Concept - Horizon

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
smitchell6879 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 780
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 18
Post: #31
Gifs do work I used them in the fireworks effect for holiday mod in madnox..... If your using for skin I would stay short as possible.

Windows 10/MySQL/Xiaomi Mi Box
[WIP] UNIPLEX
Madnox Holiday Mod
find quote
Swageroni_ Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 5
Post: #32
It wont be a cluster of gifs. IF you look at the FireTV, when u stay on a movie or a button a shiny effect starts to loop. I would like to know if that's possible using a resisable gif so I can make it fit to anything starting from posters to little buttons.
(This post was last modified: 2017-01-12 20:53 by Swageroni_.)
find quote
smitchell6879 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 780
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 18
Post: #33
I haven't tried packing a gif but I do know that they will work.. only thing with a gif is time if and it's start point... If you make the gifs you shouldn't have an issue though because you can set its stat point.

Windows 10/MySQL/Xiaomi Mi Box
[WIP] UNIPLEX
Madnox Holiday Mod
find quote
Swageroni_ Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 5
Post: #34
This is the effect I was thinking of. I can ditch it on movies But i'd like it on buttons, like you can see on the main menu.

***Right click on the video and select "loop" ***



(This post was last modified: 2017-01-13 13:52 by Swageroni_.)
find quote
thedeadman Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 635
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 22
Location: U.K
Post: #35
Very tricky. I reckon you could do the menu items easily, but the diagonal movement across the posters might not be possible.

I may be wrong, but I strongly suspect an overlaid gif animation won't have the smoothness that you're looking for. if it were me, i'd start experimenting with the in built animation engine, using the onfocus trigger in a list control to move a small transparent .png across the base image.

The problem with the diagonal movement on the posters is that the overlay is incrementally 'revealed' as it moves across the poster, and Kodi doesn't allow for the masking that would be required to hide content that is outside the 'box' of the poster. Sorry if that's not exactly clear - it's rather difficult to explain! Bottom line: it's gonna get very hacky, it might well not be possible.

Bitcoin donations: 1Hvo9rWzhAVbuPrshgaGZaD7qcLFTCPuiv

[Skin] Pellucid
[Skin] Maximinimalism
find quote
badaas Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 593
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 17
Post: #36
If you have Jarvis, install skin.eunique, goto skin settings, enable 'Smoke machine'.
https://github.com/im85288/skin.eunique


Then go to /kodi/addons/skin.eunique/extras/cerberus, you will 145 images saved as transparents frames. They are then overlayed via a multiimage control.

More or less what you are asking Wink

https://github.com/im85288/skin.eunique/...s/cerberus

EDIT! Sorry you want it over buttons/items, but same can be applied via a multiimage shown last with transparent png's
(This post was last modified: 2017-01-13 17:40 by badaas.)
find quote
jurialmunkey Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,506
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 227
Post: #37
Yeah multiimage with transparent png frames is far superior to gif for animation as it will work on all machines - gif doesn't work properly on Android if I remember correctly.
find quote
BigNoid Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,881
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 153
Location: Below sea level
Post: #38
Only downside of that is that it is rendered on screen all the time, effectively disabling dirty regions. This can cause higher CPU usage as the full screen is rendered at 60fps all the time.
find quote
smitchell6879 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 780
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 18
Post: #39
Which is rendered on screen at all times the multiimage or the gif... And would visible tag make is so it wasn't render until condition was meet?

Windows 10/MySQL/Xiaomi Mi Box
[WIP] UNIPLEX
Madnox Holiday Mod
find quote
Swageroni_ Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 5
Post: #40
At this point the best solution is to forget about it I think! Either way thanks for the explanations guys! Appreciated.
find quote
badaas Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 593
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 17
Post: #41
Control fade label get control id in a var another way I'm thinking.
find quote
Wondah Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
Amazing project i think this is the best can i saw!
To return to the effect, I think on the contrary that on the posters its very nice and it does not interfere with the navigation
find quote
Swageroni_ Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 5
Post: #43
*ignore*
(This post was last modified: 2017-01-16 20:06 by Swageroni_.)
find quote
Wondah Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
5 October 2020? i hope is not the release date Big Grin
find quote
Swageroni_ Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 5
Post: #45
Guys U have to bear with me, But this is critical since the main menu, for me, dictates how the whole skin will look. Added a little bit more depth to it... Once I get that right I'm gonna stop posting so many images of the same thing :/
Also @Wondah I fixed that for you! Didn't want to panic anyone hehe

[Image: jG4UWSK.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2017-01-16 20:08 by Swageroni_.)
find quote