BUG - KODI 17 doesnt recognize MX player as external player

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
whise Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
New kodi 17 doesnt recognize mxplayer as external player.

Older builds <17 all work with MXplayer with the playercorefactory as HOW-TO:Use_external_players_on_Android (wiki)

MXplayer hasn't changed but kodi doesnt seem to recognize it so something in kodi must have changed.
find quote
ironic_monkey Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,423
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 66
Post: #2
No bug just a change. You need to add the video attribute to the xml.
find quote
whise Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
(2017-04-11 14:43)ironic_monkey Wrote:  No bug just a change. You need to add the video attribute to the xml.

Thank you for your reply, change to the playercorefactory? is it documented?
find quote
ironic_monkey Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,423
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 66
Post: #4
yes. it was always documented on the wiki, only the requirement is new, see example external_players (wiki)
find quote
whise Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Im sorry i dont understand what changed. I use the XML from the wiki and in Kodi 17 it doesnt work with mxplayer
find quote
ironic_monkey Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,423
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 66
Post: #6
In oher cases bad xml without the video attribute on the player definition has been the problem.
find quote
whise Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
(2017-04-12 11:21)ironic_monkey Wrote:  In oher cases bad xml without the video attribute on the player definition has been the problem.

I am following the exact xml found in HOW-TO:Use_external_players_on_Android (wiki)

Could you please post a working example xml for mxplayer?

thanks again
find quote
jjd-uk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 6,199
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 152
Post: #8
Copy the contents your playercorefactory to pastebin.

I'm also moving this thread as it's not a development question.
find quote
whise Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2017-04-12 16:52)jjd-uk Wrote:  Copy the contents your playercorefactory to pastebin.

I'm also moving this thread as it's not a development question.

I use the playercorefactory from the wiki and its not working for mxplayer.
find quote