My new NUC-based Kodi HTPC

jhoffman100 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
https://techsterweb.wordpress.com/2016/0...fect-htpc/
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,194
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 363
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #2
(2016-07-14 18:09)jhoffman100 Wrote:  https://techsterweb.wordpress.com/2016/0...fect-htpc/
Nice write up. This sentence I think needs amending
Quote: One important thing is that each manufacturer can have a different or it

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
jhoffman100 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
"One important thing is that each manufacturer can have a different name for it"

Fixed, thanks!

Nice to know it was out there all day with a typo in it. Smile
find quote
zag Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,006
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 75
Location: UK
Post: #4
Nice, glad to see you talking about how to setup tvheadend!

and brilliant to see the tuner lid getting its first user review. I have a pctv usb tuner hanging out that has always annoyed me!
(This post was last modified: 2016-07-15 15:30 by zag.)
find quote
jhoffman100 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Thanks! Setting up TV in Linux can be overwhelming, and tvheadend is the "easiest" option I've found. I tried MythTV years ago...I think the few weeks I spent working on it aged me years!
find quote
zag Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,006
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 75
Location: UK
Post: #6
My guide to setting up tvheadend is here:

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=270385

I'd be interested if you have any comments or improvements to it.
find quote
jhoffman100 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
That is a very thorough, well-written walk-through! Would you mind if I add it to my post as an option?

I initially tried tvheadend 4.2. It installed fine, but when I went to create my network, it didn't list any pre-defined muxes for my area. I uninstalled 4.2 and installed 4.0, which included all the pre-defined muxes for me. So 4.2 won't work for me.

I didn't bother with setting up EPG, just because I don't use it much. I'm in North America and there isn't a quick option for OTA EPG. But I'm very interested in seeing what you come up with.

Great work!
find quote
zag Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,006
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 75
Location: UK
Post: #8
Sure go ahead, I had similar issues with 4.2, but i think it was an upgrade problem. Apparently installing it fresh should work ok.

Feel free to comment in my guide if your setup was different, I know the USA is strange with OTA broadcasts Wink

The EPG from my Satellite comes up automatically fine. Its a big improvement once you have it for scheduled recordings ect
(This post was last modified: 2016-07-15 16:15 by zag.)
find quote
jhoffman100 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Updated: "The progress photos in the slide deck will walk you through how I got things working. They are not intended to be an all-inclusive step-by-step manual, just the steps I followed. for a more thorough how-to, I recommend this excellent write-up created by Team Kodi Member Zag. There is also good information in the guide on the tvheadend.org site."

What's strange here in North America (at least in my area), is my TVs pull in over-the-air guide information automatically, but setting it up through a PC is kind of a pain. Now that you mention it, I did upgrade 4.2 right away, so I might go back and try again.
find quote
Atreyu Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,031
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 23
Post: #10
Nice, i installed a nuc for the living-room using external usb tuners which is...not ideal.
You gave me some inspiration to aim for better integration :-)
(This post was last modified: 2016-07-19 01:10 by Atreyu.)
find quote
jhoffman100 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Awesome! Yeah, I wasn't happy with the look of the USB tuner either. That's why I love that lid so much. I did a full review/write-up on the lid. If you're interested it's on my site. I'd rather not post a link (don't want to be accused of "blog spam") but it's right off the main page.
find quote
jhoffman100 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
That's one thing I DID love about the HomeRun tuner...nothing sticking out of the back of the NUC!
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,194
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 363
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #13
Also your backend doesn't have to be in whatever retarded place the antenna connection ended up where some neanderthal installer from the last century thought you should put your TV.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
(This post was last modified: 2016-07-19 08:50 by nickr.)
find quote
jhoffman100 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
There's that too. I'm lucky, in that my TV is right in front of the cable, whose location was arbitrarily chosen years ago by the satellite dish installer, and which I reused for my antenna.
find quote
SeVreN2013 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 6
Location: Down Under
Post: #15
How much did the total build cost ?
find quote
Post Reply