Kodi 18 - LibreELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi (Kodi 18.0)

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 4.83 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,862
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 326
Post: #2686
(2017-07-30 11:40)Pienoet Wrote:  Does a pi3 need to overclock to play HEVC 1080p and 720p netflix?

Netflix doesn't provide HEVC. It uses an external software decoder (H.264). Pi3 can play 720p without overclock. 1080p is too much for that decoder.

I've had no trouble with 1080p 8-bit HEVC on a Pi3 with no overclock.
Overclocking can help with 10-bit content.
It can help with high bitrate stuff (although I've only found test files that require this - normal encodes aren't generally high enough bitrate to cause an issue).
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,862
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 326
Post: #2687
(2017-07-30 09:42)polo_joe Wrote:  Does overclocking sdcard not work anymore? I get some errors in dmesg.

I've still overclocking (dtoverlay=sdtweak,overclock_50=83) without problems or errors in dmesg log.
I don't believe anything has changed here.
find quote
polo_joe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #2688
(2017-07-30 13:54)popcornmix Wrote:  
(2017-07-30 09:42)polo_joe Wrote:  Does overclocking sdcard not work anymore? I get some errors in dmesg.

I've still overclocking (dtoverlay=sdtweak,overclock_50=83) without problems or errors in dmesg log.
I don't believe anything has changed here.

Is something wrong with my config.txt?
http://sprunge.us/XhSJ

Edit: After power cycle all back to normal.
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-30 14:38 by polo_joe.)
find quote
J_E_F_F Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #2689
(2017-07-30 13:54)popcornmix Wrote:  I've still overclocking (dtoverlay=sdtweak,overclock_50=83) without problems or errors in dmesg log.
I don't believe anything has changed here.

Is there a preferred method, for this? I use dtparam=sd_overclock=83 on my RPi3 should that be changed to the dtoverlay method you posted?
find quote
4ch3los Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #2690
Hey Friends,
am i the only person having trouble with the onboard Bluetooth chip of the rpi3?

After turning it on in the libreelec settings, it says: "No Bluetooth adapter found."
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,862
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 326
Post: #2691
(2017-07-30 16:00)J_E_F_F Wrote:  Is there a preferred method, for this? I use dtparam=sd_overclock=83 on my RPi3 should that be changed to the dtoverlay method you posted?

I believe sdtweak is the recommended way of specifying it.
Otherwise you may stop wifi from working.
find quote
Sholander Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 1
Post: #2692
(2017-07-30 01:22)Pienoet Wrote:  Thank you for this great info.

I will remove core_freq and gpu_freq form my settings.

I don't think that is what @Milhouse meant when he wrote:

"I also don't think you need core_freq AND gpu_freq - gpu_freq will configure the core_freq."

I think that you should keep "gpu_freq" and remove only "core_freq".
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-30 19:05 by Sholander.)
find quote
Pienoet Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #2693
(2017-07-30 13:52)popcornmix Wrote:  
(2017-07-30 11:40)Pienoet Wrote:  Does a pi3 need to overclock to play HEVC 1080p and 720p netflix?

Netflix doesn't provide HEVC. It uses an external software decoder (H.264). Pi3 can play 720p without overclock. 1080p is too much for that decoder.

I've had no trouble with 1080p 8-bit HEVC on a Pi3 with no overclock.
Overclocking can help with 10-bit content.
It can help with high bitrate stuff (although I've only found test files that require this - normal encodes aren't generally high enough bitrate to cause an issue).

Thanks!

rpi3 | LE9 Leia | Milhouse Testbuilds
2x odroid C2 | LE8.xx Krypton | LE9 Leia | Raybuntu's Community Build.
odroid XU4 | ubuntu-16.04.2-minimal-odroid-xu4
odroid XU4Q | ubuntu-16.04.0-minimal-odroid-xu4 | TVheadendserver
find quote
busfahrer416 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #2694
I have since some days problems to start films from DMAX-addon or Netflix-addon. I choose the film, then I start the film, but nothing is happen.

Here is the log-file: http://sprunge.us/KIcC

Can someone help me?

Thanks!
Thomas
find quote
Pienoet Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #2695
(2017-07-30 19:04)Sholander Wrote:  
(2017-07-30 01:22)Pienoet Wrote:  Thank you for this great info.

I will remove core_freq and gpu_freq form my settings.

I don't think that is what @Milhouse meant when he wrote:

"I also don't think you need core_freq AND gpu_freq - gpu_freq will configure the core_freq."

I think that you should keep "gpu_freq" and remove only "core_freq".

Thanks will do thatBlush

rpi3 | LE9 Leia | Milhouse Testbuilds
2x odroid C2 | LE8.xx Krypton | LE9 Leia | Raybuntu's Community Build.
odroid XU4 | ubuntu-16.04.2-minimal-odroid-xu4
odroid XU4Q | ubuntu-16.04.0-minimal-odroid-xu4 | TVheadendserver
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,877
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 642
Post: #2696
(2017-07-30 19:37)busfahrer416 Wrote:  I have since some days problems to start films from DMAX-addon or Netflix-addon. I choose the film, then I start the film, but nothing is happen.

