New website design

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,588
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 381
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #76
@kimkl if you keep posting nonsensical rubbish it will go to the bin.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
kimkl Offline
Grandpa Simpson
Posts: 347
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 3
Location: Holbaek, Denmark
Post: #77
(2017-04-07 09:33)nickr Wrote:  @kimkl if you keep posting nonsensical rubbish it will go to the bin.
I am not sure what you mean about rubbish, i was trying to explain that on most of the new webside say downloads, about, software, and so on you have links in the text "lets say get involved" but just below the big blue button also says get involved so i was just saying that it seemed a bit much to use the same links both in text and then blue button, and then i said that on most webpages you have the same info like downloads you have get involved you have donation and so on this is the same for the others pages but since you have dedicated donate and get involved pages is it necessary to mention these things on every other page.

But i see my attempt to be helpful is totally wasted, because no matter what i do or say, forget it your house your rules,
But it just feels annoying, like when i was the one that found out a month after 17 beta was released and there was a problem with the installing that you could just make the temp folder by yourself, did i get credit or a pat on the back nope "was not looking for it" but then in the later release it was written that you could just make the temp folder yourself.

My prob with that is it was written as if it was discovered by the "TK", okay i can live with that.
But when i now try and help out again, English is not my native language it says so in my tagline so it was hard to explain that you had the same info on all pages, even though you also had dedicated once, and instead of asking my meaning i get rubbish.

Yes i can see its hard to reads my meaning, but i was trying to help.
But seems the page you have on the new UI is just "smoke" the one saying how to get involved by helping out in forum.

If you go back some pages you will see i was right about some stuff and how to fix it like changing http://kodi.tv to https://kodi.tv and voila link works.
Do i sound mad yea a bit, i am trying to help out keep the off topic to a "REAL minimum" but seems i can't get a break.

Okay less mad now, and i do not care about getting credit every time my "fixes" turn out to be right, but i needed something to show you that yes i clown around a lot but i also try to help out.

This is not just pointing fingers at you nickr your a descent fellow but you were just in line of fire.
ill keep the rubbish to a minimum
Thank you

Grandpa Simpson: Unfortunately, like all true stories, this one has a crappy ending.
Your story's have an ending?
English is not my native language; please excuse typing errors.
Banned Add-Ons
(This post was last modified: 2017-04-07 20:12 by kimkl.)
find quote
kimkl Offline
Grandpa Simpson
Posts: 347
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 3
Location: Holbaek, Denmark
Post: #78
Okay i did it again sorry nickr i see now why my post is rubbish i had it in notepad++ to correct spelling errors and make sure my text was readable but well i not sure what went wrong but several lines were not copied over.

So sorry nickr, you were right rubbish post, i thought i was being clever making my post in notepad++ but was not clever enough to check my post after i hit send.
Sad

Grandpa Simpson: Unfortunately, like all true stories, this one has a crappy ending.
Your story's have an ending?
English is not my native language; please excuse typing errors.
Banned Add-Ons
find quote
h.udo Offline
Is a huge ABBA fan
Posts: 1,170
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 18
Location: 25:17
Post: #79
(2017-04-07 20:28)kimkl Wrote:  Okay i did it again sorry nickr i see now why my post is rubbish i had it in notepad++ to correct spelling errors and make sure my text was readable but well i not sure what went wrong but several lines were not copied over.

So sorry nickr, you were right rubbish post, i thought i was being clever making my post in notepad++ but was not clever enough to check my post after i hit send.
Sad

Unless Notepad++ as been ported to *nix, there's nothing clever about it... Joking, its actually a very nice software. Only problem is that it needs Windows...

Do not stop reporting problems you found. Just stop posting walls of text that nobody reads. Please?

f**k..... started editing without sudo | M.K.

Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
find quote
kimkl Offline
Grandpa Simpson
Posts: 347
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 3
Location: Holbaek, Denmark
Post: #80
@h.udo point taken and fully understood Big Grin
I will do my very best not to go into a monologue, where the only audience is me, i do that i know ill try to be clear in my post, and make sure everything gets copied over, when i check for spelling buffs, and prob a good idea to check what i posted when i press reply.

