Kodi 18 - LibreELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi (Kodi 18.0)

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 4.86 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
polo_joe Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #3136
I'm experiencing high memory usage in latest builds. My GPU mem is set to 320, I have tvheadend running on same machine. After some hours watching livetv I have memory usage of more than 40%.

Anyone else experiencing this?
find quote
carlo13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3137
After upgrading from #0830 to #0831 and finally with #0901 as well I'm getting the on screen message:

"incopatible add-ons
The following add-ons are incompatible with this version of Kodi and have been automatically disabled: Libretro Compatibility"

And therefor I'm not able to start any game anymore.

Here's the log right after first start after update has been completed.:
http://sprunge.us/Kfeg
find quote
SpokV Offline
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #3138
(2017-09-02 18:44)polo_joe Wrote:  I'm experiencing high memory usage in latest builds. My GPU mem is set to 320, I have tvheadend running on same machine. After some hours watching livetv I have memory usage of more than 40%.

Anyone else experiencing this?

Same here. But no one here cares....
find quote
pyrodex Offline
Fan
Posts: 349
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #3139
(2017-09-02 21:47)SpokV Wrote:  
(2017-09-02 18:44)polo_joe Wrote:  I'm experiencing high memory usage in latest builds. My GPU mem is set to 320, I have tvheadend running on same machine. After some hours watching livetv I have memory usage of more than 40%.

Anyone else experiencing this?

Same here. But no one here cares....


People put their extra time into this work and it isn’t nice to say no one cares. Maybe you should reflect on all the hard work that goes into this FREE project.


Sent from my iPhone (typie typie)

HTPC(s): All running LibreELEC
  • RPI3 x2
  • RPI2 x2
NAS: Ubuntu LTS | 32TB on Areca 1880 | NFS/CIFS
find quote
SpokV Offline
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #3140
(2017-09-02 21:56)pyrodex Wrote:  
(2017-09-02 21:47)SpokV Wrote:  
(2017-09-02 18:44)polo_joe Wrote:  I'm experiencing high memory usage in latest builds. My GPU mem is set to 320, I have tvheadend running on same machine. After some hours watching livetv I have memory usage of more than 40%.

Anyone else experiencing this?

Same here. But no one here cares....


People put their extra time into this work and it isn’t nice to say no one cares. Maybe you should reflect on all the hard work that goes into this FREE project.


Sent from my iPhone (typie typie)

By no means, no disrespect for the amazing work done here. Just putting plain fact that i tried to raise this issue (and others) with no response what so ever. If I'm not qualified for testing just let me know...
(This post was last modified: 2017-09-02 22:06 by SpokV.)
find quote
smp1 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #3141
I think the "high" memory usage after a few hours is normal. I see this behavior in all versions of Kodi/LE, not just recent LE9 builds.
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 13,232
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 671
Post: #3142
(2017-09-02 19:47)carlo13 Wrote:  After upgrading from #0830 to #0831 and finally with #0901 as well I'm getting the on screen message:

"incopatible add-ons
The following add-ons are incompatible with this version of Kodi and have been automatically disabled: Libretro Compatibility"

And therefor I'm not able to start any game anymore.

Here's the log right after first start after update has been completed.:
http://sprunge.us/Kfeg

A recent API change in #0831 has broken a third-party binary addons, which includes all the game addons. Disable them for now, they'll need to be rebuilt and the repository updated.

Or stick with #0830 until the repository addon is refreshed (I have no ETA when this will happen).

