General Source Question
Hello all! I'm relatively new to Kodi and have made much progress but find I need to start from scratch for various reasons, So -

I have a NAS that will serve files to Kodi. It is a Qnap TS-x53A.

My Kodi will run on Ubuntu which runs on top of QTS 4.2.3 on the NAS OS. My "guess" is it is running as a virtual machine, but I'm new to that too!
The file structure of the NAS is Multimedia/Music
Multimedia/Videos
Multimedia/Photos
Multimedia/Whatever I want

Anyway, the question is - Is it better to add source from Kodi file manager as NAS/Multimedia (seems like I get best results with SMB), or to point Kodi at each individual folder either from file manager or the specific add source dialog from tech skin selection? e.g. - Videos - Add Source - NAS/Multimedia/Videos? or - Videos - Add Source - NAS/Multimedia/Videos/Movies, Videos - Add Source - NAS/Multimedia/Videos/Home Movies, Videos - Add Source - NAS/Multimedia/Videos/Comedians, and so on...

Or am I making a mountain out of a simple "Add Source - NAS/Multimedia?

I get the impression I might have some form of control or display arranging by selecting each source independently and unique to the Kodi dialog I am accessing at that time.

And if I may... My iTunes folder is configured so iTunes arranges my music. In that directory its iTunes/Music/Alrtist/Album except for compilation albums. Should I have all albums at the root level? In other words, take all the compilation albums out of "complications" on the NAS and have then under Multimedia/Music? Or will THIS make any difference?

Since I am starting from scratch, I hope to not have to go back and change things to much!

Thanks for any thoughts!!
You should add each source in the proper menu and set the correct content type to ensure you have no scraping issues.

Examples:
If you add "Multimedia/Videos" in File Manager, you will be able to copy and delete files from it, but not scrape metadata.