Kodi 18 - LibreELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi (Kodi 18.0)

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 4.83 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,877
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 642
Post: #1726
New LibreELEC.tv Leia build #0512: RPi / RPi2
(Supercedes previous build)

Code:
# uname -a
Linux rpi512 4.11.0 #1 Fri May 12 21:07:07 BST 2017 armv6l GNU/Linux

# vcgencmd version
May  4 2017 16:00:32
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version 809412fa5f5f7d88833e076d71dc329367441601 (clean) (release)

# lsb_release
LibreELEC (Milhouse) - Version: devel-20170512210603-#0512-g5144109 [Build #0512]

# Kodi version
(18.0-ALPHA1 Git:61e98fd). Platform: Linux ARM 32-bit

Based on tip of LibreELEC.tv master (5144109e, changelog) and tip of XBMC master (1f291fac, changelog) with the following modifications: Build Highlights:
  1. New MusicDB schema v64
  2. [Music] Handle duplicate MusicBrainzTrackID within the same album
  3. libnfs fixes
  4. BCM270X_DT: Tidy up mmc, sdhost, sdio overlays
Build Details:
  1. LibreELEC.tv:
    • projects/imx6: use galcore v5 on linux 4.4 (PR:1620, 1 commit, 2 files changed)
    • fix same missing dependencies (PR:932, 2 commits, 15 files changed)
    • imx6/linux: limit ethernet speed to 100mbits which works reliable (PR:1617, 1 commit, 5 files changed)
  2. XBMC:
    • [Music] Handle duplicate MusicBrainzTrackID within the same album (PR:12079, 1 commit, 2 files changed)
    • [depends] libcec: don't query git information (PR:12081, 1 commit, 2 files changed)
    • [cleanup] remove unused fields, variables and enum (PR:12073, 5 commits, 11 files changed)
    • Joysticks: Fix iMON conflicts by allowing users to enable/disable interfaces (PR:11944, 2 commits, 14 files changed)
    • Sorting using artist sort name tags (#11738) (ac10c3d3)
    • [cosmetics] Copyright year update, xbmc.org to kodi.tv (#11976) (46a04aff)
  3. libnfs:
    • Fix crash on timed out mount-nfs calls. (PR:220, 1 commit, 1 file changed)
    • Deliver poll(2) errors to callbacks when running the sync event loop (PR:219, 2 commits, 2 files changed)
    • Only process pdus once when propagating cancellations or errors (PR:217, 2 commits, 1 file changed)
  4. peripheral.joystick:
    • Fix iMON conflicts by allowing settings to enable/disable interfaces (PR:98, 4 commits, 34 files changed)
  5. kernel 4.11.y:
    • New commits in this build:
      • BCM270X_DT: Tidy up mmc, sdhost, sdio overlays (6c51de52)

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
Vimes Offline
Fan
Posts: 308
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #1727
(2017-05-12 22:22)Milhouse Wrote:  
(2017-05-12 22:13)Vimes Wrote:  Thanks for that. I might need to use that if I figure out....

I had installed the latest build here and a working LE 8.01 and ran into issues, it would not recognise any Windows SMB shares.
I then hard reset it and started to add shares via the wired Ethernet connection. Again Windows SMB shares can't be seen nor added. Using the Media servers name or IP address is not helping.

Swapping the card over and going back to the LE 8.01 build and all is well with the Windows SMB shares being there and others can be added, as to what is seen on the network.

I will need to take a look at this again when I have a little time.

With these test builds, which currently use Samba4 and allow Samba to negotiate SMB3 connections in preference to SMB1, you might need to force SMB1 if your server is buggy or misconfigured and claims it supports SMB3 when it doesn't.

See: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2560049

Edit: SMB1 is a security risk. Just ask the NHS...

That gave me a very big clue, thanks.

