Android - Passthrough Changes with v17

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 4.6 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
anpaza Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #766
Smile
and then my patch would be rejected.
I know this trick Big Grin

That's why I'm first trying to make sure that would be a useful option.
find quote
Draega Offline
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #767
I was suggesting that you make a version for yourself.

The shitty and not so shitty builds were fritsch being a nice guy and trying to help out the Sony TV users and others who were having audio issues.

With so many combinations of android hardware and avr's and wonky firmware you well at least I don't ever expect the kodi team to be able to get all permutations working 100%. I'm just greatful it works as well as it does.
find quote
Koying Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 5,696
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 178
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #768
Patch already exist: https://github.com/koying/SPMC/commit/7e...cdc5fc4fe7
I.e. Use the "Resample quality" setting, with <= Medium -> 384k and anything higher -> 640k.

Now I'm pretty sure the patch would be refused, indeed, unless it is limited to Android BUT does not use ifdef Wink
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,916
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 555
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #769
(2017-04-17 03:16)Koying Wrote:  Patch already exist: https://github.com/koying/SPMC/commit/7e...cdc5fc4fe7
I.e. Use the "Resample quality" setting, with <= Medium -> 384k and anything higher -> 640k.

Now I'm pretty sure the patch would be refused, indeed, unless it is limited to Android BUT does not use ifdef Wink

Workarounds only needed for android should stay on android only and not clutter other perfectly working fine platforms. Remember we use 640 kbit/s AC3 since more than 5 years, even on the shittiest Pentium 4 onboard spdif outputs. Then the broken Android firmwares came along and suddenly to workaround that shitty firmware (pcm hack was also a workaround) will clutter generic code, while all those workarounds are obsolete the time 7.0 will be standard. Workarounding documented broken firmware will stop generic development. If we would not have made public that RAW implementation was the biggest bullshit ever and forced on IEC mode - nothing would have happened on that ecosystem at all. So in my eyes going for a short workaround will introduce yet another mess - I think you remember the AML, stagefright, mediacodec times and the AML sink inside the AudioTrack still there.


I suggest something else:
For v17 there was this cmake change introduced for android only. The relevant setting could be added to this file only and the setting could be used on android only.

E.g. do it here: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/2a13...417358dR23 - no other platform would be harmed and android would get the relevant setting.

Edit: Remember: Those TVs evennot cannot output "normal" standard AC3 that are 640 kbit/s too - so another workaround will ALSO be needed, that is "Sync Playback to Display" and 2.0 speakers to also decode and reencode 640 kbit/s AC3 -> 5.1 PCM -> 5.1 AC3 384 kbit/s ... enough reasons to push on vendors to fix their firmware.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
(This post was last modified: 2017-04-17 11:09 by fritsch.)
find quote
Koying Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 5,696
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 178
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #770
(2017-04-17 11:01)fritsch Wrote:  For v17 there was this cmake change introduced for android only. The relevant setting could be added to this file only and the setting could be used on android only.

Yep. I hate this "thing" as you know (I still fail to see in what having self-changing build code via cmake is better that via ifdef, just to it is much harder to read), but it's indeed the acceptable common ground.
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,916
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 555
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #771
Christian Fetzer is on his way preparing something that makes these "more general", after that one is in - adding that setting for $port only is much easier.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote
vkostas Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #772
Hello guys (thumbs up for KODI).
I've read somewhere that Android resamples all audio files to 48kHz. Is it true?
It is unbelievable we are in 2017 and we still discuss those topics (not kodi fault of course).
Isn't the passthrough option the "easiest" one to implement at the end?
So many lazy/incompetent manufacturers spoiled the whole market.
I am still searching for a list of Android Boxes can play passthrough stereo 44.1 / 48 / 96kHz at least (multichannel PCM/DTSHD/TrueHD are nice to have though) without success.
Thanks to this thread AML s912 is definitely disqualified (unless a miracle happens).
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 13,436
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 210
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #773
(2016-09-05 20:37)fritsch Wrote:  If you have a broken firmware, download the shitty builds. They are named matching your firmware. Currently on this list are:
FireTV 1 and 2, Some prerelease AMLogic Android 6 versions that ship a broken, e.g. shitty FW, never released as final by AMLogic.

Current shitty version: http://mirrors.kodi.tv/test-builds/android/arm/ (Updated 17/03/9) - Handle with care, you are warned. This version can kill your ears as it fakes passthrough via PCM as Jarvis did.

I take it I should be looking for a build with firetv in the name?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,916
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 555
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #774
No. With shitty in name, see first post, please.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote
XuJian Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #775
AMLOGIC has implemented the KODI 17 Passthrough support for android M and Android N.
We back-ported AUDIO_FORMAT_IEC61937 support on Android M.
We added that at the end of last year.
find quote
wrxtasy Offline
Moderator²
Posts: 6,410
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 263
Location: Perth, Oz
Post: #776
Yes and now it is up to sellers to implement those changes in update MM Firmware. Trouble is the cheap Ship & Forget guys cannot be bothered to do so, they would rather sell you shiny new buggy Nougat devices now.
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-15 09:01 by wrxtasy.)
find quote
kenofstephen Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #777
(2017-05-08 22:21)vkostas Wrote:  Hello guys (thumbs up for KODI).
I've read somewhere that Android resamples all audio files to 48kHz. Is it true?
It is unbelievable we are in 2017 and we still discuss those topics (not kodi fault of course).
Isn't the passthrough option the "easiest" one to implement at the end?
So many lazy/incompetent manufacturers spoiled the whole market.
I am still searching for a list of Android Boxes can play passthrough stereo 44.1 / 48 / 96kHz at least (multichannel PCM/DTSHD/TrueHD are nice to have though) without success.
Thanks to this thread AML s912 is definitely disqualified (unless a miracle happens).

It should be those "bad-brands" that you should be disqualifying, not the AML S912,
the chip itself is fully OK to run Kodi 17 nicely, with proper firmware implementation/updates.
find quote
wrxtasy Offline
Moderator²
Posts: 6,410
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 263
Location: Perth, Oz
Post: #778
Agreed, and that is why I only recommend the MINIX U9 as that is the only S912 that has both IEC61937 Audio support and fixes the 1080p colorspace issue that all other AML S912's still have. Smile

Not sure if MINIX has Multichannel PCM Audio support tho.
find quote
Klesk Reaver Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #779
(2017-05-11 20:36)fritsch Wrote:  No. With shitty in name, see first post, please.

Are Shitty builds only 32 bit? Guess it doesn't matter much?

I take it Nvidia have not remembered their SPDIF users yet Tongue
find quote
exchequer Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #780
(2017-03-16 08:50)Koying Wrote:  Shield is a reference device. Every format works there as far as Kodi is concerned.
The DTS issue is with mediatek based TV's, Sony and Philips.

If you have a passthrough issue on shield, 95% chance it's a misconfiguration or a h/w issue.

I just purchased a Sony CT-790 soundbar to accompany my X830 android tv. Quickly enabled DTS etc from the settings menu. All went fine until I played a movie, as it turns out there was no image and no sound. When I disabled passthrough both the image and sound resumed. After a bit of Googling I ended up here.

If I understand it correctly the issue did not exist on Android 5.x with Kodi 16? I am really not looking forward to buying a shield just for sound compatibility (yet ANOTHER remote). I really love that the TV just has Kodi integrated, that was the main selling point for me. Does it help if I uninstall 17.1 and go back to 16.1 via sideloading?
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-23 02:57 by exchequer.)
find quote
Post Reply