Mac OS X - Cannot open kodi 17 on mac

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
kingpin58 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I just installed Kodi 17 on my mac which is running sierra 10.12.2 It would not allow because it was from a undeveloped website,so I managed to change my gatekeeper to allow it,but when I try to open Kodi.I keep getting error message that kodi quit unexpectedly. I have reinstalled, restarted,and all the obvious things in order to resolve the issue,I even contacted mac,but was unable to find a fix.I had kodi 16.1 jarvis working flawlessly before this,but I removed it,and now I have nothing.Can anyone help me?
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,034
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 18
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #2
Post a link to your crash report.

ASUS Chromebox M004U (LibreELEC 7.0.2/Aeon Nox SiLVO)--->HDMI--->Onkyo TX-NR646--->HDMI--->Panasonic P65VT30
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-06 23:03 by wgstarks.)
find quote
BKM77 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Hello.

I Had the same issue here on a 2011 MacBook Pro, and I noticed they did not reply with a report yet, so I guess I will include mine.

I'm not sure if this is the exact protocol, because you mentioned a LINK to the crash report but... I'm not 100% sure how to do that.
Let me know if I need to redo my reply.

MOD EDIT - pastebin.log

http://pastebin.com/i9y6DXZq
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-09 06:55 by wrxtasy.)
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,034
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 18
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #4
The usual way would be to post it on a host site like pastebin.com and then link it here.

ASUS Chromebox M004U (LibreELEC 7.0.2/Aeon Nox SiLVO)--->HDMI--->Onkyo TX-NR646--->HDMI--->Panasonic P65VT30
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,034
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 18
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #5
If you have a debug log (wiki) you could also post a link for that. You'll probably need to use advancedsettings.xml option described in the "Advanced" section in the wiki link. Please just post a link here.

ASUS Chromebox M004U (LibreELEC 7.0.2/Aeon Nox SiLVO)--->HDMI--->Onkyo TX-NR646--->HDMI--->Panasonic P65VT30
find quote
smellin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
(2017-02-06 22:54)kingpin58 Wrote:  I just installed Kodi 17 on my mac which is running sierra 10.12.2 It would not allow because it was from a undeveloped website,so I managed to change my gatekeeper to allow it,but when I try to open Kodi.I keep getting error message that kodi quit unexpectedly. I have reinstalled, restarted,and all the obvious things in order to resolve the issue,I even contacted mac,but was unable to find a fix.I had kodi 16.1 jarvis working flawlessly before this,but I removed it,and now I have nothing.Can anyone help me?

1) is your Mac account password non-empty?

2) if you're not afraid of losing all your kodi settings you could try deleting the "Kodi" folder in "your_username/Library/Application Support" (or maybe back it up first)
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-07 08:30 by smellin.)
find quote
jtbrown172 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
I am having the same issue. My MacBook Air with macOS Sierra 10.12.3 just gives me an error stating Kodi quit unexpectedly. This is my first time posting to this site so I apologize for my ignorance with it all. I haven't used pastebin either so I'm hoping I did this right.
http://pastebin.com/eDZVNNY2
Any help you guys could give would be wonderful!

Thanks!

Justin
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-13 10:54 by jtbrown172.)
find quote
greenwellington Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2017-02-06 22:54)kingpin58 Wrote:  I just installed Kodi 17 on my mac which is running sierra 10.12.2 It would not allow because it was from a undeveloped website,so I managed to change my gatekeeper to allow it,but when I try to open Kodi.I keep getting error message that kodi quit unexpectedly. I have reinstalled, restarted,and all the obvious things in order to resolve the issue,I even contacted mac,but was unable to find a fix.I had kodi 16.1 jarvis working flawlessly before this,but I removed it,and now I have nothing.Can anyone help me?
I am having the same problem running on OS 10.12.3, BUT only on my MacMini connected to my main TV.
The same problem did not occur on the 27" iMac although they both had Jarvis installed previously.
As a temporary measure I reinstalled Jarvis on the iMac and it works OK.
Why should it work on one machine and not the other when they both have the same OS and both had Jarvis?
find quote
greenwellington Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Re Smellin contribution:
1) is your Mac account password non-empty?

2) if you're not afraid of losing all your kodi settings you could try deleting the "Kodi" folder in "your_username/Library/Application Support" (or maybe back it up first)
[/quote]

Sorry but I don't understand 1). Could you explain, please?
Regarding 2) Would it not be better to leave the Kodi folder in "your_username/Library/Application Support" so that your settings are saved and then Uninstall/ Jarvis and Reinstall Krypton?
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-14 10:38 by greenwellington.)
find quote
slsurjit Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Facing same problem, replace kodi 16 to 17 but can't open it at all on my imac with Macos Sierra? Here's the pastebin file....http://pastebin.com/1ec8Yy1r

Thanks
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Kodi MVP
Posts: 16,189
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 230
Location: germany
Post: #11
Please post the debug log (wiki) in addition @slsurjit

AppleTV4/iPhone/iPod/iPad: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for Kodi: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
find quote
greenwellington Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Hello Memphiz,
Thanks for replying, but I am a novice at this and don't know how to obtain the debug data when Kodi Krypton will not open, i.e. I am just in a loop telling me that it 'Kodi unexpectedly quit etc. etc.'.
I could delete Krypton and reinstall Jarvis and could possibly search for debug files for that, but don't really see how that would address the Krypton problem.
Would appreciate any help you can give
find quote
camC Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
I after reviewing the logs provided, I am pretty sure they have the information needed to figure the cause of this crash. I am not too knowledgable on the subject but I think I'm right about this.

Linked below is the debug log
http://pastebin.com/81nyYe9D

Linked below is the CrashReporter log
http://pastebin.com/nzt2feFv
find quote
jtbrown172 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
(2017-02-16 20:37)camC Wrote:  I after reviewing the logs provided, I am pretty sure they have the information needed to figure the cause of this crash. I am not too knowledgable on the subject but I think I'm right about this.

Linked below is the debug log
http://pastebin.com/81nyYe9D

Linked below is the CrashReporter log
http://pastebin.com/nzt2feFv

Who is 'they'? Not to be rude, but your post is quite unclear.
find quote
oxerife Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
(2017-02-13 12:53)greenwellington Wrote:  Re Smellin contribution:
1) is your Mac account password non-empty?

2) if you're not afraid of losing all your kodi settings you could try deleting the "Kodi" folder in "your_username/Library/Application Support" (or maybe back it up first)

2) Worked for me
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-18 19:23 by oxerife.)
find quote
Post Reply