I used an elevated command prompt on the Server to enable SMB 2 (does 3 as well) and added a reg entry and used a poweshell command to set the smbserverconfiguration. Rebooted and now I have shares Smile It does it from the name of the server as well, rather than from its IP address.
Still got things to sort tho to see how well it works Smile

At least there is progress...!
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-12 23:06 by Vimes.)
find quote
rudrood Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 3
Post: #1728
@Popcornmix,

Is there any progress on the PVR tv channels recognised at first as audio?
Still on build 0502.
find quote
bmonster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Post: #1729
(2017-05-12 22:01)Milhouse Wrote:  
(2017-05-12 21:20)bmonster Wrote:  Hi,

Has the splash screen been removed, not an issue, im just curious.
My pi 3 shows the video, then its blank till kodi loads..started #0505 for me

Thanks Bucky

Not really noticing anything different here... and I've gone back to builds from Oct 2016 (#1001[2016]) while testing this.

In all cases, including #0505, the LE splash screen appears (for 2-3 seconds), the splash video plays normally (for 6 seconds), and then after the video ends Kodi shows a blank black screen for 8 seconds while it loads the GUI (timings from RPi3/arm_freq=1300). The only way to avoid/minimise the blank screen is to use a longer video... or for Kodi to start more quickly.

Might possibly skin related - for example, a lightweight skin might load more quickly (I'm testing with stock Estuary). Or maybe a change in #0505 (stats?) is slowing down the loading process enough to be noticeable (which I'm not seeing with stock Estuary, as this has always been slow).

If you're sure something has changed, can you upload a video with before/after #0505 showing what you are seeing?

Edit: added approximate timings, which don't appear to have changed since at least #0401.

I will see if i can do a video to explain,
i get the le splash then video, and before 0505 i then used to get a kodi v18 L**** splash screen straight after the video, but thats gone..

Thanks
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,877
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 642
Post: #1730
Ah right, I have the Kodi splash turned off with <splash>false</splash> in as.xml so I always see your post-#0505 behaviour with every build. I'll do some more tests with the kodi splash enabled.

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
bmonster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Post: #1731
(2017-05-13 01:29)Milhouse Wrote:  Ah right, I have the Kodi splash turned off with <splash>false</splash> in as.xml so I always see your post-#0505 behaviour with every build. I'll do some more tests with the kodi splash enabled.

Thank you.

You should see it display fine with 0504 and not with 0505 onwards.
I dont think its anything ive done, as everythings stock apart from iplayer and youtube and i dont use advanced settings.
find quote
Qwijibo Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Jan 2017
Reputation: 8
Post: #1732
Hi Milhouse,

Any update on Retroplayer being rebuilt?

Thanks
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,877
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 642
Post: #1733
(2017-05-13 01:54)bmonster Wrote:  
(2017-05-13 01:29)Milhouse Wrote:  Ah right, I have the Kodi splash turned off with <splash>false</splash> in as.xml so I always see your post-#0505 behaviour with every build. I'll do some more tests with the kodi splash enabled.

Thank you.

You should see it display fine with 0504 and not with 0505 onwards.
I dont think its anything ive done, as everythings stock apart from iplayer and youtube and i dont use advanced settings.

OK I see the same different behaviour with #0504/#0505.

With #0505 (and /storage/.config/splash.disable ie no splash video), there is a period of blank black screen before the Kodi splash image appears (but only for a fraction of a second) and then immediately the Kodi GUI loads. With #0504, the Kodi splash appears seamlessly after the LE splash, and then remains visible for 2-3 seconds before the Kodi GUI loads. It's difficult to say if the the Kodi splash image is appearing if you have the splash video enabled, it probably is but only for a very brief period.

The only difference when showing the splash video is that the frame buffer (which is showing the LE splash image) is killed with "/sbin/fbset -g 1 1 1 1 32" *before* kodi.bin is started, while without the splash video the frame buffer is not killed until kodi is started (it's killed from within xbmc/Application.cpp).

So now, in #0505+, it appears as though the Kodi splash image may only be being rendered for one or two frames immediately before the main GUI is rendered.

@popcornmix could the "remove gui" commits be preventing the Kodi splash from being rendered correctly? There is no Kodi splash (or text) displayed during a database migration with #0505 (there is, with #0504), so it looks like the rendering of the splash and (also any text) is now a little broken since #0505.

