Windows - Kodi 17 + Metropolis some main menu items missing?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
markm75 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I have this combo and in the home furniture section i have main menu items (vertical, left side) that are in the customization area, but dont show in the main screen for some reason..

OS is windows 10 1607 x64

Examples.. Weather, Play DVD etc

Any ideas why they arent showing up.. i also tried sticking them in sub menus and they dont appear there either?

Thanks in advance
find quote
pagali Offline
Donor
Posts: 198
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 6
Post: #2
Do you have a weather addon installed from the Kodi Repository and configured? You have to do that, then go to the settings menu and find Weather under Services, and tell Kodi you want to use the weather addon you just configured. Then It should show up in your menu. This is true of Kodi in general, regardless of what skin you use.

As for Play DVD... perhaps it only shows up if you have a DVD in the optical drive?
find quote
markm75 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
(2017-03-22 17:46)pagali Wrote:  Do you have a weather addon installed from the Kodi Repository and configured? You have to do that, then go to the settings menu and find Weather under Services, and tell Kodi you want to use the weather addon you just configured. Then It should show up in your menu. This is true of Kodi in general, regardless of what skin you use.

As for Play DVD... perhaps it only shows up if you have a DVD in the optical drive?

Thanks, ill give that a shot, thats probably why, in both cases. (in the past i couldnt get the dvd or bluray to play, even if it was in the drive and the menu item was there though, that might be another issue or a need for powerdvd to launch or similar)
find quote
pagali Offline
Donor
Posts: 198
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 6
Post: #4
I just tested the DVD playing with my favorite skin (Aeon Nox Silvo). That one doesn't show Play DVD in the menu, but when I inserted a DVD, Play and Eject buttons appeared on the menu bar by the current time. Playing the DVD worked fine, btw.... this is with Kodi 17.1. No need for PowerDVD, etc. (I didn't try a bluray disk)
find quote
MacGyver Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 797
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 8
Location: Washington
Post: #5
Blurays won't work unless you do a bunch of convoluted things. (Kodi can mostly play blurays, but can't read encrypted bluray discs without help from a 3rd party program, and 99.99% of commercial blurays are encrypted)

Using two 2820FYKH0 Intel NUCs, a Revo 1600, and a Foxconn NT-330i - All running OpenELEC. :)
find quote
bilgepump Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #6
(2017-03-22 17:46)pagali Wrote:  As for Play DVD... perhaps it only shows up if you have a DVD in the optical drive?
Yes, this is the case. I have Metropolis, and the menu item appears after you insert a dvd.
find quote