Freeze image after channel switch

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
agosoft Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

if i zap TV channels with my remote the video stream often freezes and audio continues normally.

It seems that sometimes synchronizing audio and video fails!
Code:
17:30:47.888 T:139721694316288   DEBUG: CVideoPlayer::HandleMessages - player started 2
17:30:47.890 T:139721694316288   DEBUG: CVideoPlayer::HandleMessages - player started 1
17:30:47.890 T:139721694316288   DEBUG: CVideoPlayer::SetCaching - caching state 3
17:30:47.890 T:139721694316288   DEBUG: CDVDClock::SetSpeedAdjust - adjusted:0.000000
17:30:47.891 T:139721694316288   DEBUG: VideoPlayer::Sync - Audio - pts: 17222845222.000000, cache: 326530.545400, totalcache: 600000.023842
17:30:47.891 T:139721694316288   DEBUG: VideoPlayer::Sync - Video - pts: 17223119556.000000, cache: 50000.000000, totalcache: 100000.000000
17:30:47.891 T:139721694316288   DEBUG: CVideoPlayer::SetCaching - caching state 0
17:30:47.891 T:139721694316288   DEBUG: CDVDClock::SetSpeedAdjust - adjusted:0.000000
17:30:47.891 T:139721921521408   DEBUG: CVideoPlayerVideo - CDVDMsg::GENERAL_RESYNC(17221845221.976158)
17:30:47.891 T:139721667856128   DEBUG: CVideoPlayerAudio - CDVDMsg::GENERAL_RESYNC(17221845221.976158)
17:30:47.891 T:139721694316288   DEBUG: CDVDClock::SetSpeedAdjust - adjusted:-0.050000
17:30:47.891 T:139721921521408    INFO: CVideoPlayerVideo - Stillframe left, switching to normal playback
17:30:47.892 T:139721667856128   DEBUG: CDVDAudio::Resume - resume audio stream
17:30:47.894 T:139723165103872   DEBUG: ActiveAE - start sync of audio stream
17:30:48.005 T:139723165103872   DEBUG: ActiveAE::SyncStream - average error of 682.611480, start adjusting
17:30:48.414 T:139721921521408 WARNING: CRenderManager::WaitForBuffer - timeout waiting for buffer
17:30:48.414 T:139721370064640   ERROR: VAAPI::CheckSuccess - Error: an invalid/unsupported value was supplied(25)
17:30:48.655 T:139723165103872   ERROR: Previous line repeats 1 times.
17:30:48.655 T:139723165103872   DEBUG: ActiveAE::SyncStream - average error 7.823384 below threshold of 30.000000
17:30:48.914 T:139721921521408 WARNING: CRenderManager::WaitForBuffer - timeout waiting for buffer
17:30:48.918 T:139721370064640   ERROR: VAAPI::CheckSuccess - Error: an invalid/unsupported value was supplied(25)
17:30:48.921 T:139721921521408   ERROR: Previous line repeats 3 times.
17:30:48.921 T:139721921521408  NOTICE: CDVDVideoCodecFFmpeg::CDropControl: calculated diff time: 36363
17:30:48.921 T:139721370064640   ERROR: VAAPI::CheckSuccess - Error: an invalid/unsupported value was supplied(25)
17:30:48.921 T:139721921521408 WARNING: VAAPI::FFGetBuffer - no surface available - dec: 1, render: 0
17:30:48.921 T:139721921521408   ERROR: ffmpeg[7F138B7FE700]: [mpeg2video] get_buffer() failed
17:30:48.921 T:139721921521408   ERROR: ffmpeg[7F138B7FE700]: [mpeg2video] thread_get_buffer() failed
17:30:48.921 T:139721370064640   ERROR: VAAPI::CheckSuccess - Error: an invalid/unsupported value was supplied(25)
17:30:48.922 T:139721921521408   ERROR: ffmpeg[7F138B7FE700]: [mpeg2video] get_buffer() failed (-1 (nil))

I've tried different VAAPI hardware acceleration options. But the problem is still there!
Do you have any suggestions?

I am running KODI 17.1 with VDR VNSI Client "version 2.6.19.1" on a Intel NUC5CPYH (Celeron N3050).

Thanks
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,246
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 146
Location: Munich
Post: #2
the issue is most likely related to those vaapi errors your log snippet shows
find quote
agosoft Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Yes, i agree with that, but the VAAPI Error (25) doesn't help because it is a general error code!
See code documentation from freedesktop.org:
Quote:#define VA_STATUS_ERROR_INVALID_VALUE 0x00000019
An invalid/unsupported value was supplied.
This is a catch-all error code for invalid or unsupported values. e.g. value exceeding the valid range, invalid type in the context of generic attribute values.
By further tests i noticed that this error only occur by switching to SD channels (MPEG2).
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,246
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 146
Location: Munich
Post: #4
are you saying that the original issue only shows on sd channels?
find quote
agosoft Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Hello,
switching to an HD channel ffmpeg shows errors too!
Quote:16:51:31.428 T:140141226096384 DEBUG: ActiveAE - start sync of audio stream
16:51:31.536 T:140141226096384 DEBUG: ActiveAE::SyncStream - average error of 683.305934, start adjusting
16:51:31.640 T:140139779671808 INFO: CVideoPlayerVideo - Stillframe detected, switching to forced 50.000000 fps
16:51:32.187 T:140141226096384 DEBUG: ActiveAE::SyncStream - average error 12.460361 below threshold of 30.000000
16:51:32.210 T:140139779671808 WARNING: CRenderManager::WaitForBuffer - timeout waiting for buffer
16:51:32.210 T:140139779671808 INFO: CVideoPlayerVideo - Stillframe left, switching to normal playback
16:51:32.213 T:140139779671808 WARNING: VAAPI::FFGetBuffer - no surface available - dec: 0, render: 4
16:51:32.213 T:140139779671808 ERROR: ffmpeg[7F74D5C94700]: [h264] get_buffer() failed
16:51:32.213 T:140139779671808 ERROR: ffmpeg[7F74D5C94700]: [h264] thread_get_buffer() failed
16:51:32.213 T:140139779671808 ERROR: ffmpeg[7F74D5C94700]: [h264] decode_slice_header error
16:51:32.234 T:140139779671808 WARNING: VAAPI::FFGetBuffer - no surface available - dec: 0, render: 4
16:51:32.234 T:140139779671808 ERROR: ffmpeg[7F74D5C94700]: [h264] get_buffer() failed
16:51:32.234 T:140139779671808 ERROR: ffmpeg[7F74D5C94700]: [h264] thread_get_buffer() failed
16:51:32.234 T:140139779671808 ERROR: ffmpeg[7F74D5C94700]: [h264] decode_slice_header error
But after 1-3 seconds audio and video are synchronized.

The problem with the freezing image only occur, when i switch from a HD channel to a SD channel.
Has somebody a hint, what else i can do to find the reason of this problem?
find quote