Kodi 18 - LibreELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi (Kodi 18.0)

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 4.83 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bill_orange Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #901
(2017-02-08 15:58)MMXT Wrote:  
(2017-02-08 04:51)Milhouse Wrote:  Have you turned your TV off at the mains for 30 seconds, and then tested with #0206+ again?

I (yet) did not test with #0207, but of course I tried unplugging my TV from mains a lot. You (or @popcornmix) told us to unplug TV from mains a while ago, and since then I unplugged TV from mains any single time after I tested a new build. But this never worked for me. (it did not help for the builds with broken CEC, so weather I unplugged TV from mains or not, didn't cause anything for me)

Well, sometimes when I read people are using cronjobs to shutdown their TV's via certain CEC commands, I doubt, all of us have the same opinion, what it means, if CEC is working (not meant to be offensive at all, I also do many things using cronjobs and daemons, e.g. my AVR doesn't switch into standby if no audio is played, so I have to turn off AVR using a script cURL'ing http-requests every few minutes)

Nonetheless when I myself am reporting "CEC working fine for me" I mean, TV remote is completely usable for me for kodi on the one hand and for my smart tv's menues on the other hand without all this "need to permanently reselect kodi"-stuff. Nothing more.
And *this* is working absolutely satisfying now for me.
I uploaded a short video, so everybody who is interested can see, HOW I prefer my remote to work. It's just 1:55, so you may wish to take a look at.
This is taken from build #0206 and of course I solely use the TV's remote to control Samsung Smarthub and libreelec and no attached keyboard and things like that (which can be seen by the remote-signal-indicating red flashing LED at the bottom right edge of my Samsung TV btw)

Video is with German userinterfaces, so here is a short description:
In this video I start navigating through libreelec's menues for a while. Then I press the smarthub button on my Samsung remote, select Amazon Prime and use my remote to navigate through Amazon Prime menues for a while. Then I terminate Amazon Prime and instantly navigate through libreelec's menues again. Right after this I press the source key on my remote, select "TV" as source (which causes a "no signal" message for me, because I don't have sat/cable connected to this TV) and finally select libreelec again (TV recognizes this as my AVR because I switch hdmi sources via AVR) and am able to use remote with libreelec again.

Video: Video showing working CEC without need to reselect CEC device

I think this is what almost everybody wants when talking about "working CEC" with Samsung TV's, isn't it?

@nick_w I read your private message but for some unknown reason I cannot answer via private message. Thank you for telling me about Samsung's CEC issues and updating. I didn't update my TV since Octobre 2016 and CEC is working for me as shown in the video. I NOW updated the TV, just because I am aware of a new update since your private message, but I did this AFTER CEC already was working fine for me.


Edit: Of course I tested powering the TV off and on as well, and this also works now without CEC issues. I didn't show this in the video, because I do not want everybody to see my private email address which my Samsung TV is displaying when powered on and logging into Samsung services.

I also seem fine on CEC control with an Onkyo media center and a Samsung TV.
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,883
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 643
Post: #902
New LibreELEC.tv Leia build #0208: RPi / RPi2
(Supercedes previous build)

Code:
# uname -a
Linux rpi512 4.9.8 #1 Wed Feb 8 21:04:56 GMT 2017 armv6l GNU/Linux

# vcgencmd version
Feb  3 2017 17:32:26
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version 12dfe2223aa88c5d7ce0e701e9fb7746914decc3 (clean) (release)

# lsb_release
LibreELEC (Milhouse) - Version: devel-20170208210352-#0208-gd46b7ca [Build #0208]

# Kodi version
(18.0-ALPHA1 Git:4c792db). Platform: Linux ARM 32-bit

Based on tip of LibreELEC.tv master (d46b7ca4, changelog) and tip of XBMC master (c265c6b8, changelog) with the following modifications: Build Highlights:
  1. Estuary fixes
  2. Increase Python processing period when videoplayer is not active
  3. PR:1295: lirc: simplify scripts
  4. PR:11163: Fix silent failure when game add-on can't be installed
Build Details:
  1. LibreELEC.tv:
    • add reworked retroplayer add-ons script (PR:1294, 3 commits, 4 files changed)
    • kodi: remove aarch64 patches that have been merged upstream (PR:1297, 1 commit, 2 files changed)
    • tvheadend: remove addon for 4.0 (PR:1233, 1 commit, 14 files changed)
    • net-snmp: initial addon (3e00e3b8)
  2. XBMC:
    • Remove AEDefines_override.h (PR:11636, 1 commit, 1 file changed)
    • support for image decoder add-ons (PR:11086, 4 commits, 35 files changed)
    • [xbmc][improvement][docs] Add missing documentation to appmessenger and IMessageTarget (PR:11531, 1 commit, 3 files changed)
    • [skins] show video indicator in slideshow window (PR:11525, 1 commit, 2 files changed)
    • [Estuary] fixes (PR:11482, 1 commit, 11 files changed)
  3. newclock5:
    • New commits in this build:
      • Application: Add decay before python door closes (7066e497)
      • Application: Allow python door to open for up to 80ms (5d6c8abf)
    • Commits no longer in build:
  4. Additional commits/pull requests/changes not yet merged upstream:
    • Added: [env] PR:1295: lirc: simplify scripts
    • Added: [pkg] PR:11163: Fix silent failure when game add-on can't be installed

