Kodi 18 - LibreELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi (Kodi 18.0)

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 4.83 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bill_orange Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #2491
(2017-07-17 19:29)popcornmix Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 18:42)lfarkas Wrote:  with this image the usb ports are not working on Pi3 while working on Pi2 is it a known bug?

Nope. Anyone else seeing this?

Just tested on my RP3. USB ports work fine. Perhaps the problem is a weak power supply. Does KODI display the lightning bolt?
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-17 19:43 by bill_orange.)
find quote
Diggen85 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #2492
#0715 & #0716
hangs randomly.

This one is from #0716, hangs while watching Live TV with Tvheadend
http://sprunge.us/QPBW
kodi.old.log https://pastebin.com/QjU341BJ - think this is the crashed one
find quote
Malocher Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Location: German
Post: #2493
(2017-07-17 19:58)Diggen85 Wrote:  #0715 & #0716
hangs randomly.

This one is from #0716, hangs while watching Live TV with Tvheadend
http://sprunge.us/QPBW
kodi.old.log https://pastebin.com/QjU341BJ - think this is the crashed one

Have you times the Settings Player / videos all deactivated?
Since I have all settings there, my Live TV ( no Tvheadend ) runs very well.
I had previously also only crashes
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,883
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 643
Post: #2494
(2017-07-17 08:00)CygnusHyoga Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 01:33)Milhouse Wrote:  
(2017-07-16 19:23)CygnusHyoga Wrote:  With the build #0715 in RPi3, I have the same problem like in the #0714...bootup ok, and the freeze without ssh. I've rollback to #0713

No crashlog, no problem.


Hi, I attach the crashlog for #0715

http://sprunge.us/TaAM
Are you able to reproduce using the stock Estuary skin? Looks like your third party Aeon Nox Silvo skin might be using an invalid include that possibly causes Kodi to keel over. Or its the YouTube add-on causing the crash, duff Settings perhaps...

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,883
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 643
Post: #2495
(2017-07-17 19:29)popcornmix Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 18:42)lfarkas Wrote:  with this image the usb ports are not working on Pi3 while working on Pi2 is it a known bug?

Nope. Anyone else seeing this?
Keyboard, IR dongle, 32GB storage working normally here...

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
Diggen85 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #2496
(2017-07-17 20:12)Malocher Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 19:58)Diggen85 Wrote:  #0715 & #0716
hangs randomly.

This one is from #0716, hangs while watching Live TV with Tvheadend
http://sprunge.us/QPBW
kodi.old.log https://pastebin.com/QjU341BJ - think this is the crashed one

Have you times the Settings Player / videos all deactivated?
Since I have all settings there, my Live TV ( no Tvheadend ) runs very well.
I had previously also only crashes

Which settings do you mean? I can't deactivate the Skip-Steps
and deactivating hardware accl. does not work.

Try to get some debug Logs but it hangs when rebooting every 2nd time...
Maybe it is someting network/sdcard related

Edit:
Debug Log while watching Live TV https://pastebin.com/5evU8KU8
Debug Log after restart, with black Screen (ssh works, sounds are there)https://pastebin.com/RA31ZHSs
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-17 20:58 by Diggen85.)
find quote
Doktor-X Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2497
(2017-07-17 14:46)popcornmix Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 14:37)Doktor-X Wrote:  am i only one that is having problem installing newer build after 504 on pi1?

Only one I've heard of. Perhaps you could describe the problem.

i dont know what is going on i'm using pi1 with 256mb of ram and latest release that is working is build 504 all new releases have almost the same bug that i cant play video normaly, after some time of playing or even before video even starts pi frozes and becomes unresponsive and i need to revert back to build 504 so that i can use it normaly, i dont know what is problem is it power delivery or some sort of firmware problem can i use some hack in confg.txt?
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-17 21:07 by Doktor-X.)
find quote
Malocher Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Location: German
Post: #2498
(2017-07-17 20:51)Diggen85 Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 20:12)Malocher Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 19:58)Diggen85 Wrote:  #0715 & #0716
hangs randomly.

