Frequent Crashes At 4K With Subtitles

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
cosmo321 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
Yeah, I don't really know what I'm supposed to do with this at this point. I just wish anyone would look into what the issue is. The posts in the thread describe it fairly well, and I've provided the required logs.
If it is a solvable bug in Kodi I would think it would benefit everyone to have it solved as soon as possible.



The bugtracker seems to not work properly for me either, as I just get the following error and have whenever I try to browse it.

Trac detected an internal error:
DataError: (1265, "Data truncated for column 'authenticated' at row 1")
There was an internal error in Trac. It is recommended that you notify your local Trac administrator with the information needed to reproduce the issue.

I don't know what's up with that.
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-08 19:04 by cosmo321.)
find quote
PatK Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 207
Location: Canada
Post: #17
(2017-07-08 19:01)cosmo321 Wrote:  The bugtracker seems to not work properly for me either, as I just get the following error and have whenever I try to browse it.

Trac detected an internal error:
DataError: (1265, "Data truncated for column 'authenticated' at row 1")
There was an internal error in Trac. It is recommended that you notify your local Trac administrator with the information needed to reproduce the issue.

I don't know what's up with that.
You have to actually login to Trac, user name password.

windows fresh start -> delete C:\Users\User Name\AppData\Roaming\Kodi First time user (wiki) Log file (wiki) Video management (wiki) Artwork (wiki) Supported hardware (wiki) Releases (wiki) Database versions (wiki) Skin features compatibility list (wiki) http://xbmc-skins.com
find quote
cosmo321 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
That could have been more intuitive. Big Grin

I have made a ticket. I really hope someone will look into it seriously now. https://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/17533#ticket
find quote
Paxxi Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 248
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 9
Location: Sweden
Post: #19
You have been very patient and I thank you for that.

I made some changes to libass in the v17 versions and there's been a few issues after that which I think are all fixed except this one.

cosmo321 provided logs and dumps and a sample file so I started looking at this today. I'll try to keep you updated on the progress.

The janitor, cleaner of cruft, defender of style. Also known as the unfunny guy that doesn't understand signatures.
find quote
Kib Online
Team Kodi 🐤 Member
Posts: 5,023
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 87
Location: The Hague
Post: #20
I've tested it on Paxxi's request on my 4k laptop (with intel and nvidia video cards) and am not able to get a crash with todays nightly.
For reference: this is how i tested.

* Installed the latest nightly in a separate directory.
* Made a shortcut to the kodi.exe and modified it to start in portable mode. (added -p to the command)
* Started Kodi, did not change a single setting, added a source to the file browser and played the sample from the file browser.

The sample played on my 4k screen until the end.

[This doesn't mean anything yet, but could support that this is an AMD specific issue - I'll leave that to the dev. ]
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-09 21:55 by Kib.)
find quote
DJ_Izumi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,255
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 19
Post: #21
I'm going to download cosmo's sample and test it on my end, since while we've both reported the same issue, we never tried it on the same files.
find quote
DJ_Izumi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,255
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 19
Post: #22
*watches Kodi crash at 0:46 on Cosmos sample* ...Will post redo this on a fresh start and supply a log and such... But yeah I can def recreate it.

So maybe it is AMD specific. This was a R9 390X machine I just managed it on.
find quote
DJ_Izumi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,255
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 19
Post: #23
https://pastebin.com/Sqfg32QD

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4426H...mh5N1VJdjA
find quote
cosmo321 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
I guess this seems to point towards something going on with AMD cards then. For what it's worth, the crash does not happen when I use a DSplayer-based build, using xy-subfilter for subtitles.

I could provide other sample files, and crashlogs if it's needed. A show I'm currently watching is having crashing points up to 2 or 3 times each episode.
find quote
Kib Online
Team Kodi 🐤 Member
Posts: 5,023
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 87
Location: The Hague
Post: #25
Please test with a nightly build as well, as I did.
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-10 12:54 by Kib.)
find quote
cosmo321 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
I tried with the most recent nightly. Same problem. Added the logs to the dropbox folder. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/2s9htob8jidfu...ofMEa?dl=0
find quote
DJ_Izumi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,255
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 19
Post: #27
(2017-07-10 12:53)Kib Wrote:  Please test with a nightly build as well, as I did.

Same result as Cosmo.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4426H...WdCSk5JVjA
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 16,985
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 310
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #28
no crash for me on nvidia and kodi v18

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
find quote
DJ_Izumi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,255
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 19
Post: #29
(2017-07-10 17:51)Martijn Wrote:  no crash for me on nvidia and kodi v18

I'm wondering then if it's AMD specific, but we've recreated it on a range of hardware, going all the way back to the Radeon HD 6950 to a modern Polaris powered GPU.
find quote
Kib Online
Team Kodi 🐤 Member
Posts: 5,023
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 87
Location: The Hague
Post: #30
(2017-07-10 17:34)DJ_Izumi Wrote:  
(2017-07-10 12:53)Kib Wrote:  Please test with a nightly build as well, as I did.

Same result as Cosmo.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4426H...WdCSk5JVjA
I was expecting that, but it is always best to test with a nightly because that is where development happens thx for testing
find quote