Audio Passthrough on LiveTV

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jaschx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi
I am coming from Dvbviewer an are lately testing a lot with Kodi around, since i really like the look of the new 17 versions and with the current alpha 2 i get under 1sec zaptime.
I am having the following Problem.
I have activated Audio passthrough, and it is working for Files.
Playing mkv, i get all modes running DTS,DD,True-HD,DTS-HD......
But if i watch Live Tv with Dvbviewer client i only got 2 channel PCM(for DD 2.0), or Multichannel PCM (for DD5.1).
Maybe someone has a Hint for me.

MFG Alex
find quote
nickr Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,186
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 363
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #2
What are you expecting? I don't think you will find broadcasters transmitting anything greater than lossy 5.1. Usually ac3.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
jaschx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I expect passthrough if enabled.
If Source is DD5.1 -> passthrough DD5.1 to my AV not PCM .
(This post was last modified: 2016-07-29 14:24 by jaschx.)
find quote
nickr Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,186
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 363
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4
I see. debug log (wiki)

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
skybird1980 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 6
Location: Oldenborstel, Germany
Post: #5
It's the Kodi 17 alpha Wink Passtrough in Live TV is not working atm.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 16,928
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 310
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #6
(2016-07-30 13:05)skybird1980 Wrote:  It's the Kodi 17 alpha Wink Passtrough in Live TV is not working atm.
This has been done intentional. No passthrough on livestreans

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
find quote
skybird1980 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 6
Location: Oldenborstel, Germany
Post: #7
for me it's ok, i have dolby sound even it's just pcm streams^^
find quote
nickr Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,186
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 363
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #8
(2016-07-30 14:10)Martijn Wrote:  
(2016-07-30 13:05)skybird1980 Wrote:  It's the Kodi 17 alpha Wink Passtrough in Live TV is not working atm.
This has been done intentional. No passthrough on livestreans

Why?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
jaschx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2016-07-30 13:05)skybird1980 Wrote:  It's the Kodi 17 alpha Wink Passtrough in Live TV is not working atm.

Thx for this answer, that´s fine for me.

.
find quote
manül Offline
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 24
Post: #10
@Martijn Can you please elaborate why this has been removed/disabled or point to the PR? I wasn't able to find the commit
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 16,928
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 310
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #11
Ask FernetMenta

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,190
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 140
Location: Munich
Post: #12
for live streams audio speed needs to be adjusted in order to prevent buffers from running dry or overflow. speed for passthrough can't be adjusted, hence no pt for live streams.
find quote
debutanker Online
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Location: im Ländle
Post: #13
Will there be a chance to see pt with live tv/streams again in the near future? Some of my AV-features only work if the decoding is done by the AV-Receiver......(like dynamic range etc.).
many thx
olli
find quote
Ayla Offline
Fan
Posts: 712
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #14
(2016-08-22 10:28)debutanker Wrote:  Will there be a chance to see pt with live tv/streams again in the near future? Some of my AV-features only work if the decoding is done by the AV-Receiver......(like dynamic range etc.).
many thx
olli

Same here, I'm sad to see pt removed for live tv, I love my Dolby Volume stuf etc. on my receiver.
find quote
CiNcH Offline
Fan
Posts: 396
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 1
Location: Austria
Post: #15
I perfectly understand the distributed clock problem, but I haven't yet seen a TV with integrated tuner or STB that wouldn't do passthrough. If all involved clocks on encoder and decoder side are sufficiently accurate, you won't run into problems for a long time even without synchronization..

Sony BRAVIA 2015 (FW V3.865 / Android TV 6.0.1) | DVBViewer Media Server 2.0
find quote
Post Reply