Intel Kaby Lake Hardware

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ggp759 Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #706
(2017-06-14 11:48)M1R0 Wrote:  And what does Advisor say about GFX? Minimum requirement for UHD Blu-ray playback is HD630, NUC7i3 has HD620...
I want to buy this little machine but now I'm scared Sad

Just wanted to ask where did you find these requirements? Any link?
find quote
movie78 Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,138
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #707
(2017-06-15 11:17)palym Wrote:  
(2017-06-14 15:00)movie78 Wrote:  
(2017-06-14 14:49)palym Wrote:  Could you possibly test the advisor and tell me what it tells about your system, please? I would know whether I need to dig deeper, then.

Connect to HDMI 2.0
Change the resolution to 3840X2160 then HDCP will PASS
Thanks for your results and the tip regarding the resolution. I got the same result using 3840x2160 but for HDR. I will try another cable later today and maybe downgrade the gfx-driver to 4664. I saw that you own an LG UHD-TV, too. Did you enable the HDMI Ultra HD deep color option?

Yes, you have to enable Deep Color.

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
kjetilkl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #708
So to clarify. - The issues described here is just affecting 3D, and a NUC7I3BNK should work fine for playing x265 4K HDR mkv-files or?
find quote
sanity Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #709
Yes
find quote
movie78 Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,138
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 34
Location: SX USA
Post: #710
(2017-06-15 14:47)kjetilkl Wrote:  So to clarify. - The issues described here is just affecting 3D, and an NUC7I3BNK should work fine for playing x265 4K HDR Mkv-files or?

x265 4K files playback yes, HDR doesn't work in Kodi yet, only in PDVD 17

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Beebox-S (INTEL KABY LAKE) 2D&3D WINDOWS | ZIDOO X8 HDR
LG 75UH8500 3D HDR Dolby Vision | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX ONE S UHD BLU-RAY | PS4 PRO 4K HDR GAMING
MARANTZ SR7011 DTS X | ATMOS 5.1.4 | Auro-3D 9.1
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
stammie Offline
Fan
Posts: 414
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 14
Post: #711
This isn't a Kodi issue but may affect people who are buying Kaby Lake hardware.
I recently decided to upgrade my aging HTPC to a Beebox-S 7200U, although I don't need 4K or HDR yet I thought it prudent to have a bit of future proofing in my new box for when I do.
I have Windows 10 Pro installed on my Beebox and have just found a serious error with Netflix on it, with the HDMI 2 port connected to my amp I get a screen saying your TV is not HDCP 2.2 compatible when I try to run Netflix via the dedicated Windows Store app or via Edge, this is true of the TV but not the amp which is 2.2 compatible.
This error locks up the entire PC forcing a hard reset, I could almost understand this if I had an account that lets me play 4K content but I have the standard HD two devices at a time account.
Connecting via the Beebox's 1.4 HDMI port cures this but not all Kaby Lake devices have both HDMI connections on board.

As an aside I haven't posted anything in this thread before because any issues I've had with my new machine have been solved by helpful members here who've posted the information I've needed, so thank you to everyone in this thread who's posted great help and information.
find quote
M1R0 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #712
(2017-06-15 13:33)ggp759 Wrote:  
(2017-06-14 11:48)M1R0 Wrote:  And what does Advisor say about GFX? Minimum requirement for UHD Blu-ray playback is HD630, NUC7i3 has HD620...
I want to buy this little machine but now I'm scared Sad

Just wanted to ask where did you find these requirements? Any link?

It's here: https://www.cyberlink.com/products/power...en_EU.html (in GPU section, UHD-BD paragraph)
find quote
fmedrano1977 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 1
Post: #713
(2017-06-15 18:15)M1R0 Wrote:  
(2017-06-15 13:33)ggp759 Wrote:  
(2017-06-14 11:48)M1R0 Wrote:  And what does Advisor say about GFX? Minimum requirement for UHD Blu-ray playback is HD630, NUC7i3 has HD620...
I want to buy this little machine but now I'm scared Sad

Just wanted to ask where did you find these requirements? Any link?

It's here: https://www.cyberlink.com/products/power...en_EU.html (in GPU section, UHD-BD paragraph)
I was watching the 50+ Gigabyte m2ts file from an Inferno 1:1 UHD rip on my i3 Kaby Lake Beebox with out issue last night.

