GUI crashes / restarts when accessing JPEGs from a specific camera

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
daghtus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I'm experiencing an awkward problem when trying to show pictures in JPEG format from one specific camera: Lumix DMC-LX5. When I access a folder on a Samba share where JPEGs from this specific camera are stored, Kodi apparently starts reading EXIF information (a loading dialog box appears). However, when I try to open any picture, the GUI (I'm using Confluence skin but the problem is not skin dependent) crashes and restarts taking me to the home screen. This happens every time. I haven't noticed any problems with pictures from other cameras. AVCHD videos from the DMC-LX5 can be played just fine. My Kodi running on Raspberry Pi2 is up-to-date.
I'm attaching the link to a random picture that is affected by this bug below in case anyone wants to test. Cheers.

Test JPEG - Kodi GUI crash
(This post was last modified: 2016-08-18 11:21 by daghtus.)
find quote
PatK Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 8,613
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 210
Location: Canada
Post: #2
Nice tent, must be hard to put up. There's a bug ATM (There's ticket open somewhere for it) that crashes the system when reading very large folders, I'm wondering if you've run into this and not just a jpeg problem. Can you place one of the 'suspect' images locally and see if it loads? This would have the effect of determining if the file compression is at fault, networking suspect, or are we dealing with the known bug.

A tool like 'Mediainfo' would give a better comparison to different images an perhaps leave a clue. The only suggestion at this point would be some sort of batch process of conversion, and wouldn't be my or your first choice.
find quote
MrMC Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 757
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 31
Post: #3
If Kodi v16+, known issue that will never be fixed. https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/9796

MrMC Forums : http://forum.mrmc.tv
find quote
daghtus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Thanks folks. This is Kodi 16.1 but I don't believe the problem is related to large folders. I created a test folder with just one culprit picture and the GUI still crashes after I try to open it. I will give it a try with Mediainfo when I return from vacation.
find quote
PatK Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 8,613
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 210
Location: Canada
Post: #5
If you're looking into this with depth, you might as well turn on debugging in settings/system, try to look at these infernal images and upload a proper debug log to a public paste-bin and link the URL back to this thread. Might be time to make your move to Krypton B1 so any real discoveries get to those who can code, if this is not some anomaly.
(This post was last modified: 2016-08-23 22:26 by PatK.)
find quote
mgouin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I have a very similar problem. It seems mediainfo is only for audio and video files, am I right?
find quote
mgouin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Here is the log file:

https://paste.pound-python.org/show/CgaP...epq2XmJjP/

The picture info is

Camera make : SONY

Camera model : DSC-W510

Date/Time :2012/05/13 16:51:13

Resolution : 4000 x 3000

Flash used : No

Focal length : 5.6mm (35mm equivalent 31mm)

Exposure time : 0.0020 s (1/500)

Aperture : f/3.0

ISO equiv. : 80

Whitebalance : Auto

Metering Mode : multi spot

Exposure : program (auto)
find quote
mgouin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Just to add more info, I can reproduce the problem by opening the affected photos directly from the kodi file manager and navigating to the folder containing the photo. When I do this, the crash happens when pressing enter to preview the picture.

I know there's not much value in that, but all affected photos are opened in windows just fine. I cannot see any visual corruption in the image in windows.

Do you know a place I could post a few affected photos for other users to test?
find quote
mgouin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Ok, so I found the following site where I was able to upload my files (no affiliation).

All of them produced the error.

https://picload.org/image/rolpocll/dsc00166.jpg
https://picload.org/image/rolpocgr/dsc00167.jpg
https://picload.org/image/rolpocra/dsc00168.jpg
https://picload.org/image/rolpocdi/dsc00196.jpg
https://picload.org/image/rolpocor/dsc00198.jpg


FYI: I'm running Kodi on a Raspberry Pi 3.
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-03 04:57 by mgouin.)
find quote
mhdebokx Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Netherlands
Wink  RE: GUI crashes / restarts when accessing JPEGs from a specific camera
Post: #10
if it is a Kodi buffer problem using large folders, this could be a work around

each camera adds a lot of info to the exif parts of a picture, so find out which parts you do not need
eg. a lot of thumbnails, color spaces etc

then use exiftool to remove all those garbage parts of the exif container

most of the time Kodi will work then!
find quote
mgouin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Thanks for the pointer. I will try exiftool.

But as I said in my previous post, I was able to generate the error by opening the jpeg in Kodi file manager also. The jpeg was in a folder with about only 10 photos. And using this method, the crash happens when opening the file instead of when entering the folder. That's what led me to think that the file manager does not generate the thumbnail for every photo in a folder.

Could someone confirm that?

Tanks
find quote
mgouin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
I found another camera that have the same behavior: kodi crash upon opening the image.

Here is a photo with the issue:
https://picload.org/image/rciggpww/p2180004.jpg

EDIT: My error, this photo is viewed fine finally...
(This post was last modified: 2017-04-29 14:59 by mgouin.)
find quote
Rechi Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 4
Location: Austria
Post: #13
Post a Debug log (wiki).
Are you still using Kodi 16.1?

Have you already tried it with a newer version of Kodi? Maybe it already got fixed.
find quote
mgouin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Yes still on 16.1. I'm a bit nervous about the upgrade...

Will post the debug log.
find quote
willemd Offline
Donor
Posts: 254
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 2
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #15
It is very, very, very unlikely that 16.1 will be updated to fix your bug. It's best to try the latest 17 to see whether it has been fixed.
find quote
Post Reply