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,865
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 326
Post: #903
Please test add-ons with latest build.
Report if they are any faster and if you see any strange behaviour.
find quote
guldfisken1982 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #904
(2017-02-08 20:27)HiassofT Wrote:  
(2017-02-08 20:15)guldfisken1982 Wrote:  can you tell me how I go about it?
How do I determine the file?
On the shell type
Code:
rm /storage/.config/system.d/lircd-uinput@.service

But if you don't have much experience with this better do a completely fresh install with the LibreELEC Installer.
Or do a hard reset via kodi settings->libreelec settings "Reset LibreELEC to defaults"

so long,

Hias

Then I found the error.
It was because after I installed the latest LibreELEC-RPI2.arm-7.95.2.img.gz
Also I've been driving an old backup, so I got all my settings,Laugh it can not do, now does it all perfect thanks
find quote
MONSTA Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Veliky Novgorod
Post: #905
Cec still doesn't work as was before. If you update cec setup in peripherals then link is lost till reboot. After rebooting, sometimes I have to reactivate cec link in source. That didn't happened few months ago. Connection never lost.
find quote
Sholander Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 1
Post: #906
Same for my Pi3 and PanaTv...
One more observation that is present for more than a month, when safe removing an external drive it's icon stays present, but the drive IS removed.
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,865
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 326
Post: #907
(2017-02-09 10:09)MONSTA Wrote:  Cec still doesn't work as was before. If you update cec setup in peripherals then link is lost till reboot. After rebooting, sometimes I have to reactivate cec link in source. That didn't happened few months ago. Connection never lost.

Any different with "hdmi_debug=1" in config.txt?
find quote
esco Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #908
Hello guys,
not sure if this is LE/Kodi related but I would like to ask if there were any DVB-S driver changes in latest #0000X builds. I am unable to perform muxes scan (no matter of orbtital position) with my DVB-Sky S960 USB tuner and TVHeadend, I'm getting "diseqc: failed to send diseqc cmd (e=Connection timed out) error message after a short while (I have also tested fresh install of the latest TVH build, still no luck). I have reverted back to 0101 with TvHeadend build from the LE repo and no issues. Thank you.
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-09 15:57 by esco.)
find quote
MONSTA Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Veliky Novgorod
Post: #909
(2017-02-09 15:52)popcornmix Wrote:  Any different with "hdmi_debug=1" in config.txt?

I don't see a difference Smile
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,865
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 326
Post: #910
(2017-02-09 10:09)MONSTA Wrote:  Cec still doesn't work as was before. If you update cec setup in peripherals then link is lost till reboot. After rebooting, sometimes I have to reactivate cec link in source. That didn't happened few months ago. Connection never lost.

(2017-02-09 12:18)Sholander Wrote:  Same for my Pi3 and PanaTv...

It would be useful if you identify the exact build when this behaviour changed.
find quote
Sholander Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 1
Post: #911
It goes way back, as already discussed in post #414. It is, when CEC works, the same behavior.
find quote
MONSTA Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Veliky Novgorod
Post: #912
It should be shoveled a hundred builds for several months. Unreal. Better to stay as is. Works more or less.
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,865
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 326
Post: #913
(2017-02-09 17:49)Sholander Wrote:  It goes way back, as already discussed in post #414. It is, when CEC works, the same behavior.

Okay, so #1201 ("CEC code cleanup") introduced this change.
#1209 added "CEC code cleanup 2"
#0104 Reverted both of these so should be good again.
#0113 Contained "CEC code cleanup parts 2-10"
#0124 Contained "CEC code cleanup parts 11-13"

So it would be good if you can confirm #0104 doesn't have the problem.
Then check if #0113 or #0124 introduced it.
find quote
Sholander Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 1
Post: #914
OK, will test tonight.

Btw, the same behaviour is with LibreELEC (Krypton) v7.95.2 BETA

Adding "hdmi_debug=1" in config.txt also makes no difference.
find quote
linkinsoldier Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Jan 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #915
(2017-02-06 16:31)linkinsoldier Wrote:  Thanks milhouse for the awesome builds! It's so much fun to play my old games on the couch with the ps3 controller and not to sit right before the TV with small cables

I have one small question though: can the Games section somehow be modified? I created folder for the roms and choose thumbnail: [Image: 8aecf6a511e1025151bc8a24909f4f91.jpg]

It looks beautiful (to me) but unfortunately it is not displayed on the homescreen (as for example the TV/pvr addons or the movies or the addons in general), but I first have to open the file section (and it looks like other screens with no data). I tried to get the first screen on the home screen... Can anybody help/pinpoint how to do this? I unfortunately wasn't able to find a way!
[Image: b2faf81123787f1f423eca6d1d8ea37f.jpg]

edit: might be interesting:: savegame works perfectly with a gameboy gsme for me! Thanks for adding the save game support!
Should I rather post this in the skin thread?
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-09 20:13 by linkinsoldier.)
find quote
Post Reply