Kodi 17.3 crashing in Windows 10.

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
PatK Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 207
Location: Canada
Post: #16
(2017-06-29 17:01)Chad47WV Wrote:  i too am having the same problem with crashing on kodi 17.3 on windows 10. I get that stopping message and I have tried everything I seen. Nothing is working. Can I please get some help. tired of not being able to use in on my pc.
This thread is a bit dated; High-jacking a thread ensures that few eyes have a chance to see your issue and give input. Can you re-post in your own thread with a proper debug Log file/Advanced (wiki) note: section 1.2 Turn on debugging using a file (advancedsettings.xml)

windows fresh start -> delete C:\Users\User Name\AppData\Roaming\Kodi First time user (wiki) Log file (wiki) Video management (wiki) Artwork (wiki) Supported hardware (wiki) Releases (wiki) Database versions (wiki) Skin features compatibility list (wiki) http://xbmc-skins.com
find quote
Tony5856 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Hey guys, first let me say you guys rock! I love kodi!
Anyway, running krypton 17.3 on amazon fire tv, and on 4 separate amazon fire sticks, no real problems with kodi.
I decided to install on my windows 10 comp to do some testing,
I installed kodi, installed log viewer and uploader, then installed confluence skin because that's what I'm used to.
Kodi crashed on each attempt to install these 3 things..

Kodi has stopped working.
A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.
Windows will close the program and notify you if a soluitioon is
available.

I then turned on debugging and tried to install bravo from the kodi repo, video addons and the system crashed again.
Here is a log, hope it helps
https://paste.ubuntu.com/24986197

for some reason it gave me two links, here is the other one
https://paste.ubuntu.com/24986199

Edit: forgot to mention I was running 17.0 on this comp a while ago, did a complete uninstall, including deleting app data folder.
I did update windows 10 with the developers update before trying to install 17.3
Thanks
(This post was last modified: 2017-06-30 05:32 by Tony5856.)
find quote
Tony5856 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Are those logs ok? Do you need any more info? Should I have started a new topic, it seemed like I was having the same issue as the OP
find quote
bskisr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
The program installs fine, but when I execute the app. it loads to home page (no visible errors), and just sits there. My only option is to close the program, uninstall/reinstall...only to repeat this cycle endlessly.

Is there a true fix?

Here is my log file: ( I removed my USERNAME and replaced it with "XXX" in text below.

@Karellen- Log removed
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-07 21:59 by Karellen.)
find quote
Karellen Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 2,214
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #20
@bskisr

1. We do not allow logs to be pasted into the forum. You need to paste the log at a pastebin site, and provide only the link here
2. You did not enable debugging mode, so the log was next to useless anyway.

Follow these instructions and try again... http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2572642

Also, describe in more detail what the actual problem is. Please do not say..."the same as OP" or similar.

My Signature
Links to : Forum Rules | Banned Add-Ons | Debug Log | Free Movies/TV Shows |


find quote
Powerhouse Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 755
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 32
Post: #21
@bskisr

1. Installs fine to what, what hardware are you installing it on, details man, details (Video Card, Sound card, CPU, Memory, HDD or SSD, etc).

2. What version of Windows are you installing it on (7, 8, 8.1, 10)?

3. Are your Video and Sound drivers up to date? (and please don't use the default drivers from Microsoft's Windows install, download the drivers from the MFG of your hardware)

4. Do you have dual video cards? (Onboard and PCI-Express), disable the one you don't use, as see if you still get the error.
(This post was last modified: 2017-07-08 07:28 by Powerhouse.)
find quote
sanjalica79 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Hello,
I have a problem. When I try to turn on Kodi after Install, I get the message - Kodi has stoped working.

Here is my log
https://pastebin.com/NJYzpKwq

Thank you for your help in advanced. I think you do a great job.

Sanja
find quote
Karellen Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 2,214
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #23
Hello sanjalica79,

Can you enable Debugging mode. Use these instructions... http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2572642

My Signature
Links to : Forum Rules | Banned Add-Ons | Debug Log | Free Movies/TV Shows |


find quote
sanjalica79 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Hello Karellen
thank you for your assistance. Here is the new one
https://pastebin.com/JRVgR624

Bast regards
find quote
Karellen Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 2,214
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #25
No, it is still not enabled. Can you try again. Ensure you have created the advancedsettings.xml file and you placed the code in it correctly.

But, I notice you are using HD3000 graphics. This is most likely the issue. You need to find updated drivers for the on-board graphics processor.

Alternatively, you can try v16.1 and that should work... http://mirrors.kodi.tv/releases/win32/old/

My Signature
Links to : Forum Rules | Banned Add-Ons | Debug Log | Free Movies/TV Shows |


find quote
Post Reply