v17 Storing SQL Database on Synology NAS-DSM 6.1
Hi All,

Hardware/Firmware in system:
Synology NAS DS1812+ running DSM 6.1 with Music & Video files on it and MariaDB v5.5.53.0073 with PHPMyAdmin
Several Android 6.0.1 Boxes running Kodi v17.0 final (stripped of all "add-ons")

1. I have been running the Android boxes for several months, from the NAS using NFS shares, with no issues.

2. Next step was to put the SQL media databases on the NAS, rather than each box, with NO other changes.

3. Followed the excellent procedures on here, and You-Tube on how to do it, BUT noted that they were all for older version of Kodi & DSM firmware...

4. Before I loaded the Advancedsetting.XML file on a Kodi Client, I cleared its database, then copied the XML file.

5. When I first ran "Update Database" from the Kodi Client, the 2 data-bases were created in MariaDB, with apparently all the fields etc, but were empty. Repeated attempts at running the update ended after 2 seconds.. with no change to the database... and NO errors. So I appear to have set everything up correctly, it just can't update the database?

6. In an attempt to fault-find the issue, I entered the NAS address & port 3306 in a web browser, (to see MariaBD's reply) and immediately got a file download .. called "download".. its contents was:

R 5.5.53-MariaDB @ :Z7B(>Ah ÿ÷!   lb*E`1rlFXi( mysql_native_password ! ÿ„#08S01Got packets out of order

Which for a blank log-in looks strange?

Any suggestions as to where I should look next?

Thanks... Andrew
Hey gandalf99,

Your setup is very similar to mine so I'll try and help as much as I can.

The version of kodi in the guide on the wiki doesn't matter and to be honest neither really does the version of dsm as you've already discovered that you need to use mariadb now and not mySQL (actually I've just checked the wiki to refresh my memory and it's ALL changed since I last looked there...)