Req Kodi and tag handling
If the powers that be considers this topic to be in the wrong place, feel free to move the thread to a proper place.
How Kodi handles/reads tags in regards to the music library appears to be a constant problem and I am curious about how something so simple could be such a problem? I'm a amateur programmer at best and I haven't tried looking into the kodi code at all, so I won't try telling anyone how to do coding properly. No hubris...
I will however ask about the underlying issues that might not be entirely transparent. What is the intent with the current strategy?
Today tags can hold several entries for artists and such. String identification is doable so identifying a "feat." in an artist tag shouldn't cause much problem.
Is there a conscious decision to list artist collaborations as a separate list item or is that a relic that shouldn't be there?
Why not use albumartist and allow for several entries? It would be easy to sort under each of the artists listed and you would avoid the mess we have today? If you have a main artist and other featured artists this could easily be handled with the artists tag on a track by track basis.
I don't want to step on any toes or trivialize anything but to me this seems like a very simple thing to handle in a database?
I've also noticed that old database entries remain even after you run a clean operation? And new tags aren't updated or cause problems together with old tags not cleaned out from the database? Maybe a refresh tags action could be added to the next generation?
So, is today's mess intentional or is it accidental?
For multiple artists only the slash delimiter is used by default, but you can add anything you like including "feat." to the advancedsetting.xml file.

We also do use only album artist for your artist list if you so wish, to do so disable the "Show all song and album artists" setting.
Moving thread to a more appropriate place.