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
TVPL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #1734
Hi all,

I'm connect Bluetooth Media Button Remote to RPi2 (Leica #505) with USB bluetooth successful.
But can't control player... I turn on debug log but no control event found.
So how can use bluetooth devices for control RPi2 pls ?

Btw, I see an error in debug log:
ERROR: Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/neil/projects/LibreELEC.tv/build.LibreELEC-RPi2.arm-9.0-devel/LibreELEC-settings-ca96ddd/.install_pkg/usr/share/kodi/addons/service.libreelec.settings/resources/lib/modules/bluetooth.py", line 736, in remove_agent
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'remove_from_connection'
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,877
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 642
Post: #1735
(2017-05-13 08:50)TVPL Wrote:  Btw, I see an error in debug log:

Upload your full log.

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
bmonster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Post: #1736
(2017-05-13 03:10)Milhouse Wrote:  
(2017-05-13 01:54)bmonster Wrote:  
(2017-05-13 01:29)Milhouse Wrote:  Ah right, I have the Kodi splash turned off with <splash>false</splash> in as.xml so I always see your post-#0505 behaviour with every build. I'll do some more tests with the kodi splash enabled.

Thank you.

You should see it display fine with 0504 and not with 0505 onwards.
I dont think its anything ive done, as everythings stock apart from iplayer and youtube and i dont use advanced settings.

OK I see the same different behaviour with #0504/#0505.

With #0505 (and /storage/.config/splash.disable ie no splash video), there is a period of blank black screen before the Kodi splash image appears (but only for a fraction of a second) and then immediately the Kodi GUI loads. With #0504, the Kodi splash appears seamlessly after the LE splash, and then remains visible for 2-3 seconds before the Kodi GUI loads. It's difficult to say if the the Kodi splash image is appearing if you have the splash video enabled, it probably is but only for a very brief period.

The only difference when showing the splash video is that the frame buffer (which is showing the LE splash image) is killed with "/sbin/fbset -g 1 1 1 1 32" *before* kodi.bin is started, while without the splash video the frame buffer is not killed until kodi is started (it's killed from within xbmc/Application.cpp).

So now, in #0505+, it appears as though the Kodi splash image may only be being rendered for one or two frames immediately before the main GUI is rendered.

@popcornmix could the "remove gui" commits be preventing the Kodi splash from being rendered correctly? There is no Kodi splash (or text) displayed during a database migration with #0505 (there is, with #0504), so it looks like the rendering of the splash and (also any text) is now a little broken since #0505.

Yer i see this behaviour with 0505 onwards, kodi splash does appear briefly just before gui is shown..

Thank you for looking at this..

Bucky
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,862
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 326
Post: #1737
(2017-05-13 00:25)rudrood Wrote:  Is there any progress on the PVR tv channels recognised at first as audio?
Still on build 0502.

The issue has been present forever so I wouldn't expect any quick fixes.
Opening a trac ticket may get some attention.
find quote
TVPL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #1738
(2017-05-13 11:03)Milhouse Wrote:  
(2017-05-13 08:50)TVPL Wrote:  Btw, I see an error in debug log:

Upload your full log.
log file here: https://pastebin.com/HSncznB2
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,862
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 326
Post: #1739
(2017-05-13 03:10)Milhouse Wrote:  @popcornmix could the "remove gui" commits be preventing the Kodi splash from being rendered correctly? There is no Kodi splash (or text) displayed during a database migration with #0505 (there is, with #0504), so it looks like the rendering of the splash and (also any text) is now a little broken since #0505.

Yes. Splash screen occurs before normal render loop so needs a tweak. Should be okay tonight.
find quote
rudrood Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 3
Post: #1740
(2017-05-13 14:59)popcornmix Wrote:  
(2017-05-13 00:25)rudrood Wrote:  Is there any progress on the PVR tv channels recognised at first as audio?
Still on build 0502.

The issue has been present forever so I wouldn't expect any quick fixes.
Opening a trac ticket may get some attention.

Huh?, started with build 0503, 0502 and before no problem:
Hasn't it something to do with one of these?:
0503:
[PVR] Another round of code cleanup
newclock5 videoplayer updates
find quote
Post Reply