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 13,232
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 671
Post: #3143
New LibreELEC.tv Leia build #0902: RPi / RPi2
(Supercedes previous build)

Code:
# uname -a
Linux rpi512 4.12.10 #1 Sat Sep 2 23:07:34 BST 2017 armv6l GNU/Linux

# vcgencmd version
Aug 22 2017 14:20:40
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version eb51b8b84ec11d98562dfbb7be53cdd216c0ea4c (clean) (release)

# lsb_release
LibreELEC (Milhouse): devel-20170902230629-#0902-g7b1be4a [Build #0902]

# Kodi version
(18.0-ALPHA1 Git:2efa7aa). Platform: Linux ARM 32-bit

Based on tip of LibreELEC.tv master (7b1be4a, changelog) and tip of XBMC master (2efa7aa, changelog) with the following modifications: Build Highlights:
  1. [PVR] Change context menu items for 'in progress' recordings.
  2. RTL8812AU: allow LED on/of
Build Details:
  1. LibreELEC.tv:
    • Package Updates: intel-vaapi-driver, libva and libva-utils to 1.8.3 (PR:1918, 3 commits, 3 files changed)
      • intel-vaapi-driver: update to intel-vaapi-driver-1.8.3
      • libva: update to libva-1.8.3
      • libva-utils: update to libva-utils-1.8.3
    • scripts/unpack: use git apply whenever patch includes a renamed file (PR:1936, 1 commit, 1 file changed)
    • libxslt: do not refer to xlocale.h (PR:1921, 1 commit, 1 file changed)
  2. XBMC:
    • ActiveAE: Avoid resetting error interval (PR:12759, 1 commit, 2 files changed)
    • [PVR] Change context menu items for 'in progress' recordings. (PR:12763, 1 commit, 2 files changed)
    • [PVR] Implement CPVRGUIActions::StopRecording for recording items. (PR:12764, 1 commit, 3 files changed)
  3. newclock5:
    • Commits no longer in build:
      • Revert "AE: improve tempo filter" (72ca8ca3)
      • Revert "Revert "AE: improve tempo filter"" (e3dba69d)
      • ActiveAE: Avoid resetting error interval (ab56ccf9)
      • FFMPEG: Fixes rbpi compilation (9fdc804d)
  4. Additional commits/pull requests/changes not yet merged upstream:
    • Added: [env] PR:1940: RTL8812AU: update to RTL8812AU-8e7ccba

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
ksooo Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 47
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Post: #3144
(2017-09-02 17:47)bmonster Wrote:  Hi,

Not sure if this is a kodi or estuary issue, when watching a pvr recording and you press i for the osd, the programme name is missing from the top left corner just above the channel name.

Regards

Bucky..


Confirming the issue. I will look into it and will come up with a fix. Thanks for reporting.
find quote
MikeKL Offline
Fan
Posts: 450
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 58
Post: #3145
(2017-09-02 14:37)Milhouse Wrote:  
(2017-09-02 08:38)Aux_ Wrote:  Someone else has problem with the new tvheadend #0901 ?
That's a very good question...
Installed #0902 this morning then installed corresponding milhouse build of tvheadend backend addon
(LibreELEC Tvh-addon v9.0.112-#0902-milhouse-v4.2.3-39-ge195d18)

Tvheadend did not appear to have any problems with a switch back from #0824-milhouse-v4.3-358-g99d191a to #0902-milhouse-v4.2.3-39-ge195d18
(working ok in my usage case, Live TV and web access to tvheadend server etc.)

After checking everything running ok for a few minutes I performed a full reboot of rpi2 and upon 1st "reboot" after installing #0902 and corresponding tvheadend backend; I had a kodi crash and restart (crash only occurred once before kodi re-started ok without any further crashes occurring during tvheadend backend/frontend synchronization? on rpi2)

kodi crashlog

Everything running normally after the single kodi crash.

rPi 3, SanDisk Ultra 8Gb SD & Milhouse LE TestBuild (Kodi 18) -> Onkyo AV -> Philips 42" LCD TV
(This post was last modified: 2017-09-03 11:36 by MikeKL.)
find quote
Aux_ Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 1
Location: Germany / BW
Post: #3146
@MikeKL,

If you had not read yet, I could already solve the issue -->> https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid...pid2641321

[ 2x RPi2, 2x RPi3 ]
[ LE Testbuilds for RaspberryPi (Kodi 18.0) ]
[ Marantz NR1506 ]
[ Panasonic TX-50EXW784 ]
[ NAS @ OMV 3.0.8x (Erasmus) on Banana Pi ]
[ ODROID C2 + wrxtasy's LE 8.0 ]
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,925
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 331
Post: #3147
(2017-09-02 18:44)polo_joe Wrote:  I'm experiencing high memory usage in latest builds. My GPU mem is set to 320, I have tvheadend running on same machine. After some hours watching livetv I have memory usage of more than 40%.

