Not seeing all my networked drive recordings

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
robertkjr3d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I've got a newly rebuilt machine with Kodi-17, with the new default interface.
I have WMC running with ServerWMC on win7 on another machine. But now every once in a while, this annoyance occurs:
Sometimes when I turn on Kodi, it does not see all the networked recordings. hmm, perhaps I should open WMC itself and see if there is a temporary thing preventing WMC from seeing all the Networked recordings I didn't think of that when writing this post. I did check that the Win-7 machine could see that network drive. But I left the machines on all night, and in the morning Kodi showed all the recordings again. Odd... Has this type of thing been reported before. Or perhaps this is a 'serverwmc' thing?

Does Kodi, or ServerWMC need more time to process the network-locations? Like a timeout-setting. There is a huge collection in that drive.
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,077
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #2
Serverwmc gets the recording list from wmc - it does not scan the folders itself. So your idea that possibly wmc is not seeing them when there is a problem is more likely. Next time it happens start up wmc and see if it sees the entire rec list.

If this problem has been reported before I don't recall it. If you find its a wmc problem you can take up its solution in wmc forums like greenbutton. You don't say what the network locations are, but maybe its a sleep mode problem on them.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/serverwmc
find quote
robertkjr3d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
That Win-7 WMC Media Machine does not sleep. My Win-10 Networked machine does from time to time, where a lot of the recordings are. The issue is not happening now. But when it does again, I can check WMC.
find quote
robertkjr3d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Ok it's happening right now. I've seen this a bit lately. And no it's nothing to do with WMC. WMC can see all the recordings. So it is not WMC. It is something to do with ServerWMC itself.
It's like serverwmc only delivers the files on the recording machine, no network sources. It suddenly decides it won't search any network sources.
But the Win7 machine can see them. I have to close ServerWMC and KODI and reopen both of them, and then sometimes that doesn't work either.

Current KODI - 48recordings showing https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3qrpuw...sp=sharing
Windows 7 machine with WMC and ServerWMC view, showing recordings that are not on KODI (at moment), like Star Trek: TNG:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3qrpuw...sp=sharing

It could be to do with: I have shutdown my network machine, or put it on Hybernate from time to time recently. And maybe ServerWMC does not consider to rebuild it's list? So that is why it only serves 48 recordings, and not 300 or more? Not sure how many recordings.
(This post was last modified: 2017-06-12 15:22 by robertkjr3d.)
find quote
robertkjr3d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Ok in the time of my writing this post. They came back (I did nothing), and now. ServerWMC reports 326 recordings. I'm not sure what triggered the build? Maybe opening WMC. Or I'm not sure. That's weird, also annoying to no what causes it. The computers are literally sitting right next to each other. Wired to a network hub. So this isn't a wireless issue connectivity issue. It's gotta be something else.
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,077
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #6
In the serverwmc settings file, search for the setting UseRecordingCache and set it to false, ex:

<UseRecordingCache>false</UseRecordingCache>

then save the file and restart serverwmc. Let me know if that works.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/serverwmc
find quote
purmilour hunt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
SINTEL WON'T PLAY I LOG IN AND ALL I HAVE FIRE STICKHuh
find quote
robertkjr3d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2017-06-12 17:42)krustyreturns Wrote:  In the serverwmc settings file, search for the setting UseRecordingCache and set it to false, ex:

<UseRecordingCache>false</UseRecordingCache>

then save the file and restart serverwmc. Let me know if that works.
Here's a dumb question... Where is the serverwmc settings file?
I think the 'SINTEL' guy posted in the wrong window.
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,077
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #9
Sorry, go to the 'Debug' tab in serverwmc and open the settings file using the button that's there.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/serverwmc
find quote
robertkjr3d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
(2017-06-12 20:20)krustyreturns Wrote:  Sorry, go to the 'Debug' tab in serverwmc and open the settings file using the button that's there.
Ok I found it and changed it. However the issue still happens.
I can reproduce the problem after the Networked machine that has many of the recordings was 'shutdown'/'hybernated'. Then I turn it back on, the networked machine is the same machine I'm running KODI on. The ServerWMC reports only seeing very little 'recordings'. Like it is not checking for more recordings, very often, if ever, after that machine is brought back live.
(This post was last modified: 2017-06-14 04:28 by robertkjr3d.)
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,077
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #11
Sorry, its probably best if you put that setting back the way it was.

So when its stuck in this mode, if you start wmc do you see all the recordings on both drives in wmc? And if you see all the recordings in wmc, then what happens if you restart kodi?

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/serverwmc
find quote
robertkjr3d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
(2017-06-14 05:56)krustyreturns Wrote:  Sorry, its probably best if you put that setting back the way it was.

So when its stuck in this mode, if you start wmc do you see all the recordings on both drives in wmc? And if you see all the recordings in wmc, then what happens if you restart kodi?
I left it all night in the same boat. It never rechecked, and it still didn't recheck for the networked drives. However:
So I don't have to close anything: Neither ServerWMC nor KODI. The moment I open WMC, this starts the process, I could hear drives searching. And then in a few moments more, ServerWMC reports 326 recordings. And a moment after that: KODI showed all the recordings...

I didn't have to close either of them. Just start up WMC. This isn't a fix, its just weird.
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,077
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #13
It makes sense though, since serverwmc gets the recording list from the wmc service and based on your findings, that service doesn't bother updating the list unless it sees that wmc has started. I will have to think of a way to fix this, but for now wouldn't it work just to keep wmc running on your server machine?

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/serverwmc
find quote