This one is from #0716, hangs while watching Live TV with Tvheadend
http://sprunge.us/QPBW
kodi.old.log https://pastebin.com/QjU341BJ - think this is the crashed one

Have you times the Settings Player / videos all deactivated?
Since I have all settings there, my Live TV ( no Tvheadend ) runs very well.
I had previously also only crashes

Which settings do you mean? I can't deactivate the Skip-Steps
and deactivating hardware accl. does not work.

Try to get some debug Logs but it hangs when rebooting every 2nd time...
Maybe it is someting network/sdcard related

Edit:
Debug Log while watching Live TV https://pastebin.com/5evU8KU8
Debug Log after restart, with black Screen (ssh works, sounds are there)https://pastebin.com/RA31ZHSs

Adjust the refresh rate and Sync with the screen deactivate
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,883
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 643
Post: #2499
(2017-07-17 13:47)canadagolffan Wrote:  Updating to 0717R as you suggested:

Forcing back an AC connection, its working great! 15 minutes in, doing some seeking, pausing, rewinding, etc, I have not yet seen one pause/hang. (add another 30 minues of playing, and still not one hang/pause)

Iperf tests also giving 250+ mbps, so its definitely an AC connection.

Tests were done on ~11mbps h264 and a 24 mbps h264 mkvs

No log attached, but if you want one, I can. No pings dropped either.

Wish others could test though, as its wireless, lots of other factors, lol. But as of now, I would say its perfect performance.

Code:
--- 192.168.2.168 ping statistics ---
452 packets transmitted, 452 received, 0% packet loss, time 451538ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 1.307/3.034/60.708/4.362 ms

Thanks for the feedback, that sounds very positive. There's only one downside which is that this new driver doesn't support the rtl8821au and some other chipsets, but it's difficult to know how much of an issue this might be as I've no visibility on Realtek chipset usage within the LibreELEC community. As you say it would be good to get others to help test, and switching over to this new driver is likely to be the best way to quickly identify issues and any users that no longer have support for their hardware. I'll switch over to the new driver in the Tuesday night build and cross my fingers...

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,883
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 643
Post: #2500
New LibreELEC.tv Leia build #0717: RPi / RPi2
(Supercedes previous build)

Code:
# uname -a
Linux rpi512 4.12.2 #1 Mon Jul 17 21:06:10 BST 2017 armv6l GNU/Linux

# vcgencmd version
Jul 11 2017 12:33:03
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version aabbc2f1c981c560a6549fba5e3a0425145f8e02 (tainted) (release)

# lsb_release
LibreELEC (Milhouse): devel-20170717210504-#0717-gd8db9d5 [Build #0717]

# Kodi version
(18.0-ALPHA1 Git:734cda1). Platform: Linux ARM 32-bit

Based on tip of LibreELEC.tv master (d8db9d5b, changelog) and tip of XBMC master (84cd8cdf, changelog) with the following modifications: Build Highlights:
  1. linux: Revert "bcm2835-mmc: Fix DMA usage"
  2. kodi: [linux] treat rbpi as linux not a separate platform
  3. Fix several settings that broke after the last few ServiceManager refactorings
Build Details:
  1. XBMC:
    • [xbmc][depends][win32] Fix python that broke in #12502 (PR:12512, 1 commit, 7 files changed)
    • [xbmc][win32] Fix a crash for subtitle rendering in 4k on amd cards (PR:12516, 1 commit, 4 files changed)
    • [linux] treat rbpi as linux not a separate platform (PR:12021, 14 commits, 55 files changed)
    • [VideoPlayer] WinRenderer: re-work video rendering (PR:12475, 27 commits, 47 files changed)
    • Fix 3d mode switching for Wetek HUB on Libreelec (PR:12316, 2 commits, 5 files changed)
  2. newclock5:
    • New commits in this build:
      • Revert "[depends] bump libbluray to version 1.0.1" (3d74e441)
      • MMALFFmpeg: Include GPU alignment requirements in allocated buffer size (b9fb1191)
  3. kernel 4.12.y:
    • New commits in this build:
      • Revert "bcm2835-mmc: Fix DMA usage" (d52c1ae3)
  4. Additional commits/pull requests/changes not yet merged upstream:
    • Added: [env] PR:1801: addons: remove duplicated install code
    • Added: [env] PR:1802: v4l-utils: fix racy udev rule
    • Added: [pkg] PR:12513: Fix several settings that broke after the last few ServiceManager refactorings