Sent from my HTC 10 (typie typie)
find quote
M1R0 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #714
(2017-06-15 18:28)fmedrano1977 Wrote:  
(2017-06-15 18:15)M1R0 Wrote:  
(2017-06-15 13:33)ggp759 Wrote:  Just wanted to ask where did you find these requirements? Any link?

It's here: https://www.cyberlink.com/products/power...en_EU.html (in GPU section, UHD-BD paragraph)
I was watching the 50+ Gigabyte m2ts file from an Inferno 1:1 UHD rip on my i3 Kaby Lake Beebox with out issue last night.

Sent from my HTC 10 (typie typie)

OK, but Cyberlink Advisor is for UHD BR playback with UHD BR drive. Ripped iso or file structure not contains AACS 2.0, so Adv.Protect.A/V Path, SGX and even HDCP 2.2 - all this shit is not necessary... I'm trying to figure out will Kaby Lake i3 (or i5) NUC play UHD discs with (external) UHD BR drive and PDVD 17Huh They (Cyberlink) are still saying on their obsolete site about desktop Kaby Lake or Kaby Lake-H. Not Kaby Lake-U. In the other hand - NUCs have SGX, supported GFX (but 7i3 (in fact HD620 is just underclocked HD630)) Confused
find quote
honcho Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 3
Post: #715
(2017-06-15 19:28)M1R0 Wrote:  
(2017-06-15 18:28)fmedrano1977 Wrote:  
(2017-06-15 18:15)M1R0 Wrote:  It's here: https://www.cyberlink.com/products/power...en_EU.html (in GPU section, UHD-BD paragraph)
I was watching the 50+ Gigabyte m2ts file from an Inferno 1:1 UHD rip on my i3 Kaby Lake Beebox with out issue last night.

Sent from my HTC 10 (typie typie)

OK, but Cyberlink Advisor is for UHD BR playback with UHD BR drive. Ripped iso or file structure not contains AACS 2.0, so Adv.Protect.A/V Path, SGX and even HDCP 2.2 - all this shit is not necessary... I'm trying to figure out will Kaby Lake i3 (or i5) NUC play UHD discs with (external) UHD BR drive and PDVD 17Huh They (Cyberlink) are still saying on their obsolete site about desktop Kaby Lake or Kaby Lake-H. Not Kaby Lake-U. In the other hand - NUCs have SGX, supported GFX (but 7i3 (in fact HD620 is just underclocked HD630)) Confused

No
find quote
palym Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #716
(2017-06-15 14:31)movie78 Wrote:  
(2017-06-15 11:17)palym Wrote:  
(2017-06-14 15:00)movie78 Wrote:  Connect to HDMI 2.0
Change the resolution to 3840X2160 then HDCP will PASS
Thanks for your results and the tip regarding the resolution. I got the same result using 3840x2160 but for HDR. I will try another cable later today and maybe downgrade the gfx-driver to 4664. I saw that you own an LG UHD-TV, too. Did you enable the HDMI Ultra HD deep color option?

Yes, you have to enable Deep Color.

Thanks once again. I did more testing yesterday with new cables and the problem still existed.

I figured out the following:
1. If I enable HDMI ultra deep HD color the resolution is automatically set to [email protected] and the screen starts to flicker. If I set to 30FPS for instance manually afterwards, flickering is gone. I guess this is a driver issue because UHD resolution and 60 FPS works when playing videos.
2. If my UHD LG TV is connected to the HDMI port and my Receiver (hdmi 1.4) to usb-c (in order to be able to have HD audio and UHD) neither the Cyberlink Advisor will pass the HDR test nor the HDR mode will be enable when playing a HDR video in PowerDVD 17. If I disconnect the Receiver both will work.
3. ARC won't work if HDR is enabled (wtf?)
find quote
P.Kosunen Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #717
(2017-06-17 20:14)palym Wrote:  1. If I enable HDMI ultra deep HD color the resolution is automatically set to [email protected] and the screen starts to flicker. If I set to 30FPS for instance manually afterwards, flickering is gone. I guess this is a driver issue because UHD resolution and 60 FPS works when playing videos.

http://www.acousticfrontiers.com/uhd-101-v2/
http://www.acousticfrontiers.com/wp-cont...spaces.png

Could it be bandwidth issue? If deep color is 10 bit, it should work at 4:2:0 subsampling.
find quote
Post Reply