Linux will use free memory for the file cache so it's quite normal for free memory to reduce over time (cached memory will be freed up when it is actually needed).
Unless you are saying the memory usage gets to 100% and then crashes I don't think there is an issue here.

Also if you believe this is an issue in "latest builds" then identifying the first build with the issue would be useful as we can closely look at the changes in that build.
find quote
MikeKL Offline
Fan
Posts: 450
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 58
Post: #3148
(2017-09-03 12:39)Aux_ Wrote:  @MikeKL,

If you had not read yet, I could already solve the issue -->> https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid...pid2641321
@Aux_ Yes did read your post, before posting mine with understanding issue was more probably related to your usage/environment case.
Just thought still useful to continually update to latest builds (with recent step back from 4.3 to 4.2) and provide feedback.
(As I continue to utilize Tvheadend frontend/backend at latest Leia related build standard on same rpi2 device)

rPi 3, SanDisk Ultra 8Gb SD & Milhouse LE TestBuild (Kodi 18) -> Onkyo AV -> Philips 42" LCD TV
(This post was last modified: 2017-09-03 14:01 by MikeKL.)
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 13,232
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 671
Post: #3149
New LibreELEC.tv Leia build #0903: RPi / RPi2
(Supercedes previous build)

Code:
# uname -a
Linux rpi512 4.12.10 #1 Sun Sep 3 21:04:51 BST 2017 armv6l GNU/Linux

# vcgencmd version
Aug 22 2017 14:20:40
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version eb51b8b84ec11d98562dfbb7be53cdd216c0ea4c (clean) (release)

# lsb_release
LibreELEC (Milhouse): devel-20170903210335-#0903-g7b1be4a [Build #0903]

# Kodi version
(18.0-ALPHA1 Git:7161dc0). Platform: Linux ARM 32-bit

Based on tip of LibreELEC.tv master (7b1be4a, changelog) and tip of XBMC master (7161dc0, changelog) with the following modifications: Build Highlights:
  1. [PVR] Fix title missing in recordings OSD.
  2. Add contextmenu option to remove resume points
Build Details:
  1. XBMC:
    • VideoPlayer: vdpau - fix black screen after reset (PR:12756, 1 commit, 5 files changed)
    • [addons] change binary callbacks (PR:12596, 2 commits, 4 files changed)
  2. Additional commits/pull requests/changes not yet merged upstream:
    • Added: [env] PR:1943: samba: ensure new properties are populated on upgrade
    • Added: [pkg] PR:12708: Add contextmenu option to remove resume points
    • Added: [pkg] PR:12766: [PVR] Fix title missing in recordings OSD.

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
Cosmicbase Offline
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 1
Location: Regensburg
Post: #3150
(2017-08-13 12:42)Aux_ Wrote:  
(2017-08-13 10:15)Cosmicbase Wrote:  
(2017-08-12 01:44)rudrood Wrote:  Reported earlier (link), buffering is indeed anoying when zapping through the channels.
Recording still works when you start it via contextmenu.

Yes, I know this has been repeatedly reported. Only since 20 days or since the # 0722 nothing has been changed.
I can not see so sensible TV, this is the problem.

Is this a problem for you to return to the last working build?
You cann update wen the issue has been eliminated

@ksoo Can you look over the issue. Would be great if this would run again without the buffering.
find quote
Post Reply