GSoC'17 Proposal :- Adding Python 3 support
Agreed, this pain will have to be taken sooner or later. Having options for both will be good.
(2017-03-17, 19:46)da-anda Wrote: v2 and v3 IMO should run in parallel for at least 1 Kodi version to ease transition
GSoC'17 Project proposal:
Adding Python 3 support

Name: Rohit Kumar
forum/e-mail: rohit-rk / [email protected]

Introduction:
When did you first start programming?
I started programming four years ago learning MySQL and Java (graphics) for first two years, then after joining college i started coding in C(Worked on Data structures and algorithms implementation). I am in my 2nd year of B.Tech at Dr. B. R. Ambedkar National Institute of Technology Jalandhar majoring in computer science. In 2016, I picked C++ (as academic course) and started Python on my own. Also done a course in Mongodb with python(bottle, pymongo).

Are you a user of Kodi? When did you first start using it? :
Yes, but still newbie started from this january only.I use kodi for Soundcloud, youtube, Udacity, etc.

Have you contributed to other Open Source projects? If so, which projects and can we see some of your code?
As i am new to open source, there is not much to show but i made a pull request and fixed a bug in jx-sqlite.

If you have not contributed to open source projects, do you have other code we can look at? :

My github handle is rohit-rk, and i am creating my website in my free time at akarohit.me .Also thinking to blog my work as I do to keep myself motivated.Many of my projects are on github https://github.com/rohit-rk .

Tell us about the computer and devices you have available for working on your SoC project? :
I have Ideapad Y700(6th gen i7 processor with windows 10 and ubuntu installed), Dell Vostro 1540(i3 processor with windows) and an android phone during SoC.

How much time do you have available, and how would you plan to use it?