Here is the log-file: http://sprunge.us/KIcC

Can someone help me?

Thanks!
Thomas

I've no problems here (UK) with Netflix (plugin.video.netflix) and Amazon (plugin.video.prime_instant) with #0729.

You seem to be using the Sandmann79 "plugin.video.amazon" addon for Amazon which appears to be having issues with Kodi settings. Make sure you're using the latest version (currently 1.8.2, released today, about 30 minutes ago, in fact). If the issue with settings continues you should report it to Sandmann79.

If you continue to have problems can you provide a debug log (wiki) when playing a video from Netflix, as that's known to be working (at least for me, in the UK).

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-30 21:39 by Milhouse.)
find quote
Cináed Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #2697
Hi,

i updated my Pi to #0729 coming from official build 8.0.2 and have the following problem:

I've connected a AVM FRITZ!WLAN Stick N v2 (Chipset Ralink RT5572) to my RPi 2. When i try to activate the wireless network in the LibreELEC settings, nothing happens (the setting is activated for 0.1 seconds but goes instantly back to off). Here's my debug log:

http://sprunge.us/JfVK

I press the enter button on my keyboard at 20:06:15.174.

I tried #0714 too, with the same result.
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,877
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 642
Post: #2698
New LibreELEC.tv Leia build #0730: RPi / RPi2
(Supercedes previous build)

Code:
# uname -a
Linux rpi512 4.12.4 #1 Sun Jul 30 21:05:31 BST 2017 armv6l GNU/Linux

# vcgencmd version
Jul 28 2017 20:20:00
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version 6716e816fd1614c326071d86188976b5fbf9c22b (clean) (release)

# lsb_release
LibreELEC (Milhouse): devel-20170730210421-#0730-g34d39c5 [Build #0730]

# Kodi version
(18.0-ALPHA1 Git:f1dd912). Platform: Linux ARM 32-bit

Based on tip of LibreELEC.tv master (34d39c5c, changelog) and tip of XBMC master (f1dd912e, changelog) with the following modifications: Build Highlights:
  1. Restore pvr.vbox and inputstream.rtmp
Build Details:
  1. LibreELEC.tv:
    • Emby: update to 3.2.26.0 (PR:1840, 1 commit, 2 files changed)
  2. XBMC:
    • add variable for guilock - ref cae2c40cc66cec439ba3a6e29a82a4d5a2e80e72 (PR:12590, 1 commit, 4 files changed)
    • FileItem, fix dynamic path (PR:12591, 1 commit, 1 file changed)
    • fixed: store created stream in member (PR:12589, 1 commit, 1 file changed)
  3. inputstream.adaptive:
    • cmake: Check for void pointer size instead generator for 32/64 detection (163f7b3b)
  4. inputstream.rtmp:

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 12,877
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 642
Post: #2699
(2017-07-30 22:23)Cináed Wrote:  Hi,

i updated my Pi to #0729 coming from official build 8.0.2 and have the following problem:

I've connected a AVM FRITZ!WLAN Stick N v2 (Chipset Ralink RT5572) to my RPi 2. When i try to activate the wireless network in the LibreELEC settings, nothing happens (the setting is activated for 0.1 seconds but goes instantly back to off). Here's my debug log:

http://sprunge.us/JfVK

I press the enter button on my keyboard at 20:06:15.174.

I tried #0714 too, with the same result.

Can you connect your WiFi dongle, boot into #0729 (or #0730) then upload the latest logfile zip from the "Logfiles" Samba share on your RPi - you may need a wired connection to access the Samba shares.

It would also be useful if you are able to boot into LibreELEC 8.0.2 and again upload the latest logfile zip, for comparison purposes.

Then post links (dropbox, googledrive etc.) for the two zip files.

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
ibrahim83 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #2700
(2017-07-30 23:08)Milhouse Wrote:  
(2017-07-30 22:23)Cináed Wrote:  Hi,

i updated my Pi to #0729 coming from official build 8.0.2 and have the following problem:

I've connected a AVM FRITZ!WLAN Stick N v2 (Chipset Ralink RT5572) to my RPi 2. When i try to activate the wireless network in the LibreELEC settings, nothing happens (the setting is activated for 0.1 seconds but goes instantly back to off). Here's my debug log:

http://sprunge.us/JfVK

I press the enter button on my keyboard at 20:06:15.174.

I tried #0714 too, with the same result.

Can you connect your WiFi dongle, boot into #0729 (or #0730) then upload the latest logfile zip from the "Logfiles" Samba share on your RPi - you may need a wired connection to access the Samba shares.

It would also be useful if you are able to boot into LibreELEC 8.0.2 and again upload the latest logfile zip, for comparison purposes.

Then post links (dropbox, googledrive etc.) for the two zip files.

i have the similar problem on Ralink RT5370 Wireless Adapter since #0522 on RP2,

i can activate my Wireless but when i go to connection tab its blank there is no networks to connect can you help plz.
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-31 03:35 by ibrahim83.)
find quote
Post Reply