Problem running on Linux
Question 
Hi guys,

First of all: I love XBMC and I've been using it on my XBox for years! I've been using and developing on Linux for around 10 years so I thought I'd try and help with the Linux porting effort.

However, I'm running into some problems. The XboxMediaCenter application starts up but nothing ever gets displayed other than a black screen. I've gone through the debugger and it's constantly looping at line 669 of Application.cpp. It looks like it's expecting some user input, but pressing keys or clicking mouse buttons doesn't seem to do anything.

Am I missing something obvious? What might be going wrong where?

Many thanks
no offense but did you try using build.sh ? if you didn't use build.sh before, you need to clear any XML's from system/profiles before using build.sh
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

I hadn't tried build.sh no - I followed the linux build guide and it makes no mention of build.sh. I have tried it now though, and I get exactly the same problem.
Someone should probably move this to the other forum.

And you probably want to mention your system specs, what x window manager you are using, etc. I know that for some reason XBMC doesn't run under Compizfusion for me.
Also check xbmc.log, check what output there is from the commandline etc. etc.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.

I'm using NVIDIA twinview, which may be causing some issues - but like I said the application just keeps looping while waiting for user input.

Here is the output:
Quote:MoveFile - cant move file </home/bmd/xbmc/branches/linuxport/XBMC/xbmc.log>. trying lower case </home/bmd/xbmc/branches/linuxport/xbmc/xbmc.log>