Release - Kodi v17.1 “Krypton” - Released

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 13,173
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 392
Post: #1
[Image: kodi-splash-17.1-600x336.jpg]


This is the bugfix release for v17.1 “Krypton” which contains our continuous effort to further improve the v17 release. Our team tried to tackle as much of the reported problems as possible with the limited resources we have. We do want to note that since we are just a small team some of the reported bugs might not get fixed due to lack of developers or time. As such we would certainly welcome any developer who has the ability to help us out to try and fix the bugs he or she encounters and submit it to our code base for review. We sure would like to thank every one involved with either development, testing or simply helping out others with answering their questions.


Read more...

Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support.
Always read the Forum rules, Kodi online-manual, FAQ and Search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find
AxeZ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  RE: Kodi v17.1 “Krypton” - Released
Post: #2
Good work with the new updates, Kodi 17 have moved to the future. I have never dreamed it would be good as it is! Big star to everybody Involved in the project. Big GrinBig Grin
find
marhutchy Offline
Fan
Posts: 406
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 10
Location: %home%
Post: #3
The BEST!!!!

I really hope piracy doesn't destroy this!

Laptop: Dell Inspiron i7559-2512BLK | Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) | 1 TB + 8 GB SSHD
Kodi 17.3, skin Aeon Nox 5: SiLVO
--
MiniPC: OpenELEC 8.0.4
--
Sharing Media: SMB (HDD: 2 TB, 1 TB)
Media Manager/Organizer - Media Companion
find
glakhbir Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
After update to Kodi Krypton 17.1 on my android tv 5.1 cannot exit kodi but before 17.0 was OK.Any help.
find
Majide Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #5
Why "Don’t try to read tags from internet audio streams" ? This is a must, for to know what song are you listening !
find
Atreyu Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,055
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 23
Post: #6
Happy 17.1st birthday !
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-23 09:08 by Atreyu.)
find
nekrosoft13 Offline
Fan
Posts: 544
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #7
just a heads up, some AV programs are false tagging kodi installers as "Trojan.Gen.8!cloud"
find
koomak Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
why norton recognize this version as Malware ??!! while previous versions all was OK
find
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 16,984
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 310
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #9
Uninstall Norton

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
find
marhutchy Offline
Fan
Posts: 406
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 10
Location: %home%
Big Grin  RE: Kodi v17.1 “Krypton” - Released
Post: #10
(2017-03-25 08:50)Martijn Wrote:  Uninstall Norton

RoflRoflRofl
Really?!

Laptop: Dell Inspiron i7559-2512BLK | Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) | 1 TB + 8 GB SSHD
Kodi 17.3, skin Aeon Nox 5: SiLVO
--
MiniPC: OpenELEC 8.0.4
--
Sharing Media: SMB (HDD: 2 TB, 1 TB)
Media Manager/Organizer - Media Companion
find
koomak Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2017-03-25 08:50)Martijn Wrote:  Uninstall Norton

I expected any answer except this professional one??!!!
Thanks

Kodi v17 “Krypton” Latest Released
Windows 8.1
find
burchetta Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Kodi 17 will not open, each time I go to open it says "Kodi has quit unexpectedly". Any suggestions?
find
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,374
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 97
Location: Down Under
Post: #13
(2017-03-26 04:32)koomak Wrote:  
(2017-03-25 08:50)Martijn Wrote:  Uninstall Norton

I expected any answer except this professional one??!!!
Thanks

It's good advice.

"Back in June last year, Google's Project Zero found 25 high-severity bugs in Symantec/Norton security products. "These vulnerabilities are as bad as it gets," said Tavis Ormandy, a Project Zero researcher. "They don’t require any user interaction, they affect the default configuration, and the software runs at the highest privilege levels possible. In certain cases on Windows, vulnerable code is even loaded into the kernel, resulting in remote kernel memory corruption." Over the past five years, Ormandy has found similar vulnerabilities in security software from Kaspersky, McAfee, Eset, Comodo, Trend Micro, and others."

https://arstechnica.com/information-tech...us-is-bad/

The best antivirus is common sense.

Oh, and there's this too:
https://arstechnica.com/security/2017/01...tificates/

Do you really trust a company that assists hackers?
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-26 07:12 by teeedubb.)
find
Malkthalk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
I have been 4 hours at this, trying the Path change, everything?

I even made sure I had all Windows updates (Windows 7 Home Edition) installed. Rebooted, same problem.

Did the Microsoft suggested 'fix' and uninstalled the requested update, rebooted again and nothing. Reinstalled the update after being asked again by the Kodi installer, rebooted and still the same thingConfused??

What is the point in having this as an official release?

I appreciate all the work, time and energy that goes into it, and was I a tester before when I had more time, but surely you don't release until you're sure? Looks like I'm stuck with 17.0 meantime.

Malky
find
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,553
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 380
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #15
(2017-03-26 04:32)koomak Wrote:  
(2017-03-25 08:50)Martijn Wrote:  Uninstall Norton

I expected any answer except this professional one??!!!
Thanks
Would you prefer ” tell Norton to fix their crap”

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find
Thread Closed