How to get playlist on Movies submenu?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mchp92 Online
Senior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 2
Post: #1
Hi
I have created a playlist that gives me the movies I (or others in my household) are watching but have not completely finished. I have always had this playlist as a home menu item on Ace. I am now moving to Metropolis and want the same playlist in the movies submenu. I have created an entry with Label so it appears on the submenu. I cant figure out which Action or otherwise I should select to make the menu option open that playlist.
How can I achieve this?


Sent from my iPhone (typie typie)
find quote
jingai Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,146
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 36
Post: #2
For the menu item, you choose Video Library->Playlist->YourPlaylistName.
find quote
mchp92 Online
Senior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 2
Post: #3
If i go there, after chooaing Playlist and <ok> the screen jumps back to the Customise screen
The item for the menu entry now lists "ActicateWindow(videos, special://videoplaylists/,return)
I do not get the chance to select my desired playlist
find quote
MacGyver Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 797
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 8
Location: Washington
Post: #4
If you set the playlist in question as a favorite you can add it as a menu too.

Using two 2820FYKH0 Intel NUCs, a Revo 1600, and a Foxconn NT-330i - All running OpenELEC. :)
find quote
jingai Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,146
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 36
Post: #5
Make sure you're not choosing "playlists" -- choose "playlist" (singular).

In Home Furniture, choose Customize submenu on whatever main menu item you want to add this too. Add a new submenu item and click on "Choose item for menu".

In here, select "Video Library >" (assuming it's a video playlist). Then select "Playlist > ()" (again, not "Playlists (item)"). Pick your playlist, and then decide if you want it to display it by default, or just play it.

I promise it works if you do exactly as described above.
find quote
mchp92 Online
Senior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 2
Post: #6
Yes it worked brilliantly!
Thanks a bundle!
find quote