that's an addon written in Python, I feel more comfortable.