Shaky video
I've been using Kodi on Linux for several years with no problems. But I recently got a new laptop, and now I'm getting juddery video. Not all the time, but for a few seconds every minute or so, and it's very annoying. Ther GPU is generally running at about 80% during playback, but I never looked at it on previous machines, so I don't know if that's a problem. I've played around with the VDPAU and VAAPI settings, but I'm not sure what I'm doing, and I've not seen any improvement.

Can anyone suggest anything else I can try? Thanks.

Kubuntu 17.04
8-core Intel I7-770 CPU @ 3.6GHz
8GB RAM
3840×2160 screen
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 GPU (Gallium 0.4)
OpenGL 3.0 Mesa 17.0.3
You are using some fairly powerful components, so your system running at 80% certainly indicates some issues.

Can you do the following...
1. Provide details of videos you are playing- are they high bitrate 4k? or other?
2. Are your video files local/network share/internet?
3. What are your settings for "Adjust display refresh rate" and "Sync playback to display"
4. Provide a debug log using basic method. (check my signature). Enable debugging, restart Kodi, then play your movie with the stuttering. Let it play a few minutes then upload.
My Signature
Links to : Official:Forum rules (wiki) | Official:Forum rules/Banned add-ons (wiki) | Debug Log (wiki)
Links to : HOW-TO:Create Music Library (wiki) | HOW-TO:Create_Video_Library (wiki)  ||  Artwork (wiki) | Basic controls (wiki) | Import-export library (wiki) | Movie sets (wiki) | Movie universe (wiki) | NFO files (wiki) | Quick start guide (wiki)
1) For the most part 720p / 1080i TV rips. about 1GB for a 40 minute show. I have the same problem with SD videos, though.
2) Local, on an HD.
3) Adjust Display Refresh Rate: Always / Sync Playback to Display: Off.
4) Logfile

It looks like the frame rate drops from 15-20 fps to 4-5fps when it's stuttering.

Thanks for the help.
Can you paste your logfile to a pastebin site...