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
bill_orange Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #2501
(2017-07-17 17:06)bill_orange Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 15:42)popcornmix Wrote:  Phil has spotted a problem with a kernel commit which could cause occasional failure to boot on Pi0W and Pi3. He's working on it - we'll either have a fix or revert that commit for next build.

I am also experiencing KODI hangs. I am not sure if it is the same problem. When I try to load an update KODI hangs about a third of the way in. I tried loading the update by copying it into .update using WinSCP. Same thing. I turned off wireless, turned on wired and hooked up an access point. All was then well. I looked in temp for the relevant crashlog. I am not sure if I caught it.

I am running a RP3. This problem started about three builds ago. Perhaps the problem is that new network driver. If it is, every RP3 user ought to have the same problem.


Crashlog: https://1drv.ms/u/s!AmXKqAwyCrbxheUWpuYvyttQpN6W0g

Bill

Build #0717 fixes my problem, although network traffic speeds seem slightly slower and more erratic. If anything build #0717r makes it worse. With #0717r, I froze seconds into the #0717 download.

All testing with RP3.
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-17 23:38 by bill_orange.)
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,883
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 643
Post: #2502
(2017-07-17 23:37)bill_orange Wrote:  Build #0717 fixes my problem, although network traffic speeds seem slightly slower and more erratic. If anything build #0717r makes it worse. With #0717r, I froze seconds into the #0717 download.

All testing with RP3.

What Wifi module/hardware are you using? The only change in #0717r (compared with #0716) is the replacement rtl8812au wifi driver, and the Kodi fix from @garbear. If your WiFi is not using thr rtl8812au driver then you should not see any difference in network performance.

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-18 00:34 by Milhouse.)
find quote
bill_orange Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #2503
(2017-07-18 00:32)Milhouse Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 23:37)bill_orange Wrote:  Build #0717 fixes my problem, although network traffic speeds seem slightly slower and more erratic. If anything build #0717r makes it worse. With #0717r, I froze seconds into the #0717 download.

All testing with RP3.

What Wifi module/hardware are you using? The only change in #0717r (compared with #0716) is the replacement rtl8812au wifi driver, and the Kodi fix from @garbear. If your WiFi is not using thr rtl8812au driver then you should not see any difference in network performance.

Its a Broadcom chip. That's about all I know. Build #717r did not work. Build #0716 did not work. Build #0717 works fine.

I ran grep and got this:

LibreELEC:~ # dmesg | grep brcm
[ 4.448877] usbcore: registered new interface driver brcmfmac
[ 4.786611] brcmfmac: brcmf_c_preinit_dcmds: Firmware version = wl0: Aug 29 2016 20:48:16 version 7.45.41.26 (r640327) FWID 01-4527cfab
[ 5.030123] brcmfmac: power management disabled

Don't know if that helps.
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,883
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 643
Post: #2504
@bill_orange Sounds like you're using the built-in RPi3 WiFi. In that case it's most likely the DMA fix in #0717 that has resolved whatever issue you had in #0716/#0717r.

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
lfarkas Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #2505
(2017-07-17 19:43)bill_orange Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 19:29)popcornmix Wrote:  
(2017-07-17 18:42)lfarkas Wrote:  with this image the usb ports are not working on Pi3 while working on Pi2 is it a known bug?

Nope. Anyone else seeing this?

Just tested on my RP3. USB ports work fine. Perhaps the problem is a weak power supply. Does KODI display the lightning bolt?

no it doesn't display the lightning bolt, anyway it's the original rpi power supply.
I've tested it with 2 different Pi3 and none of the usb ports are working. although it can be the problem of the 2 pi3 boards...
find quote
Post Reply