Mac OS X - No signal

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
PatriciaW Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Down  No signal
Post: #1
When I use Kodi on my MacMini with a Samsung 530 TV it is normally fine. However, sometimes, after some time, when I attempt to start Kodi using my Harmony remote I get a No Signal message. Eventually I have to restart the MacMini and when I do Kodi works OK again.

Any suggestions about what might be causing this? On one occasion when I wiggled the HDMI cable the signal recovered but that hasn't happened again.
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 18,539
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 380
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #2
Could be a dying HDMI cable, swap it out.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
angelofotherx2 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
What version of OS X are you running?
I ask as I've noticed from version 10.10 onwards, sometimes the remote doesn't wake the system from sleep; only a mouse movement or keypress will do it
find quote
PatriciaW Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I'm using OS x 10.10.5. The system is awake (as I can tell from Screen Sharing) and even if I move a mouse it makes no difference. The only thing that consistently works is restarting.
find quote
Apple_iStu Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Sounds like an issue i used to have, and it turned out to be nothing to do with Kodi.

I had a mid 2011 mac mini 2.5ghz with dedicated graphics chip and the chip had gone. after a while i couldn't get a picture at all. If u have the same mac mini id say it's the issue.. let me know Smile
find quote