Feature Request - Sync playback to display while passing-trough audio in Kodi 17

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
larsete Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
(2017-05-25 21:37)rr_7351 Wrote:  Did you perhaps try the 17.3 version? Any updates on that matter?

Hi! not yet, but I will try to check it out next week Smile
find quote
larsete Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
No luck Tongue
find quote
rr_7351 Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Thanks. Wink
I take it you'll report here if we'll get lucky? ;-)
find quote
larsete Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Of course! Wink
find quote
rr_7351 Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Oh, one more thing. Since there are not so many users reporting this issue do you think our hardware is causing this?
Or are just we too demanding? Wink
find quote
larsete Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
It is not a hardware issue, but the way Kodi syncs the audio and video now, as explained in this thread by FernetMenta Smile
find quote
ashlar Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,774
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 46
Post: #22
larsete, at least on Windows you could try to perfect your refresh rates through this guide: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=173571 (you could use an MPC-HC installation with madVR). Once the results are good, they will stay good on Kodi too. The custom timings should be good in Linux too (if coming from a Windows installation on the same machine) but I don't have a direct experience of this.

For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
larsete Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
Thank you ashlar! It is an interesting guide, but as long as Kodi is able to output bit-perfect audio, as I understand it does (At least it seems so in my Linux setup using ALSA and Windows setup using WASAPI), I'm happy.

The old method was good for me, so was just asking this because is easier to check everything is working fine just by looking at the AVR display, and also because ATMOS is still not supported by ffmpeg.

Best!
find quote
rr_7351 Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
(2017-06-08 12:47)larsete Wrote:  It is not a hardware issue, but the way Kodi syncs the audio and video now, as explained in this thread by FernetMenta Smile
Yes, I read that too.
I thought it might be a HW issue since there are only a few of us complaining about that.
I had movement issues several years ago and I had to use old Nvidia drivers. I'm guessing other GPU might work differently.
I'm having hard time understanding everybody else is OK with dropping frames or bypassing the AVR decoding.
(This post was last modified: 2017-06-09 16:36 by rr_7351.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,190
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 140
Location: Munich
Post: #25
(2017-06-09 16:35)rr_7351 Wrote:  
(2017-06-08 12:47)larsete Wrote:  It is not a hardware issue, but the way Kodi syncs the audio and video now, as explained in this thread by FernetMenta Smile
Yes, I read that too.
I thought it might be a HW issue since there are only a few of us complaining about that.
I had movement issues several years ago and I had to use old Nvidia drivers. I'm guessing other GPU might work differently.
I'm having hard time understanding everybody else is OK with dropping frames or bypassing the AVR decoding.

Sync playback to display aka smooth video has been design to change audio speed to match display speed. Some users like you abused this feature for different purposes. The chance to abuse it in this way is gone now and won't come back. Instead of whining you'd better proactively contribute to appropriate video sync methods for your specific use case. Only following this path you can improve things. Whining does not help at all.
find quote
rr_7351 Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
I don't see how someone could abused this option.

Also not sure why you consider this whining. I had issues with both options. First, my movement was excellent and every now and then I got loud crack from my loudspeakers and constant dropouts with Atmos tracks. Now audio is fine and movement is jerky. I described both problems here. Unfortunately that's all I can do. If I would have coding skills I would gladly help.

Developer's explanations can be harsh too. Telling users that AVR doing the decoding is just a light on the display can't be taking seriously if one doesn't understand the concept of decoding.

I'm aware this is a freeware software and all the team members are trying very hard but telling users (who would gladly pay for a commercial version) they are whiners somehow doesn't fit in a proactive contrubution.

If you have any suggestions how can I or everyone else proactively contribute to a better product (other than describing our isses) please do share how we can do that.
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,190
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 140
Location: Munich
Post: #27
(2017-06-18 22:33)rr_7351 Wrote:  If you have any suggestions how can I or everyone else proactively contribute to a better product (other than describing our isses) please do share how we can do that.

If you want audio passing through, you don't want to have audio speed changed. Hence you don't want "sync playback to display". You just abused this feature to solve some issue not directly related. Go 2 steps back, describe the issue: what do you observe, how would you expect it to be, what is the root cause. Think of a solution not in terms of code but technically.
find quote
Post Reply