But nickr was correct, and in fact very kind the post could have gone straight to the bin, but he choose to notify me about my rubbish post, Big Grin
Thank you both Big Grin
The end Big Grin

Grandpa Simpson: Unfortunately, like all true stories, this one has a crappy ending.
Your story's have an ending?
English is not my native language; please excuse typing errors.
Banned Add-Ons
(This post was last modified: 2017-04-08 02:56 by kimkl.)
find quote
kimkl Offline
Grandpa Simpson
Posts: 347
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 3
Location: Holbaek, Denmark
Post: #81
I noticed that the "contact" email has been removed from all pages, so has the "interest" email, except from 1 page.
Would it be possible to make it a bit more "clear" how to contact you using email, and what email address to use, or does the removing of the "contact" email mean you rather have people use the forum for contacting you?

I hope my post is clear and make sense, or else please ask me to clarify.
Thank you

Grandpa Simpson: Unfortunately, like all true stories, this one has a crappy ending.
Your story's have an ending?
English is not my native language; please excuse typing errors.
Banned Add-Ons
find quote
natethomas Offline
XBMC Chief and Kodi Project Manager
Posts: 6,241
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 130
Location: Kansas
Post: #82
We infinitely prefer that people contact us using the forum.
find quote
kimkl Offline
Grandpa Simpson
Posts: 347
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 3
Location: Holbaek, Denmark
Post: #83
(2017-04-10 09:22)natethomas Wrote:  We infinitely prefer that people contact us using the forum.

Understood Chief, i was also surprised about the email contact addresses
i found during my hunt for "DOA" links, on different pages of your new great UI, they have been removed now, and only found 1 email address, on one of the sub-pages, it will prob be removed, if it has not been so all ready.
So was just making sure its business as usual. "Meaning use the Forum"

"Rem text looked like rubbish"
Big Grin

Grandpa Simpson: Unfortunately, like all true stories, this one has a crappy ending.
Your story's have an ending?
English is not my native language; please excuse typing errors.
Banned Add-Ons
(This post was last modified: 2017-04-10 12:53 by kimkl.)
find quote
jonesmz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #84
(2017-04-05 13:06)jjd-uk Wrote:  
(2017-04-04 21:07)jonesmz Wrote:  5. Where's the menu? There's no menu? Why not...?
6. Click and drag scroll bar to the top of page
7. Ok, there's one of those stupid hamburger icons at the top left of the page. Maybe that's a menu icon. Why does it take up so much space on the screen? Meh I'll click it.
8. Woah, the menu takes up half the screen

You say "This is written from a Desktop's perspective, with keyboard and mouse" so I don't get the above comments at all, as it's a responsive design that changes layout dependant on the device you are viewing on, you should only get the hamburger menu on a mobile device wheres on a desktop you should get:

[Image: sJctBJ2.png]

As you see on a desktop the menu options are all plainly visible along the top.

What device and browser are you using?




OS: Gentoo x86_64
Browser: Chromium Version 57.0.2987.133 (64-bit)
Style of Device: Desktop
27 inch monitor
Regular old keyboard and mouse


The previous website had text that was too small for me to read comfortable, so I had zoomed in
Chromium remembered my zoom level, so when I visited the new website, I got the hamburger menu version of the page, as I clarified later in my post.

Even so, while the website certainly does "look" nicer on my android phone (Firefox browser), my personal perspective is that it's still very difficult to navigate to meaningful information even with that form factor. I don't think that this website redesign is an improvement. *shrug*. That being said, it's not like my opinion matters much, as you'll clearly see I've got less than 10 posts on the forum.kodi.tv *shrug*.


Edit: I did realize very quickly that I was zoomed in. The majority of my post was for a "default" desktop experience. My bullet pointed story was intended to be a re-telling of what *I* personally experienced when I first visited the page. Anyone else who'd already been zoomed in on the original website would have seen roughly what I saw, and may or may not have zoomed out right away, I wouldn't be able to speak for them obviously.
(This post was last modified: 2017-04-19 19:35 by jonesmz.)
find quote
BFeely Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 1
Post: #85
(2017-04-01 22:57)DoubleT Wrote:  It's likely they've moved hosting provider and at least had to shift dns if not the repo content or provision it behind a new cdn. They wouldn't have taken everything down lightly.

They use Cloudflare for everything (they could even use it to fake making this forum and the wiki secure).
Cloudflare's DNS has a TTL of 5 minutes so DNS propagation should be a total non-issue.
Even traditional DNS providers typically use a TTL of as little as 15 minutes.
find quote
Post Reply